STATE OF UTAH
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER COUNSELOR

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

General Statement: The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) desires
to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure. To facilitate the application
process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting documents and
fees. Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary information will delay
processing and may result in denial of licensure. The fees are for processing your application and will
not be refunded. Please read all instructions carefully.

Address of Record: The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. All
correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address. You are responsible to directly notify DOPL
of any change to your address of record. Do not rely on a forwarding order.

Social Security Number: Your social security number (SSN) is classified as a private record under
the Utah Government Records Access and Management Act. It is used by DOPL as an individual
identifier. It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is
mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C.
666(a)(13). If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES FOR SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER
COUNSELOR LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT APPLICATIONS:

1. If you were enrolled in a substance use disorder education program before July 1, 2012, submit
an official college transcript verifying completion of an associate’s or bachelor’s degree. If
you do not have a college degree, submit a copy of your high school diploma or GED. Have
the school mail this documentation to DOPL or include with your application. To be official, a
transcript must bear the school seal and be enclosed in a sealed envelope. The school’s
seal/stamp must also be on the flap of the sealed envelope.

If you were enrolled in a substance use disorder education program after July 1, 2012, submit
an official college transcript verifying completion of an associate’s or bachelor’s degree. Also
submit verification of completion of three pre-requisite courses covering the following
subjects: human growth and development, general psychology, and human biology.

Have the school mail this documentation to DOPL or include with your application. To be
official, a transcript must bear the school seal and be enclosed in a sealed envelope. The
school’s seal/stamp must also be on the flap of the sealed envelope.

2. Submit a copy of the score report showing a passing score on the written National Association
of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) National Certification Exam Level I, 11,
or MAC. A passing score on the ICRC AADC or ADC exam may be submitted in lieu of
verification of a passing score on the NAADAC exam.

3. Submit a “Verification of Supervised Experience” form (attached to this application) completed by
each of your supervisors verifying completion of at least 2,000 hours of supervised substance
use disorder counseling experience. The form must be completed in it’s entirety by the
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supervisor. If you completed a portion of your experience outside of Utah, submit
documentation verifying your supervisor’s license type and license number.

4. Submit an $85 check to cover non-refundable application-processing fee. Make the check
payable to “DOPL.”

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:

1. Submit Completed Application to:

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By U.S. Mail |P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By Express Mail | 1¥ Floor Lobby

or In Person 160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City UT 84111-2305

2. Statutes and Rules: You are required to understand all Utah laws and rules pertaining to your
practice. The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at
www.dopl.utah.gov:

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act

General Rule of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
Mental Health Professional Practice Act

Mental Health Professional Practice Act Rule

Substance Use Disorder Counselor Licensing Act Rule

0O 00D D

3 Current Documents: Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed. Go
to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents.

4. License Renewal: SUDC licenses expire on May 30 of each odd-numbered year. Unlike
many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s date of initial
licensure. Therefore, the length of a licensee’s first renewal cycle depends on how far into the
current renewal cycle initial licensure was obtained. Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a full
two years.

Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing fee
only. It does not include a renewal fee. Each licensee is responsible to renew licensure
PRIOR to the expiration date shown on the current license. Approximately two months prior
to the expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is disseminated to each
licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL.

5. Continuing Education: SUDCs must complete at least 40 contact hours of continuing
education during every two year renewal cycle in order to qualify for license renewal.

6. Examination: To register for or to obtain information regarding the NAADAC exam, contact
the Association of Utah Substance Abuse Professionals (AUSAP) at (801) 335-0537 or
http://naadac.org/ut/. It is the responsibility of the applicant to submit the exam fees directly to
the testing agency.
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7. Updating Address Information: It is your responsibility to maintain a current address with
DOPL. If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other
correspondence. Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov.

8. Name Change: If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit
legal documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree).

10.  Telephone Numbers: (801) 530-6628 or (866) 275-3675 — toll-free in Utah
Email: doplbureau3@utah.gov
Website: www.dopl.utah.gov
Fax: (801) 530-6511
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER COUNSELOR

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.***

Last Name: First Name: Middle Name:

Social Security Number: - - Maiden Name:

| certify under penalty of perjury that:

(] I 'am a citizen of the United States and | have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.
License/State ID Number: State: __

[ ] I 'am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers
License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a
legal citizen of the United States.

[ ] Iam a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and | have a valid US Drivers
License or US State ID.

License/State ID Number: State: __

[] I'am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and | do not have a valid US
Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document
showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States.

[ ] 1 am a foreign national not physically present in the United States.

Mailing Address:

City: State: ZIP:

% 'IE/EI:?LZIe Date of Birth: Phone #: E-Mail:

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held
in any profession. (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

License/Certificate Number:

Date License/Certificate Approved: [/ /

Approved By:

Date License/Certificate Denied: [
Denied By:

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION

=

I certify that am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application.

2. | certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its
supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is
truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will
update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.

3. lauthorize all persons, institutions, organization, schools, governmental agencies, employers,
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set
forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably
required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my
qualifications for licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah.

