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State of Utah 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
Telephone (801) 530-6628 

www.dopl.utah.gov / doplbureau3@utah.gov 

   MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST ($120.0 0 Non Refundable Application Fee) 

   MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST BY ENDORSEMENT ($120.0 0 Non Refundable 
Application Fee) 

 

(Note: Microsoft Word users can fill in the blanks, print the form and save it for their records) 
***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 

 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        
I certify under penalty of perjury that: 

  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  
 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach 
a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a legal citizen of the United States.   

 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. 
License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. 
Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 

 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 
 Female Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in any profession.  (Use 
additional sheets if necessary.) 
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 
 

 
 
 

 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:                     

Date License/Certificate Approved/Denied: ___/___/____ by ___________________________________________________________ 

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:             

                

                

Bureau Manager Review: QQ Yes answers  or   Education  or  Exam         Approve          Deny 
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION FOR APPLICANT 
 

1. I certify that am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application. 
2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting document(s) is free of 

fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts 
regarding the applicant; and that I will update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application. 

3. I authorize all persons, institutions, organization, schools, governmental agencies, employers, references, or any others not 
specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to 
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably 
required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for 
licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

4. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and apply the requirements 
contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for which you are applying, and that failure to do so 
may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions. 
 

Name: ___________________________________________ Signature:  __________________________________   Date:  _________ 
 
 

 
 
 

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Name of School:       Dates Attended:       To:       

Location:       Degree Received:       Date of Graduation:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Name of School:       Dates Attended:       To:       

Location:       Degree Received:       Date of Graduation:       
Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Name of School:       Dates Attended:       To:       

Location:       Degree Received:       Date of Graduation:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        
 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT: 

Examination of Marital and Family Therapy – Date(s) Passed:                         
 

ACCREDITATION: 

Is your earned marriage and family therapy degree from a COAMFTE accredited institution? 

 Yes    No   If “NO,” complete the “EDUCATIONAL COURSE REQUIREMENTS” section of this application and submit course 
descriptions. 

 
EDUCATIONAL COURSE REQUIREMENTS 
To be completed by all applicants who have not graduated from a COAMFTE accredited curriculum in marriage and 
family therapy.  You can expedite the review process by providing a copy of the graduate catalog course description and/or 
syllabus of any identified courses.  Use each course only once.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Theoretical Foundations of Marital and Family Therapy:  (minimum 6 semester or 9 quarter hours)  Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title::       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Assessment and Treatment in Marriage and Family Therapy:  (minimum 9 semester or 12 quarter 
hours) Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        
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Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Human Development & Family Studies: (minimum 6 semester or 9 quarter hours) Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Professional Ethics:  (minimum 3 semester or 4½ quarter hours) Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Research Methodology and Data Analysis:  (minimum 3 semester or 4½ quarter hours)   Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Supervised Clinical Practicum (minimum 500 hours of clinical practice which must include 250 hours with couples 
or families physically present in the therapy room AND 100 hours of face-to-face supervision for a total of 600 hours) Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Electives in Marriage and Family Therapy:  (minimum 3 semester or 4½ quarter hours)  Total:     

Course Title:       Course No:        University:        

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      

Course Title:       Course No:        University:       

Year:       Credits:          Semester    Quarter Credits Received:      
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QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
Read thoroughly, and answer the questions. Do not leave any question blank.   

(Note:  If you have formally expunged a criminal record you do not need to disclose that criminal history.) 
 

 Yes   No 
1. Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice in a 

regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this application? 

 Yes   No 2. Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination? 

 Yes   No 
3. Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated profession denied, 

conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way?  

 Yes   No 

4. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or registration to 
practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while action was pending against you by 
any health care profession licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or 
administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
5. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you now by any 

licensing agency? 

 Yes   No 
6. Have you ever had hospital or other health care facility privileges denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, 

restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
7. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender hospital or other health care facility privileges, 

while under investigation or while action was pending against you by any licensing agency, hospital or 
other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
8. Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending against you now at any hospital or health 

care facility? 

 Yes   No 
9. Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal health care 

payment reimbursement program denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or 
revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
10. Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal health 

care payment reimbursement program while under investigation or while action was pending against you 
by any licensing agency, hospital, or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
11.  Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal health care 

payment reimbursement program? 

 Yes   No 12. Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit? 

 Yes   No 
13. Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge assessments based upon 

specific claims history, or other limitations, restrictions or conditions imposed by any malpractice 
carrier? 

 Yes   No 
14. Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, 

suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
15.  If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you pose a direct 

threat to yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the public health, safety, or welfare because of any 
circumstance or condition? 

 Yes   No 
16. Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental 

defect or disease and not restored? 

 Yes   No 
17. Have you been terminated, suspended, reprimanded, sanctioned, or asked to leave voluntarily from a 

position because of drug use or abuse within the past five (5) years? 

 Yes   No 
18. Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser in any incident of 

verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?  

 Yes   No 
19. Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including recreational drugs) 

without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah 
Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state of federal law? 

 Yes   No 20. Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 

 Yes   No 

21. Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been convicted of a 
misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  Motor vehicle offenses such as driving 
while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding 
violations need not be listed. 

