STATE OF UTAH
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

General Statement: The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) desires to
provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure. To facilitate the application process,
submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting documents and fees.
Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary information will delay processing and
may result in denial of licensure. The fees are for processing your application and will not be refunded.
Please read all instructions carefully.

Address of Record: The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. All
correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address. You are responsible to directly notify DOPL of
any change to your address of record. Do not rely on a forwarding order.

Social Security Number: Your social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah
Government Records Access and Management Act. It is used by DOPL as an individual identifier. It is
also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is mandatory pursuant
to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13). If an SSN is not
provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES:

If you are applying for licensure by education and examination, complete the following in addition
to submitting a completed application:

1. Submit an official transcript showing your graduation from a chiropractic program accredited by
the Council on Chiropractic Education, Inc.

Note: Have the school send the transcript directly to DOPL. You may also have the school send
the transcript to you for inclusion with your application so long as it is in a sealed envelope,
bearing the school’s stamp/seal on the envelope flap.

2. Submit the original score report(s) showing your passing scores on the National Chiropractic
Boards, Parts I, I, III, IV and Physiotherapy.

3. Submit the original letter from DOPL’s approved examination provider verifying your passing
score on the Utah Chiropractic Law and Rules Examination. For examinations taken prior to
January 1, 2008, the approved provider was Thomson Prometric; for examinations taken after
that date the provider is PSI Examination Services.

4. Submit a $200.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.”
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If you are applying for licensure by endorsement, complete the following in addition to submitting
a completed application:

1.

Submit the original score report showing your passing score on the SPEC examination of the
NBCE.

Using the “Request for Verification of Licensure” form (attached to this application), obtain
verification of licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed.

Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it directly to DOPL or return them to
you for submission with your application.

Submit a completed “Verification of Qualifying Experience” form (attached to this application)
showing at least two years of active practice as a licensed chiropractor immediately preceding
submission of this application for licensure.

Submit a $200.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.”
If you are requesting a temporary license to practice under a licensed supervising chiropractic

physician until you pass the SPEC examination, complete the following in addition to
requirements 1 — 4 above:

NOTE: You may only apply for a temporary license is you qualify for licensure by
endorsement. Temporary licenses are not available to an individual applying by
education and examination.

A. Submit a completed “Application for Approved Supervisor” form (attached to this
application). See “Additional Important Information” below.

B. Submit an additional $50.00 non-refundable application-processing fee.

NOTE: The total fee for a chiropractic physician license and a temporary license is
$250.00.

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:

1.
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Law and Rules Exam: All applicants for licensure must pass the Utah Chiropractic Law and
Rules Examination. Applicants must apply directly to PSI Examination Services at
www.psiexams.com or 1-800-733-9267 to register for the examination.

The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at www.dopl.utah.gov:

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act

General Rules of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
Chiropractic Physician Practice Act

Chiropractic Physician Practice Act Rules
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2. Current Documents: Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed. Go to
www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents.

3. NBCE: To register to take one or more of the NBCE examinations, contact the National Board
of Chiropractic Examiners in Greeley, Colorado at (970) 356-9100.

4. Examination Fees: There are separate fees for all examinations. It is the responsibility of the
applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency.

5. License Renewal: All chiropractic physician licenses expire May 31 of each even-numbered
year.

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s date of
initial licensure. Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession expire as a group
on the same day every two years. Therefore, the length of a licensee’s first renewal cycle
depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was obtained. Each renewal
cycle thereafter is for a full two years.

Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing fee
only. It does not include a renewal fee. Each licensee is responsible to renew licensure PRIOR
to the expiration date shown on the current license. Approximately two months prior to the
expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is disseminated to each licensee’s last
address of record, as provided to DOPL.

6. Continuing Education: Forty (40) hours of continuing education are required every two years
as a condition of renewal of license. Persons licensed during the renewal period are required to
complete 1.67 hours of continuing education for each month they are licensed. Temporary
license holders are required to comply with the CE requirements.

For further detail on the continuing education requirements, please see the Chiropractic
Physician Licensing Act Rules, R156-73-303b.

7. Temporary License: A temporary license to practice under the supervision of an approved
chiropractic physician may be issued for no more than 10 months to an endorsement applicant
who has met all the requirements for licensure except passing the NBCE SPEC examination.
Upon passing the SPEC, the applicant must submit the official score report to DOPL. DOPL
will then issue an active license to practice as a chiropractic physician in the state of Utah. The
$250.00 application fee for a temporary license includes the fee for the chiropractic physician
license. No additional fees will be required.

8. Updating Address Information: It is your responsibility to maintain a current address with
DOPL. If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other
correspondence. Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov.

