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STATE OF UTAH 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
AFFIRMATION OF EXEMPTION FROM 

CONTRACTOR LICENSURE 
 

INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 
 
General Statement: The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) 
desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate 
efficient application processing, please submit a complete affirmation of exemption form 
including any applicable supporting documents.  Failure to submit a completed form and 
supply all necessary information will delay processing and may result in denial of affirmation of 
exemption registration.  Please read all instructions carefully. 
 

Current Documents: Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed.  Please 
go to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents. 
 

Submit Completed Application to: 

By U.S.  Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O.  Box 146741 
Salt Lake City UT  84114-6741 

By Express Mail 
or In Person 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
1st Floor Lobby 
160 E 300 S 
Salt Lake City UT  84111-2305 

 
Telephone Numbers:  (801) 530-6628 

(866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 
 

Fax Number:   (801) 530-6511 
 

Applicable Laws: A handyman performing remodel work which has a total value with labor and 
materials included, regardless of who provided the materials, of $1,000 or less is exempt from 
contractor licensure.  The exemption excludes new construction work; electrical, plumbing and 
mechanical work; and alarm system installations.  Each of these activities must be done by a 
properly licensed contractor. 
 

The exemption may be increase to total value of $3,000 or less by acquiring an Affirmation of 
Exemption Application from DOPL verifying that the contractor has liability insurance and 
applicable worker compensation insurance.  Note that this exemption also excludes new 
construction work; electrical, plumbing and mechanical work; and alarm system installations.  
Each of these activities must be done by a properly licensed contractor.  The increased amount is 
not valid until DOPL issues an exemption certificate. 
 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 58-55-102 (18) and 58-55-501(1), it is unlawful conduct for an 
unlicensed person, including persons filing an affirmation of exemption (handyman), to use the 
term contractor, builder, plumber, electrician, alarm system installation, mechanical work or  
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similar words that may imply an entity or person will do work that only a licensed contractor, 
plumber, electrician or alarm system installer can perform.  Affirmations of exemptions which 
contain such inappropriate words in the name of registrant will be denied. 
 

We have summarized the requirements for affirmation for exemption in this form.  Please note, 
however, that the Utah Construction Trade Licensing Act and the Utah Construction Trade 
Licensing Act Rules are the controlling laws that apply.  Applicants may need to refer to those 
laws for more specific direction.  Copies of these laws are available at 
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/contracting.html.  
 

This Affirmation of Exemption form references the Detailed Instructions where you will find 
additional information needed to complete this form.  Points of reference to the Detailed 
Instructions are indicated with a question mark symbol and a number (i.e. 1). The number 
corresponds to a number in the Detailed Instructions found starting on page 5.  Portions of the 
instructions may not apply to all applicants but have been included in the information for those 
applicants for whom the provision may apply. 
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AFFIRMATION OF EXEMPTION FROM CONTRACTOR LICENSURE 
(If marked with  see the numbered instruction in the Detailed Instructions starting on page 5.) 

APPLYING AS A SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP 1 & 2: 

Last Name: First Name: Middle Name: 
Social Security Number: 3      -      -       Maiden Name:  
I certify under penalty of perjury that: 

  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  
 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers 
License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you 
are a legal citizen of the United States.   

 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US 
Drivers License or US State ID. 
License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US 
Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued 
document showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 

 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 
 Male 
 Female 

Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

Business Legal Name - DBA(most applicants use a DBA)  2:         

Utah Division of Corporations DBA Registration Number 2:        

Employer Identification Number (EIN) 5:           
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APPLYING AS ANY OTHER BUSINESS ENTITY 1 & 4 : 
Type of Business Entity (Check only one): 

 C Corporation   S Corporation   General Partnership   Limited Partnership  

 Limited Liability Company   Other Type of Business:        

Business Entity’s Legal Name 4:            

Utah Division of Corporations Entity Registration Number 4:        
(required for all applications other than a Sole Proprietorship) 
DBA (if applicable) 4:             

Utah Division of Corporations DBA Registration Number 4:        

Employer Identification Number (EIN) 5:          
 

Business Mailing Address 6:             
City:         State:     Zip:     
Telephone(s):       E-mail Address (if available):       

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
Affirmation/Exemption Registration Number:          

Date Affirmation/Exemption Registration Approved: _____/_____/_____ (mm/dd/yyyy) 
Approved By:              

Date Affirmation/Exemption Registration Denied: _____/_____/_____ (mm/dd/yyyy) 
Denied By:              
Reason for Denial/Other Comments:           
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AFFIDAVIT AND RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
This signed affidavit and release is required for the Applicant listed on Page 3. 

 

AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 

1. I certify that I am qualified in all respects for the licensure/certification/registration for which I am 
applying in this application. 

2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting 
document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is truthful, correct, 
and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will update or correct the 
application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.  

3. I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers, 
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth 
directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably required for the 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for 
licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

4. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and 
apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for 
which I am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions. 

 

Printed Name of Authorized Signer:           

Position of Authorized Signer:           

Signature:  ________________________________   Date of Signature:  ___ /___ /______ 

 

 Submit $35.00 Affirmation of Exemption Non-refundable filing fee 
 

Required Liability Insurance Information Checklist: 7 (Required for all applicants.) 
Complete all the following: (or you may enclose your Liability Insurance Certificate showing all of the following) 

 Verify that the Name of the Insured on the Certificate is the Applicant as shown on page 3. 

