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* The agency identified below in box 1 provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-3-301. 
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency. 
* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints. 
* The full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DAR file no:    Date filed:   

State Admin Rule Filing Id:   Time filed:   

  Agency No.  Rule No.  Section No. 

Utah Admin. Code Ref (R no.): R 156  - 60d -  

Changed to Admin. Code Ref. (R no.): R  -  -  

   

1.  
  

Agency:  Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing  

Room no.:   

Building:  Heber M. Wells Building 

Street address 1: 160 East 300 South  

Street address 2:   

City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84111-2316  

Mailing address 1: PO Box 146741  

Mailing address 2:   

City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741  

Contact person(s): 

Name: Phone: Fax: E-mail: 
Rich Oborn  801-530-6767  801-530-6511  roborn@utah.gov  

        

        
(Interested persons may inspect this filing at the above address or at the Division of Administrative Rules during business hours)

   

2. Title of rule or section (catchline): 

Substance Use Disorder Counselor Act Rule 

3. Type of notice: 
New ___;  Amendment XXX;  Repeal ___;  Repeal and Reenact ___ 

4. Purpose of the rule or reason for the change: 
The Division and the Substance Use Disorder Counselor Board reviewed the rule and determined it was necessary to: 
(1) increase the proportion of continuing education that may be achieved through distance learning, clinical readings, or 
internet-based courses; and (2) make various nonsubstantive changes. 

5. This change is a response to comments from the Administrative Rules Review Committee. 
No XXX;  Yes ___ 

6. Summary of the rule or change: 
Section 102: In paragraph (1), the phrase "means an educational institution" is added in order to make a complete 
sentence out of the definition. Section 302a: An error in the number of prerequisite courses is corrected.  Section 304: In 
paragraph (5)(c), the maximum number of contact hours of continuing education recognized for distance learning, 
clinical readings, or internet-based courses is increased from six to 15.  The term "distance learning" is added to clarify 
the intent of the requirement.  The total number of continuing education hours remains constant at 40 hours. 

7. Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A) State budget: 



  Affected:   No ___;  Yes XXX 

The Division will incur minimal costs of approximately $50.00 to print and distribute the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be absorbed in the Division's current budget. 

B) Local government: 

  Affected:   No XXX;  Yes ___ 

The proposed amendments apply only to licensed substance use disorder counselors.  As a result, the proposed 
amendments do not apply to local governments. 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business employing fewer than 50 persons): 

  Affected:   No ___;  Yes XXX 

The proposed amendments apply only to licensed substance use disorder counselors.  Licensees may work in a small 
business; however, the proposed amendments would not directly affect the business.  If a small business is owned by a 
licensed substance use disorder counselor, the business may experience some indirect cost savings due to increasing the 
maximum number of contact hours of continuing education recognized for distance learning, clinical readings, or 
internet-based courses from six to 15 hours.  Due to a wide range of circumstances, the Division cannot quantify 
anticipated savings to this type of small business. 

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character other than 
an agency): 

  Affected:   No ___;  Yes XXX 

The proposed amendments apply only to licensed substance use disorder counselors.  Increasing the maximum number 
of contact hours of continuing education recognized for distance learning, clinical readings, or internet-based courses 
from six to 15 is likely to result in a cost savings to licensees who complete continuing education via distance methods.  
Licensees practicing in rural Utah are likely to benefit the most from this amendment because they travel longer 
distances to attend live courses.  Due to a wide range of circumstances, the Division cannot quantify anticipated savings 
to licensees. 

8. Compliance costs for affected persons: 
The proposed amendments apply only to licensed substance use disorder counselors.  Increasing the maximum number 
of contact hours of continuing education recognized for distance learning, clinical readings, or internet-based courses 
from six to 15 is likely to result in a cost savings to licensees who complete continuing education via distance methods.  
Licensees practicing in rural Utah are likely to benefit the most from this amendment because they travel longer 
distances to attend live courses.  Due to a wide range of circumstances, the Division cannot quantify anticipated savings 
to licensees. 