9. Licensure by Endorsement: Each applicant for licensure as a chiropractic physician based on
licensure as a chiropractor or chiropractic physician in another jurisdiction must:

A. Submit an application in the form prescribed by the division;

DOPL-AP-062 Rev 2011-04-26



Pay a fee determined by the department under Section 63-38-3.2;
Be of good moral character;
Demonstrate having obtained licensure as a chiropractor or chiropractic physician in
another state under education requirements that were equivalent to the education
requirements in this state to obtain a chiropractor or chiropractic physician license at the
time the applicant obtained the license in the other state;
E. Demonstrate successful completion of:
(1) the Utah Chiropractic Law and Rules Examination
(11) the Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) of the National Board
of Chiropractic Examiners
F. Have been actively engaged in the practice of chiropractic for not less than two years
immediately preceding application for licensure in this state.
G. Meet with the board, if requested, for the purpose of reviewing the applicant's
qualifications for licensure.

oSOw

10.  Name Change: If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, submit
documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of @ marriage license or divorce decree).

11. Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure: After obtaining your license from DOPL, you can order a
Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure, printed on parchment paper with original signatures and an
embossed gold seal. Order forms can be obtained at www.dopl.utah.gov.

12. Submit Completed Application to:
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By U.S. Mail |P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By Express Mail | 1% Floor Lobby
or In Person 160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City UT 84111-2305

13. Telephone Numbers: (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 — Toll-free in Utah

14. Fax Number: (801) 530-6511
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

License(s) Applying For: Q CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN
Q TEMPORARY LICENSE (Endorsement Applicants Only)

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.***

Last Name: First Name: Middle Name:

Social Security Number: - - Maiden Name:

I certify under penalty of perjury that:

[ ] Iam a citizen of the United States.

[ ] Tam a qualified alien as defined in 8 U.S.C., Sec 1641 who is lawfully present in the United States. I
understand that [ am required to visit DOPL’s offices and present a government issued ID bearing my
photo and evidence of one, or both of the following:

Alien ID Number [-94 Number

[ ] Iam a foreign national not physically present in the United States. (if you check this item you do not need to

and respond to the following section.)
[ ] Ihave a valid Driver License or State Issued ID State: Number:
[ ] Ido nothave a Driver License. I am legally present in the United States, and I understand that the
Department of Commerce will verify my legal presence in order to process my application.
Mailing Address:
City: State: ZIP:
L| Male Date of Birth: Phone #: E-Mail:
[ ] Female

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in
any profession. (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

License/Certificate Number:

Date

Approved By:

Date

Denied By:

License/Certificate Approved:  / /

License/Certificate Denied: /

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION

1. I certify under penalty of perjury that I am a United States citizen, a qualified alien as defined in
8 U.S.C. Sec. 1641, or I am lawfully present in the United States.

2. Tcertify that I am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this
application.

3. T certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its
supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is
truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will
update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.

4. T authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers,
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are
set forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type
reasonably required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly
evaluate my qualifications for licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah.

5. Tunderstand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read,
understand, and apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the
occupation or profession for which I am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil,
administrative, or criminal sanctions.

Signature of Applicant: Date of Signature: /]

EDUCATION REQUIREMENT: (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

COLLEGE or UNIVERSITY:

Name: Dates Attended: to
Location: Date of Graduation: / /
Name: Dates Attended: [/ to [/
Location: Date of Graduation:  / /
CHIROPRACTIC PROGRAM:

Name: Dates Attended: to
Location: Date of Graduation:  / /
Name: Dates Attended: to
Location: Date of Graduation: /]
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EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT:

Answer “yes” or “no.”

NBCE Part | Date(s) Taken:  / /
NBCE Part 11 Date(s) Taken:  / /
NBCE Part III Date(s) Taken:  / /
NBCE Part IV Date(s) Taken: /1

NBCE Physiotherapy ~ Date(s) Taken:  /  /

NBCE SPEC Date(s) Taken:  / /
Utah Chiropractic
Law and Rule Date(s) Taken:  / /

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT:

List all clinics, practitioners, and locations you have been affiliated with or practiced at during the past 2
years. (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Name of Facility / Practitioner:

Address:

Dates of Employment: to Hours worked each week:

Duties / Responsibilities:

Name of Facility / Practitioner:

Address:

Dates of Employment: to Hours worked each week:

Duties / Responsibilities:
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CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN
QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question. Do not leave any question blank.

1.

10.

11.
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Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to
practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this
application?

Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?

Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated
profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked,
reprimanded, or disciplined in any way?

Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or
registration to practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while action
was pending against you by any health care profession licensing agency, hospital or other
health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction?

Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you
now by any licensing agency or governmental agency?

Have you ever had hospital or other health care facility privileges denied, conditioned,
curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way?

Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender hospital or other health care facility
privileges, while under investigation or while action was pending against you by any
licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative
jurisdiction?

Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending against you now at any
hospital or health care facility?

Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or
federal health care payment reimbursement program denied, conditioned, curtailed,
limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way?

Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or
federal health care payment reimbursement program while under investigation or while
action was pending against you by any licensing agency, hospital, or other health care
facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction?

Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or
federal health care payment reimbursement program?
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(Continued on the next page.)

12. Have you ever had a federal or state registration to sell, possess, prescribe, dispense, or
administer controlled substances denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted,
suspended or revoked in any way by either the federal Drug Enforcement Administration
or any state drug enforcement agency?