 Yes   No 22. Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
23. Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any criminal charge that 

was later dismissed (i.e. plea-in-abeyance or deferred sentence)? 
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 Yes   No 
24. Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county correctional facility or in 

any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 
 If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete information with respect to all 

circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached.  If you answered “yes” to Questions 20, 21, 22, 23, or 24 you must 
submit a complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction, plea in abeyance, and/or 
deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer 
report(s). 

 

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit documentation on official letterhead from the 
police department and/or court indicating that the information is no longer available. 
 

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a judge, you do not need to disclose 
that criminal history.  Expungement orders must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the 
expungement to be completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

 

A “Yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL may request additional 
documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 



DOPL-AP-065 Rev 2013-08-08 7

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
Fax:  801 530-6511 
 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:  
Complete the first section of the form and submit it to a state in which you are currently licensed as a Marriage and Family 
Therapist.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it directly to DOPL or return it to you for submission with 
your application. 

 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Maiden Name:        Social Security Number:       -      -       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Date of Birth:        E-Mail:        Date of Graduation:       

I am requesting licensure in the State of Utah as a Marriage and Family Therapist 

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:       License Nr in your state is/was:       

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of $       

Signature of Applicant: 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 
 

Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and mail it directly to DOPL, or place the completed form in a 
sealed envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by mail.  The applicant will include the sealed verification of licensure with 
his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   
 
Name of Verifying State:               

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):           

Classification of License Issued:              

License Number:         Current Status:         

Original Date of Licensure: ____/____/____  Expiration Date: ____/____/____ 

Continuously Licensed: 

 Yes    No, please explain:             

Licensed By: 

 Exam, Type:         Date: ___/___/_____ 

 Endorsement: from what state?             

 Waiver:                

Examination Scores:              

Education Required for Licensure:             

 
Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 

 No    Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 
 
Signature:            
 
Title:             
 
Agency:            
 
Date: ___/___/_____ 
 

 
 
 
 

(SEAL) 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
Fax:  (801) 530-6511 

 

VERIFICATION OF ACTIVE PRACTICE 

AS A MARRAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST 
(For Endorsement Only) 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY AN EMPLOYER, HUMAN RESOURCE PERSONNEL or THIRD PARTY REFERENCE: 

 
Name of Applicant:              
 
License Number:       State of Licensure:      
 
Name of Person Verifying Employment:           
 
Relationship to Applicant:             
 
Name of Employer:              
 
Employer Address:              
 
Employer Phone Number:             
 
Describe the applicant’s employment setting:  (private practice, governmental entity, nonprofit and charitable corporation, 
school, college, university, licensed health facility or other)  
              
 
              
 
              
 
Dates applicant was employed in this setting: from  ___/___/____ to  ___/___/____ 
 
How many hours did the applicant work per week?      
 

What was the applicant’s schedule?   full-time   part-time  
 

If applicable, is the applicant still employed with agency?   Yes      No 
 

If applicable, if no, is the applicant re-hirable?   Yes       No 
 
 
This document is proof that the applicant has been actively engaged in legal practice as a licensed marriage and family therapist 
and has completed not less than 4,000 hours of experience which includes not less than 1,000 hours of mental health therapy. 
 
 
Name:           Title:       
 
Signature: _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Date of Signature:  ___/___/____ 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
Fax:  801 530-6511 
 

VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE 
 
TO BE COMPLETED BY EACH SUPERVISOR OF THE REQUIRED SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE HOURS: 
 
 
Applicant Name:               

Supervisor’s Name:              

Supervisor’s License Issued:  State:      Profession:       Year:    

Facility Name where experience took place:            

Facility Street Address:              

City:           State:    Zip:      

Inclusive Dates of Supervised Experience: from ___/___/____ to ___/___/_____ 

 

Type of Experience  Hours 
Hours of Direct Supervision (minimum 100 hours):      

This must include at least one hour of direct supervision for every ten hours of client contact by 
the supervisee. 

 

Hours of Mental Health Therapy (minimum 1, 000 hours): 
Does the required 1,000 hours of Mental Health Therapy include 500 hours of Mental 
Health Therapy in couple or family therapy with two or more clients present? 

  Yes       No  

 

Additional Hours of Marriage and Family Therapy Training: 
This may include preparing for cases, writing case notes, completing paperwork, continuing 
education, in-service training, consultation, and other professional activities. 

 

Grand Total of Hours (minimum 4,000 hours):  

 

The hours worked and supervised are reported on the basis of: 

 Supervisor’s appointment calendars or records 

 Supervisor’s best recollection          
 

Nature of Applicant’s Duties:             

              

              

I do hereby certify that the applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist has:   
(Check only one line.) 

 successfully completed the above supervised experience; or 

 has not successfully completed the above supervised experience. 
 
I further certify that the applicant: 

  is qualified and competent to practice mental health therapy as a licensed marriage and family therapist. 

 is not qualified and competent to practice mental health therapy as a marriage and family therapist. 

 
If applicant is not qualified, please explain the nature of the problem and recommendations for remediation.  (Attach additional 
pages as needed.) 
               