9. A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses: 
In addition to making technical corrections, this filing modifies the continuing education requirement to allow credit for 
up to 15 hours of distance learning per renewal period.  Allowing licensees to obtain continuing education online is 
likely to result in cost savings to individuals.  No fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated. 

B) Name and title of department head commenting on the fiscal impacts: 
Francine A. Giani, Executive Director 

10. This rule change is authorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interprets the following state and 
federal laws. 
State code or constitution citations (required) (e.g., Section 63G-3-402; Subsection 63G-3-601(3); Article IV) : 

Section 58-60-501 Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) 

Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)  

  

11. This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references  (a copy of 
materials incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Division of Administrative Rules; if none, leave blank): 

First Incorporation Second Incorporation 

Official Title of Materials
Incorporated (from title page)

  

Publisher   



Date Issued   

Issue, or version   

ISBN Number (optional)   

ISSN Number (optional)   

Cost of Incorporated Reference   

Action: Adds, updates, or removes   

(If this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please attach additional pages) 

12. The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also request a 
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. The agency is required to hold a hearing if it receives requests 
from ten interested persons or from an association having not fewer than ten members. Additionally, the request must be 
received by the agency not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in the Utah State Bulletin.  See Section 
63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.) 

A) Comments will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on (mm/dd/yyyy): 01/14/2015 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On (mm/dd/yyyy):   At (hh:mm AM/PM): At (place): 

01/07/2015 8:30 AM 160 East 300 South, Hearing Room 403 (4th 
floor), Salt Lake City, Utah 

   

   

   

13. This rule change may become effective on (mm/dd/yyyy):  01/21/2015 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY become effective. It is NOT the effective date. After the date 
designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must  submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of Administrative 
Rules to make this rule effective. Failure to submit a Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule lapsing and will 
require the agency to start the rulemaking process over. 

14. Indexing information -- keywords (maximum of four, in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper 
nouns (e.g., "Medicaid"); may not include the name of the agency: 

licensing substance use disorder counselors 

  

15. Attach an RTF document containing the text of this rule change 
(filename): 

R156-60d.pro 

To the agency:  Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301, 302, 303, and 402. Incomplete forms 
will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in the Utah State Bulletin, and delaying the first 
possible effective date. 

AGENCY AUTHORIZATION 
Agency head or 
designee, and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, Director  Date 
(mm/dd/yyyy):

11/20/2014 

eRules v. 2: ProposedRule.doc  09/03/2009 (http://www.rules.utah.gov/agencyresources/forms/ProposedRule.doc) 
 



R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 

R156-60d.  Substance Use Disorder Counselor Act Rule. 

R156-60d-102.  Definitions. 

 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, as 

used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60 or this rule: 

 (1)  "Accredited institution of higher education that meet division 

standards", as used in Subsections 58-60-506(2)(a)(i) and (5)(a)(i), means 

an educational institution that has accreditation that is recognized by 

the Council for Higher Education Accreditation of the American Council on 

Education (CHEA). 

 (2)  "ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction Medicine Patient 

Placement Criteria. 

 (3)  "DSM-IV or 5" means the Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental 

Health Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association. 

 (4) "General supervision" means that the supervisor provides 

consultation with the supervisee by personal face to face contact, or 

direct voice contact by telephone or some other means within a reasonable 

time consistent with the acts and practices in which the supervisee is 

engaged. 

 (5)  "ICRC" means the International Certification and Reciprocity 

Consortium. 

 (6)  "Initial assessment" means the procedure of gathering psycho-

social information, which may include the application of the Addiction 

Severity Index, in order to recommend a level of treatment and to assist 

the mental health therapist supervisor in the information collection 

process and may include a referral to an appropriate treatment program. 

 (7)  "NAADAC" means the National Association of Alcohol and Drug 

Abuse Counselors. 

 (8)  "Prerequisite courses, as used in Subsection 58-60-

506(2)(a)(iii) and (5)(a)(iii) means courses completed before qualifying 

for licensure. 

 (9)  "SASSI" means Substance Abuse Subtle Screening Inventory. 