13. Have you ever been permitted to surrender your registration to sell, possess, prescribe,
dispense, or administer controlled substances while under investigation or while action
was pending against you by any health care professional licensing agency, hospital or
other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction?

14. Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement
Administration or any state drug enforcement agency?

15. Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit?

16. Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge
assessments based upon specific claims history, or other limitations, restrictions, or
conditions imposed by any malpractice carrier?

17. Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, curtailed,
limited, suspended, or revoked in any way?

18. If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you
pose a direct threat to yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the public health, safety,
or welfare because of any circumstance or condition?

19. Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by
reason of mental defect or disease and not restored?

20. Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the past
five (5) years?
21. Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser in any

incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?

22. Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including
recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is
unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or federal
law?

23. Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution
of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state
or federal law, for which you have not successfully completed or are not now
participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation program, or for which you have not
otherwise been successfully rehabilitated?

24. Do you currently have any criminal action pending?
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25.

26.

27.

28.

(Continued on the next page.)

Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been convicted
of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years? Motor vehicle
offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but minor traffic
offenses such as parking or speeding violations need not be listed.

Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any
jurisdiction?

Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any
criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)?

Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county
correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on
probation/parole in any jurisdiction?

If you answered “yes” to questions 24, 25, 26, 27, or 28 above, you must submit a
complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction,
plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable
police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s).

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit
documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court indicating that
the information is no longer available.

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a
judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history. Expungement orders must be sent to
the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the expungement to be completed
and the criminal history eliminated from the records.

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete
information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached.

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL may
request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient.
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

Fax: (801) 530-6511

VERIFICATION OF QUALIFYING EXPERIENCE

PART 1-TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT FOR LICENSURE BY
ENDORSEMENT

Complete Part I of this form and present it to a licensed chiropractic physician(s) who can attest to the
accuracy of your qualifying work experience. Request that the chiropractic physician complete Part 11
and return it to you for submission with your application for licensure. Do not send the form separately.
(Make additional copies if necessary.)

Applicant’s Name:

Applicant’s Address:

City: State: Zip:

Applicant’s Phone:

Clinic’s Address:

City: State: Zip:

Clinic’s Phone:

Applicant’s Duties and Responsibilities:

Applicant’s Professional Relationship to Person Completing Part II:

Dates of Practice: from /] to / / Hours Worked Per Week:

(Continued on the next page.)
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PART 2 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE LICENSED CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN WHO IS
VERIFYING THE QUALIFYING EXPERIENCE OF THE APPLICANT

The named applicant is applying for licensure as a chiropractic physician in Utah and is asking you, as a

reference, to verify the accuracy of his or her qualifying work experience described in Part I. Please
complete Part I and sign your name attesting to the accuracy of Part I.

Verifying Individual’s Name:

Verifying Individual’s Address:

City: State: Zip:
Phone:
Chiropractic License Number: State of Licensure:

Professional Relationship to Applicant:

I certify that the information contained in Part I of this document is true, complete, and accurate. [
further certify that I understand that to falsify or withhold information may be unprofessional conduct
and would subject my license to disciplinary action.

Signature:

Date of Signature: / /
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

Fax: (801) 530-6511

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE

(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.)

PART 1-TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:

Complete the first section of the form. Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it
directly to DOPL or return it to you for submission with your application.

Applicant’s Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip:

I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a:

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:

My Social Security Number is:

My Date of Birth is: / /

My license number in your state is/was:

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of:

Signature of Qualifier:

Date of Signature: / /

DOPL-AP-062 Rev 2011-04-26
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(Continued on the next page.)

PART 2 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY:
Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and place the completed form in
an envelope, seal the envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by mail. The qualifier will

include the verification of licensure with his/her Utah application. Thank you.

Name of Verifying State:

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):

Name of Qualifying Person:

Classification of License Issued:

License Number: Current Status:

Original Date of Licensure: / / Expiration Date: / /

Continuously Licensed:

U Yes [ No, please explain:

Licensed By:

O Exam, Type: Date:  / /

U Endorsement, From What State

Examination Scores:

Education Required For Licensure:

Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action:

U No U Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc.

Signature: Title:

Agency:

Date of Signature: / /

(SEAL)
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

Fax: (801) 530-6511

APPLICATION FOR APPROVED SUPERVISOR

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE INTENDED SUPERVISING CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN
OF AN APPLICANT REQUESTING TEMPORARY LICENSURE:

Name of Applicant to be Supervised:

Facility Where Supervision Will Take Place:

Name:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Phone:

Supervising Chiropractic Physician

Name:

Utah Chiropractic Physician License Number:

Number of Years Licensed:

I have read the Chiropractic Physician Practice Act and Rules and I attest to the following.

I understand that I am responsible for the activities and services performed by the
person named as the applicant when issued a temporary license.

I understand that the supervision will be for a maximum of 10 months from the
issuance date of the temporary license.

I understand that I cannot supervise more than 2 persons holding a temporary
license at any given time.

Signature: Date: / /

DOPL-AP-062 Rev 2011-04-26

18