 
  
 

(Continued on the next page.) 
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I do hereby certify that I have been licensed as an MFT in good standing for not less than two years and that I meet one of the 
following requirements to be a marriage and family therapist training supervisor: (check all that apply) 
 

  currently approved by AAMFT as a marriage and family therapist supervisor; 
 

  have successfully completed a supervision course in a Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education (COAMFTE) accredited marriage and family therapy (MFT) program at an accredited university; or 

 

  have successfully completed 20 hours of instruction sponsored by AAMFT or the Utah Association for Marriage and 
Family Therapists (UAMFT) as follows: 
 four hours of review of models of MFT and supervision; 
 eight hours of MFT supervision processes and practice; 
 four hours of research on effective outcomes and processes of supervision; and 
 four hours of AAMFT Code of Ethics, state rules and case studies related to MFT supervision. 

 
I further certify that I am professionally responsible for the acts and practices of the applicant that were a part of the required 
supervised experience. 
 
Signature of Supervisor:            
 
Date of Signature: ___/___/____ 
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MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

  
Application Checklist: (Applications with incomplete attachments may be denied.) 

For all applicants: 

 
Submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting documents. Failure to submit a complete 
application and supply all necessary information will delay processing and may result in denial of licensure.  

 Complete and submit the Qualifying Questionnaire  

 Submit a $120.00 non-refundable application-processing fee for an MFT license 

If you are applying for licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist, complete the following in addition to submitting a 
completed application: 

 

Submit official transcript(s) documenting completion of a master’s or doctorate degree in marriage and family therapy 
from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education 
(COAMFTE).  
  

    OR 
 

Submit official transcript(s) evidencing completion of a master’s or doctorate degree in marriage and family therapy 
from an institution which is accredited by a professional accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher 
Education Accreditation of the American Council on Education (CHEA) and completion of the specific courses as 
shown in the Educational Course Requirements in this application. 

 Submit official documentation of your passing score on the Examination of Marital and Family Therapy (EMFT). 

 
Submit a completed “Verification of Supervised Experience” form (attached to this application) from each of your 
supervisors documenting a total of 4,000 hours of supervised experience — 1,000 hours of which are in mental health 
therapy 

If you are applying for licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist by endorsement (current licensure in another state) 
complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application: 

 
Using the “Request for Verification of License” form (attached to this application), obtain verification of licensure from a 
state in which you are currently licensed.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail them directly to 
DOPL or return them to you for submission with your application. 

 
Using the “Verification of Active Practice” form (attached to this application) document that you have been actively engaged 
in the lawful practice of marriage and family therapy for not less than 4,000 hours of which not less than 1,000 hours are 
in mental health therapy. 

 
1. Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah Government 

Records Access and Management Act.  If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 
 
2. Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. You are responsible to 

directly notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.   
 
3. Laws and Rules:  You are required to understand Utah laws and rules pertaining to your practice. The laws and rules 

applicable to your professional practice are available on the Internet at www.dopl.utah.gov. 
 

4. Code of Ethics:  MFT licensees are required to abide by the Code of Ethics of the American Association for Marriage 
and Family Therapy (AAMFT): www.aamft.org. 
 

5. School Transcripts:  Have the school send the transcript directly to DOPL or you may also have the school send the 
transcript to you for inclusion with your application so long as it is in a sealed envelope, bearing the school’s stamp/seal 
on the envelope flap. If you submitted your transcript(s) and/or other course descriptions as part of your application for 
Utah licensure as a Associate Marriage and Family Therapist, you do not need to resubmit them with your application for 
Utah licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist. 
 

6. Supervised Marriage and Family Therapy Experience:  Upon completion of the required education, 4,000 hours of 
supervised marriage and family therapy and mental health therapy experience is required for licensure. The 4,000 hours of 
supervised marriage and family therapy experience includes a minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised experience in 
mental health therapy -- 500 of which must be in conjoint, couple, or family therapy sessions.  You must document 100 
hours of face-to-face individual supervision. Additionally, the “Verification of Supervised Experience” form must be 
submitted upon completion of the required supervised experience. Request that each supervisor complete the form and 
submit it to you for submission with your application. 
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7. Requirements for a Marriage and Family Therapist Supervisor:  To qualify as a Associate Marriage and Family 
Therapist Supervisor, an individual must be licensed in good standing for not fewer than two years and: 
a. be currently approved by AAMFT as a marriage and family therapist supervisor 

 

  OR 
  

b. comply with the requirements in R156-60b-302 (d) of the Marriage and Family Therapy Act Rule available at 
www.dopl.utah.gov 

 
8. Acceptable Forms of Payment: Licensure fees can be paid by check or money order, made payable to “DOPL.” Cash 

and debit/credit cards (American Express, MasterCard, and Visa) are also accepted in person at DOPL’s main office – but not over 
the telephone. 

 
9. Mail Complete Application to: 

By U.S.  Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O.  Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

By Express Mail 
or In Person 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
1st Floor Lobby 
160 E 300 S 
Salt Lake City UT  84111-2305 

 
10. Telephone Numbers: (801) 530-6628 

(866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 
 

11. Email   doplbureau3@utah.gov 
 
 


