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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
* The agency identified below in box 1 provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-3-301. 
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency. 
* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints. 
* The full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DAR file no:    Date filed:   

State Admin Rule Filing Id:   Time filed:   

  Agency No.  Rule No.  Section No. 

Utah Admin. Code Ref (R no.): R 156  - 75 -  

Changed to Admin. Code Ref. (R no.): R  -  -  

   

1.  
  

Agency:  Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  

Room no.:   

Building:  Heber M. Wells Building 

Street address 1: 160 East 300 South  

Street address 2:   

City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84111-2316  

Mailing address 1: PO Box 146741  

Mailing address 2:   

City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741  

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Fax: E-mail: 
 Richard Oborn 801-530-6767  801-530-6511  roborn@utah.gov  

        

        
(Interested persons may inspect this filing at the above address or at the Division of Administrative Rules during business hours)

   

2. Title of rule or section (catchline): 

Genetic Counselors Licensing Act Rule 

3. Type of notice: 
New ___;  Amendment XX;  Repeal ___;  Repeal and Reenact ___ 

4. Purpose of the rule or reason for the change: 
The Division and Genetic Counselor Licensing Board reviewed the rule and determined that it was necessary to make 
the following amendments: (1) modify the length of time individuals may hold a temporary license; (2) eliminate the 
possibility of issuance of a second temporary license; (3) decrease the amount of continuing education genetic 
counselors must complete as a requirement for license renewal; (4) further define unprofessional conduct; and (5) make 
grammatical and stylistic changes. 

5. This change is a response to comments from the Administrative Rules Review Committee. 
No XX;  Yes ___ 

6. Summary of the rule or change: 



Section 302b: All temporary licenses currently expire on December 31 immediately following the next available 
American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC) examination date. Individuals have only one opportunity per year to 
take the ABGC exam. For this reason, the rule allows them to obtain the temporary license a second time. Beginning 
in 2014, individuals will have two opportunities per year to take the exam. This upcoming increase in exam availability 
led the Board to recommend a rule amendment to decrease the length of time individuals may hold temporary licenses 
to 18 months and to not allow individuals to obtain a temporary license a second time. Section 304: Currently, genetic 
counselors must complete 50 hours of continuing education during every renewal cycle. In an effort to decrease 
regulation and to be more consistent with requirements for national ABGC certification renewal, the Board 
recommends this requirement be decreased to 40 hours. Section 502: The proposed amendment makes it unprofessional 
conduct for a genetic counselor to fail to provide general supervision to a temporary genetic counselor when 
under their supervision. 

7. Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A) State budget: 

  Affected:   No ___;  Yes XX 

The Division will incur minimal costs of approximately $100  to print and distribute the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be absorbed in the Division's current budget. 

B) Local government: 

  Affected:   No XXX;  Yes ___ 

The proposed amendments only impact genetic counselors and temporary genetic counselors.  As a result, the proposed 
amendments do not apply to local governments. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business employing fewer than 50 persons): 

  Affected:   No ___;  Yes XX 

The proposed amendments only impact genetic counselors and temporary genetic counselors. Small businesses that 
employ temporary genetic counselors may experience some cost impact due to the inability to apply for the temporary 
license a second time; however, the extent of the cost impact is insignificant because cost impact is offset by the 
increase in availability of the exam. Small businesses that employ genetic counselors may also experience a cost savings 
due to the decrease in the number of continuing education hours required for license renewal.The cost of continuing 
education for genetic counselors ranges from $25 to $40 for 
every 10 hours of continuing education, plus registration and transportation costs if applicable. 

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character other than 
an agency): 

  Affected:   No ___;  Yes XX 

The proposed amendments only impact genetic counselors and temporary genetic counselors. Some genetic counselors 
may experience cost savings due to the decrease in the amount of continuing education required for license renewal. 
Under the proposed amendment, genetic counselors are required to complete 10 fewer hours of continuing education. 
As a result, some genetic counselors will save money they would have otherwise spent in order to complete 10 
additional hours of continuing education. The cost of continuing education for genetic counselors ranges from $25 to 
$40 for every 10 hours of continuing education, plus registration and transportation costs if applicable. Many licensees 
already complete 50 hours of continuing education every two years in order to maintain their ABGC certification. 
Temporary genetic counselors may experience some cost impact due to the inability to apply for the temporary license a 
second time; however, the extent of cost impact is insignificant because it is likely offset by the increase in availability 
of the exam. 

8. Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The proposed amendments only impact genetic counselors and temporary genetic counselors. Some genetic counselors 
may experience cost savings due to the decrease in the amount of continuing education required for license renewal. 
Under the proposed amendment, genetic counselors are required to complete 10 fewer hours of continuing education. 
As a result, some genetic counselors will save money they would have otherwise spent in order to complete 10 
additional hours of continuing education. The cost of continuing education for genetic counselors ranges from $25 
to $40 for every 10 hours of continuing education, plus registration and transportation costs if applicable. Many 
licensees already complete 50 hours of continuing education every two years in order to maintain their ABGC. 
Temporary genetic counselors may experience some cost impact due to the inability to apply for the temporary license a 
second time; however, the extent of cost impact is insignificant because it is likely offset by the increase in availability 
of the exam. 



9. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses: 
The proposed amendment requires a person to test and qualify for a non-temporary genetic counselor license at or 
before the time the temporary license expires, rather than applying to renew the temporary license.  Affected businesses 
will incur the associated licensing costs at an earlier date than they would under the existing rule, but the actual cost of 
licensing remains unchanged. The proposed amendment also reduces the number of continuing education hours that are 
required to renew a genetic counselor license.  Affected businesses will experience nominal savings from this reduction. 
Finally, the filing establishes that it is unprofessional conduct for a licensed genetic counselor to fail to supervise an 
affiliated individual holding a temporary license.  No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated from this change. 

B) Name and title of department head commenting on the fiscal impacts: 
Francine A. Giani, Executive Director 

10. This rule change is authorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interprets the following state and 
federal laws. 
State code or constitution citations (required) (e.g., Section 63G-3-402; Subsection 63G-3-601(3); Article IV) : 

Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) 

Subsection 58-75-302(2) Subsection 58-75-303(2) 

  

11. This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references  (a copy of 
materials incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Division of Administrative Rules; if none, leave blank): 

First Incorporation Second Incorporation 

Official Title of Materials
Incorporated (from title page)

  

Publisher   

Date Issued   

Issue, or version   

ISBN Number (optional)   

ISSN Number (optional)   

Cost of Incorporated Reference   

Action: Adds, updates, or removes   

(If this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please attach additional pages) 

12. The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also request a 
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. The agency is required to hold a hearing if it receives requests 
from ten interested persons or from an association having not fewer than ten members. Additionally, the request must be 
received by the agency not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 
63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.) 

A) Comments will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on (mm/dd/yyyy): 06/14/2013 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On (mm/dd/yyyy):   At (hh:mm AM/PM): At (place): 

05/23/2013 9:00 am 160 East 300 South, Conference Room 474 
(4th floor), Salt Lake City, Utah 

   

   

   

13. This rule change may become effective on (mm/dd/yyyy):  06/21/2013 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY become effective. It is NOT the effective date. After the date 
designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must  submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective. Failure to submit a Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and will 
require the agency to start the rulemaking process over. 



14. Indexing information -- keywords (maximum of four, in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper 
nouns (e.g., "Medicaid"); may not include the name of the agency: 

licensing occupational licensing 

genetic counselors  

15. Attach an RTF document containing the text of this rule change 
(filename): 

R156-75.pro 

To the agency:  Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301, 302, 303, and 402. Incomplete forms 
will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in the Utah State Bulletin, and delaying the first 
possible effective date. 

AGENCY AUTHORIZATION 
Agency head or 
designee, and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, Director Date 
(mm/dd/yyyy):

04/22/2013 

eRules v. 2: ProposedRule.doc  09/03/2009 (http://www.rules.utah.gov/agencyresources/forms/ProposedRule.doc) 
 



R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 

R156-75.  Genetic Counselors Licensing Act Rule. 

R156-75-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Temporary License. 

 In accordance with Subsection 58-75-302(2), the 

requirements for temporary licensure are established as follows: 

 (1)  An applicant shall meet all [the ]qualifications for 

licensure as established in Subsection 58-75-302(1) with the 

exception of Subsection 58-75-302(1)(e), and have active 

candidate status conferred by the ABGC. 

 (2)  An individual practicing under the authority of a 

temporary license [must]shall practice under the general 

supervision of a licensed genetic counselor or a licensed 

physician certified in clinical genetics by the American Board 

of Medical Genetics. 

 (3)  [In accordance with]A temporary license issued under 

Subsection 58-1-303(1)(a)[, a temporary license] shall expire on 

the date a non-temporary license is issued or 18 months after 

issuance of the temporary license, whichever is earlier.  An 

individual may apply for and obtain a temporary license only one 

time and it shall not be renewed or extended[December 31 

immediately following the next available ABGC certification exam 

date.  If the applicant fails the first sitting of the ABGC 

certification exam, the applicant may reapply for a second 

temporary license]. 

 (4)  A temporary license shall not be issued if the 

applicant has failed the ABGC certification examination more 

than once. 

 

R156-75-304.  Continuing Education. 

 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(1)(g), 58-1-

308(3)(b) and Section 58-75-303, there is created a continuing 

education requirement as a condition for renewal or 

reinstatement of licenses issued under Title 58, Chapter 75. 

 (2)  Continuing education shall consist of [50]40 hours 

([5]4 CEU[']s) in each preceding two year licensing cycle and 

[must]shall be approved for recertification purposes by the 

ABGC. 

 (3)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining 

competent records of completed [qualified 

professional]continuing education for a period of four years 

after close of the two year period to which the records pertain.  

It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain such 

information with respect to qualified professional education to 

demonstrate it meets the requirements under this section. 

 (4)  A licensee requesting a waiver of the continuing 

education requirement shall comply with requirements established 

by rule in R156-1-308[who documents circumstances which prevent 



the licensee from meeting the continuing professional education 

requirements established under this section may apply to be 

excused from the requirement for a period of up to two years.  

It is the responsibility of the licensee to document the reasons 

and justify why the requirement could not be met]. 

 

R156-75-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 

 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 

 (1)  violating any provision of the Code of Ethics 

established by the National Society of Genetic Counselors 

(NSGC), revised January 2006, which is hereby adopted and 

incorporated by reference; and 

 (2)  if licensed as a genetic counselor and contracted to 

provide general supervision to a temporary genetic counselor, 

failing to provide such supervision as defined in Subsection 

R156-75-102(2). 

 

 

KEY:  licensing, occupational licensing, genetic counselors 

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [July 9, 

2012]2013 

Notice of Continuation:  October 20, 2011 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-

106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-75-302(2); 58-75-303(2) 


