
Additional Jurisdictions

District of Columbia: LPC

American Samoa

Guam: LPC

Northern Mariana Islands

Puerto Rico: LPC

U.S. Virgin Islands: LPC

Endorsement to Utah:
Clinical Mental Health Counselor

Utah Statute:  58-60
Qualifications: 
Each applicant for licensure as a clinical 
mental health counselor shall:
• Complete an education program as 

outlined in 58-60-405 (1)(c) or (3).
• Complete a minimum of 4,000 hours 

of clinical mental health counselor 
training as outlined in 58-60-405 (1)(d) 
and (e).

• Pass the NCE and NCMHCE 
examinations

KEY
Equivalent to Utah License

Applicants must provide documentation of passing the NCMHCE

Additional documentation required, see below.

No Equivalent State or Territory License to Utah, see below

Information in this document is subject to change at anytime, and is not a guarantee of 
meeting the requirements for licensure.  Please see the next page for additional instructions. 

Last updated: 2/23/2021
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Additional Requirements

Jurisdiction Additional Items/Information Required

Minnesota, New Mexico, & South Dakota Official transcripts indicating you meet the education requirements for licensure.  

All other jurisdictions in blue Official transcripts indicating you meet the education requirements for licensure and documentation of passing the 
NCMHCE.

Jurisdictions with no equivalent State or Territory-Wide License: 
If no equivalent state or territory-wide license is issued by a jurisdiction, local jurisdiction licenses (such as those issued by a city or county) or non-equivalent state 
or territory licenses may be used to assist with documentation of compliance with some Utah qualifications.  Applicants must submit a verification of the license they 
feel may demonstrate components of Utah qualifications that includes documentation of hours, exams, and other qualifications completed to obtain the license.  
Additionally, providing information regarding the scope of the license will assist the Division in determining equivalency.  

For jurisdictions that do not meet the minimum requirements for endorsement outlined in 58-1-302, applicants may still be able to use their 
current license to satisfy some of the requirements for licensure.  In addition to a license verification from the jurisdiction, see the information 
below needed to correct deficiencies in endorsement for specific states or territories. 

Application Process
To apply to Utah using one of the licenses deemed equivalent (jurisdictions in green on the above map), you must have held the license type 
indicated on the map for at least one year.  Additionally, the license must be active and in good standing. 

In addition to a complete application for licensure and the appropriate fees, you must also submit an official verification of your license.  If you 
have been subject to previous disciplinary actions on any professional license or answer yes to any of the questions found on the qualifying 
questionnaires within the application, you will be required to provide additional information regarding those incidents.  See the application for 
complete instructions.    

Alternatively, applicants from any jurisdiction highlighted in blue or yellow may apply through the endorsement requirements outlined in 58-60-
115, which requires documentation of 4,000 hours of lawful practice, of which 1,000 hours must be in mental health therapy.  See our 
application for additional instructions. 
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