 Provide the Policy #: ______________________ 

 Provide the Expiration Date:  ____/____/____ (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 Provide the Insurance Company name: 
_____________________________________________________________ 

 Provide the Insurance Company address, phone number and contact person: 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

 
Verify that the liability coverage has the minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and 
$300,000 in total. 

 Verify that DOPL is named as the Certificate Holder with the correct address. 
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Required Workers Compensation Insurance Information: (You must do one of these two (2) alternatives) 
Alternative #1: Complete all the following: (or you may enclose your Insurance Certificate showing all of the following) 

 Verify that the Name of the Insured on the Certificate is the Applicant as shown on page 3. 

 Provide the Policy #: ______________________ 

 Provide the Expiration Date: ____/____/____ (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 Provide the Insurance Company name: 
_____________________________________________________________ 

 Provide the Insurance Company address, phone number and contact person: 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

 Verify that DOPL is named as the Certificate Holder with the correct address. 

Alternative #2: 

 

Acknowledge that the Applicant does not now hire employees and does not intend to hire 
employees within the foreseeable future.  (Applicable only if applicant claims exemption from workers compensation 

insurance.) 8 
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 Detailed Instructions  

 
1. Form of entity: If you still have not decided the form of entity in which you will operate 

your business in, additional information can be obtained in the Contractor 
Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin available at www.dopl.utah.gov or in 
Chapter 2 from the Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Utah 
Contractors Reference Manual, 2007 Edition published by the National Association of 
State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA) which is available for purchase from 
PSI at www.psiexams.com or phone (800) 733-9267.  You may also wish to consult with 
an attorney or CPA to advise you which form of entity is best for your situation. 

 
2. Sole Proprietorships / DBAs: When an applicant is a sole proprietor, the exemption 

certificate will be granted in the individual's legal name.  Most sole proprietor applicants 
however choose to add a description to their legal name or choose to have a trade name 
for purposes of engaging in a contracting business.  For example: John Doe Handyman 
Service or XYZ Handyman Company. 

 
If any description is added to a person's given name or any trade name is used that is 
referred to as a DBA (Doing Business As).  If a person uses a DBA, it must be registered 
with the Utah Division of Corporations.  You may obtain forms to register a DBA at 
www.corporations.utah.gov. 

 
If a sole proprietor does not register a DBA, the exemption certificate will be issued only 
in the person's given name and that will be the only name they can use in conducting their 
contracting business. 

 
3. Social Security Number: Your social security number is classified as a private record 

under the Utah Government Records Access and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL 
as an individual identifier.  It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to 
Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code 
Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13).  If an SSN is not provided, the application 
is incomplete and may be denied. 

 
4. Business legal name – DBA – Entities: If the applicant is any type of entity other than a 

sole proprietor operating only under their legal name, the applicant must be registered 
with the Utah Division of Corporations.  The form of that registration may vary from a 
DBA (Doing Business As) registration or registration of the business entity such as: a 
corporation, partnership, limited liability or other type of entity.  Business Entity and 
DBA registration forms are available at www.corporations.utah.gov. 

 
The name on the business entity registration with the Utah Division of Corporations is the 
business legal name of the business entity which should be listed on the application; and 
is the name that will appear on the exemption certificate that may be issued.  In addition 
to the entity registration, a business entity may register one or more DBAs.  For a 
business entity other than a sole proprietorship or partnership, the DBA will not be 
printed on the exemption certificate. 

 
5. Employer Identification Number (EIN): Any applicant who is a corporation or similar 

entity or who hires employees is required to obtain an Employer Identification Number 
from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).This is sometimes referred to as a Federal ID 
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Number.  Application forms to apply for an EIN are available at www.irs.gov.  For Sole 
Proprietorships who do not hire employees, this is not required. 

 
6. Address of Record: The address you provide on this application will be your address of 

record.  All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address.  You are responsible 
to directly notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a 
forwarding order.  Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 
7. General Liability Insurance: All applicants must verify Liability Insurance coverage, 

by providing an active policy number, with its expiration date, as issued by the 
applicant’s public liability insurance carrier.  You must also provide information on the 
insurance company and the contact information.  A copy of the insurance certificate 
may be provided rather than listing the information on the form.  We do not accept 
incomplete or inaccurate certificates.  The minimum required coverage is $100,000 for 
each incident and $300,000 in total. 

 
The named insured (on a Sole Proprietorship this should include both the legal name and the DBA if 
applicable); including the type of business entity (Inc., LLC, etc.) and address of insured 
listed on the certificate must be the name and address of the applicant.  The certificate 
holder must be named as DOPL at PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741. 

 
NOTE: An active insurance policy must be maintained by all exemption registrants, 
whether or not current construction activity is being performed.  If liability insurance is 
cancelled, the registrant should surrender the exemption certificate. 

 
8. Workers Compensation Insurance (Employees): If the applicant currently has 

employees, or intends to hire employees in the next year, the applicants must verify 
Workers Compensation Insurance coverage, by providing an active policy number, with 
its expiration date, as issued by the applicant’s workers compensation insurance carrier.  
You must also provide information on the insurance company and the contact 
information.  A copy of the insurance certificate may be provided rather than listing 
the information on the form.  We do not accept incomplete or inaccurate certificates. 

 
NOTE: An active policy must be maintained by all exemption registrants, whether or not 
current construction activity is being performed. 

 


