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October 20, 2005 
 
Dear Contractor Licensee: 
 
During the 2005 renewal cycle, information was provided regarding a new continuing education 
requirement for all Utah licensed contractors. Under 58-55-501(21) of the Utah Construction Trades 
Licensing Act, a contractor is required to complete six (6) hours of continuing education as follows: 
 

• Three (3) hours must be core education, which is defined as construction codes, construction laws 
and rules, and construction practices. 

 
• Three (3) hours must be professional education, which is defined as course material relevant to 

the practice of the construction trade and consistent with the laws and rules of the state. Courses 
in office and business skills, physical well-being and personal development, and meetings held in 
conjunction with the general business of the licensee are not acceptable. 

 
 
• All core and professional education hours must be clock hours completed in blocks of time of at 

least fifty (50) minutes in formally established classrooms courses, seminars, lectures, 
conferences, training sessions, or distance learning modules. 

 
By rule, continuing education classes must be conducted by or under the sponsorship of a recognized 
university or college, state agency, or professional association such as the Associated Builders and 
Contractors Association, the Associated General Contractors Association, the Utah Home Builders 
Association and the Utah Mechanical Contractors Association. Electricians are required to have 16 hours 
of continuing education. When completed, these 16 hours satisfy the continuing education requirements 
for both the electrical and contractor licenses. 
 
NOTE: Verification of having completed the continuing education requirement is due every two years. 
The initial continuing education requirement is to be completed by June 30, 2007. The continuing 
education requirement will be enforced through a random audit of all licenses. You do not need to submit 
your continuing education certificate(s) unless you are audited and specifically requested to do so by the 
Division. You are also required to maintain proof of your continuing education certificate(s) for two years 
after they are due.  
 
Information on Continuing Education Providers is available at www.dopl.utah.gov. (Select “Quick 
Links,” “Contractor” from the alphabetical listing, “Miscellaneous Information,” and then “Continuing 
Education.”) 
 
Sincerely, 

 
 
F. David Stanley, Associate Director for Construction Services 