4. 1 understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and

apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession

for which you are applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal
sanctions.

Signature of Applicant: Date of Signature: [

EDUCATION REQUIREMENT: (Use additional sheets if necessary.)
BACHELORS, ASSOCIATES, HIGH SCHOOL OR EQUIVALENT:

Name: Dates Attended: to
Location:
Degree Received: Date of Graduation: [

NOTE: A high school diploma or equivalent satisfies the education requirement only if you completed
over 100 hours of addiction-specific training as part of an approved education program before July 1,
2012.

SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER EDUCATION PROGRAM:

Name: Dates Attended: to
Location:
Title of Certificate Received: Date of Graduation: [

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT: (Answer ““yes” or “no.”)

0 Yes U No National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) National
Certification Exam Level I, 1, or MAC

0 Yes L No ICRC AADC or ADC Exam

To qualify for a SUDC license, you must have already passed at least one of the exams referenced
above.
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SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER COUNSELOR
QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question. Do not leave any question blank.

1. Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to
practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this
application?

2. Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?

3. Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated

profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked,
reprimanded, or disciplined in any way?

4. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or
registration to practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while
action was pending against you by any health care profession licensing agency, hospital
or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction?

5. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you
now by any licensing agency?

6. Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending against you now at any
hospital or health care facility?

7. Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or
federal health care payment reimbursement program denied, conditioned, curtailed,
limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way?

8. Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or
federal health care payment reimbursement program while under investigation or while
action was pending against you by any licensing agency, hospital, or other health care
facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction?

9. Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or
federal health care payment reimbursement program?

10. Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement
Administration or any state drug enforcement agency?

11. Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit?

12. Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge
assessments based upon specific claims history, or other limitations, restrictions, or
conditions imposed by any malpractice carrier?

(Continued on the next page.)
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21,

22,

23.

24,
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Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, curtailed,
limited, suspended, or revoked in any way?

If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you
pose a direct threat to yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the public health,
safety, or welfare because of any circumstance or condition?

Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by
reason of mental defect or disease and not restored?

Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the past
five (5) years?

Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including
recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is
unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or federal
law?

Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or
distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other
applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully completed or are
not now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation program, or for which you
have not otherwise been successfully rehabilitated?

Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser in any
incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?

Do you currently have any criminal action pending?

Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been
convicted of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years? Motor
vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but
minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need not be listed.

Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any
jurisdiction?

Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any
criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)?

Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county
correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on
probation/parole in any jurisdiction?

@ If you answered “yes” to questions 20, 21, 22, 23, or 24 above, you must submit a
complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction,
plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable
police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s).

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit



documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court indicating that
the information is no longer available.

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a
judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history. Expungement orders must be sent
to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the expungement to be
completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records.

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete
information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached.

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL
may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient.

DOPL-AP-139 Rev 2012-08-08 8



Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

FAX: (801)530-6511

VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE

TO BE COMPLETED IN ITS ENTIRETY BY EACH SUPERVISOR OF THE
REQUIRED SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE HOURS:

Applicant’s Name:

SUDC or ASUDC Supervisor’s Name:

SUDC or ASUDC Supervisor’s License Issued: State: License #:

MHT Supervisor’s Name:

MHT Supervisor’s License Issued: State: License #:
MHT Profession: Year:
Facility Name: Phone #:

Facility Street Address:

City: State: Zip:
Inclusive Dates of Supervised Experience: from / / to / /
Total Hours of Face-to-Face Supervision: Total Hours Worked:

The hours worked and supervised are reported on the basis of:
O Supervisor’s appointment calendars or records

O Supervisor’s best recollection

Description of Applicant’s Duties:

SUDC/ASUDC Supervisor:

Q I supervised the applicant at a ratio of one hour of face-to-face direct supervision
for every 40 hours of substance use disorder counseling services.

(Continued on the next page.)
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(. | attest that the applicant's performance was satisfactory. If less than satisfactory,
please attach an explanation regarding the nature of problem, recommendation
and remediation.

Q I certify that | have been licensed as a SUDC for at least two years or that | am an
advanced SUDC in good standing and | am a qualified supervisor in accordance
with Utah law.

Q I certify that | am professionally responsible for the acts and practices of the

applicant which are a part of the required supervised training.

Signature of SUDC or ASUDC Supervisor: Date: [/ [/

If supervised by a SUDC or ASUDC, both the supervising SUDC or ASUDC signatures and the
Mental Health Therapist signatures are required.

Mental Health Therapist Supervisor:

Q I supervised the applicant at a ratio of one hour of face-to-face direct supervision
for every 40 hours of substance use disorder counseling services.

Q | attest that the applicant's performance was satisfactory. If less than satisfactory,
please attach an explanation regarding the nature of problem, recommendation
and remediation.

Q I certify that | am a licensed mental health therapist in good standing and | am a
qualified supervisor in accordance with Statute and Rules.

Q I certify that | am professionally responsible for the acts and practices of the
applicant which are a part of the required supervised training.

Signature of Mental Health Therapist Supervisor: Date: [/ [/
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