How can I change my name on my license - I just got married/divorced?
If your legal name has changed, you must verify the change by submitting a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, driver's license, or social security card to the Division.
If you desire a reprint of your license reflecting the name change, you must also submit a $10 reprint fee with the request.
By Mail: DOPL P.O. Box 146741 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
In Person: 160 East 300 South Main Lobby, south side, Salt Lake City, Utah. Note: You must pay the $10 reprint fee by cash, check or credit card (MasterCard, Visa or American Express) and must show a photo ID.
I am already licensed in another state. How can I apply for a license in Utah?
Contact your current state licensing agency and request a verification of license be sent directly to the Division. Download and complete the application and submit it for review and processing with the required fees. Applicants must meet the educational or the experience requirement and the examination requirements. Applications cannot be completed without submital of verification.
What Cosmetology, Barber, Esthetic, Nail Technician and Electrology examinations does the State of Utah accept?
-National Interstate Council State Boards (NIC) examinations that have been passed with a score of 75% or greater, within one year prior to the date of the application.
-Any substantially equivalent theory, practical or instructor examination approved by the licensing authoriy of any other state wih a passing score of 75% or greater.
How can I change my address?
Can I fax in my application or supporting documents?
You must submit all documents by mail or in person (unless otherwise directed by the Division) and must be accompanied by payment.
What if I have a Cosmetology license in another country?
You must verify your hours of training through one of the approved credentialing companies listed in the application. Only they can verify the hours of training. The supporting documentation must be sent directly to the credentialing company. The application and its fees should be sent to the Division.
In what languages are the Cosmetology examinations offered?
The Utah State Legislature has determined that Utah is an "English only state", as such the examinations are offered only in the English language.