 (10)  "Screening", as used in Subsection 58-60-502(9)(b) and (10)(b), 

means a brief interview conducted in person or by telephone to determine 

if there is a potential substance abuse problem.  If a potential problem 

is identified, the screening may include a referral for an initial 

assessment or a substance use disorder evaluation.  The screening may also 

include a preliminary ASAM level recommendation in order to expedite the 

subsequent assessment and evaluation process.  Screening instruments such 

as the SASSI may be included in the screening process. 

 (11)  "Substance use disorder evaluation" means the process used to 

interpret information gathered from an initial assessment, other 

instruments as needed, and a face to face interview by a licensed mental 

health therapist in order to determine if an individual meets the DSM-IV 

or 5 criteria for substance abuse or dependence and is in need of 

treatment.  If the need for treatment is determined, the substance use 

disorder evaluation process includes the determination of a DSM-IV or 5 



diagnosis and the determination of an individualized treatment plan. 

 (12)  "Substance use disorder education program", as used in 

Subsection 58-60-506(2)(b) and (5)(b), means college or university 

coursework at an accredited institution. 

 (13)  "Unprofessional conduct," as defined in Title 58 Chapters 1 and 

60, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in 

Section R156-60d-502. 

 

R156-60d-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education Requirements. 

 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-60-506(2)(a)(iii) and 

(5)(a)(iii), [three]two prerequisite courses shall be completed at an 

accredited institution and shall cover the following subjects: 

 (a)  human development across the lifespan; and 

 (b)  general psychology. 

 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 58-60-506(5)(a)(ii), completion of 

the equivalent of an associate's degree includes not less than 90 quarter 

or 60 semester credit hours of course work from accredited institutions of 

higher education that have accreditation recognized by the Council for  

Higher Education Accreditation of the American Council on Education 

(CHEA). 

 

 

R156-60d-304.  Continuing Education. 

 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-60-105, there is created a 

continuing education requirement as a condition for renewal or 

reinstatement of a licensed advanced substance use disorder counselor, 

certified advanced substance use disorder counselor, licensed substance 

use disorder counselor, or a certified substance use disorder counselor 

issued under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 5. 

 (2)  Continuing education shall consist of 40 hours of education 

directly related to the licensee's professional practice.  A licensed 

advanced substance use disorder counselor and licensed substance use 

disorder counselor shall complete the requirement during each two year 

license renewal cycle. A certified advanced substance use disorder 

counselor and a certified substance use disorder counselor shall complete 

the requirement during each two year period following the date of initial 

licensure.  At least six of the 40 required hours must be in the area of 

professional ethics and responsibilities. 

 (3)  The required number of hours of continuing education for a 

licensed advanced substance use disorder counselor or a licensed substance 

use disorder counselor who first becomes licensed during the two year 

renewal cycle shall be decreased in a pro rata amount equal to any part of 

that two year renewal cycle preceding the date on which that individual 

first became licensed. 

 (4)  The standards for continuing education shall include: 

 (a)  a clear statement of purpose and defined objective for the 

educational program directly related to the practice of a substance use 



disorder counselor; 

 (b)  documented relevance to the licensee's professional practice; 

 (c)  a competent, well-organized, and sequential presentation 

consistent with the stated purpose and objective of the program; 

 (d)  preparation and presentation by individuals who are qualified by 

education, training, and experience; and 

 (e)  a competent method of registration of individuals who actually 

completed the continuing education program and records of that 

registration completion available for review. 

 (5)  Credit for continuing education shall be recognized in 

accordance with the following: 

 (a)  unlimited hours shall be recognized for continuing education 

completed in blocks of time of not less than 50 minutes in formally 

established classroom courses, seminars,  conferences, workshops, 

institutes, or in services; 

 (b)  a maximum of ten hours per two year period may be recognized for 

teaching in a college or university, or teaching continuing education 

courses in the field of substance use disorder counseling; and 

 (c)  a maximum of [six]15 hours per two year period may be recognized 

for distance learning, clinical readings or internet-based courses 

directly related to practice as a substance use disorder counselor. 

 (6)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent 

records of completed continuing education for a period of four years after 

close of the two year period to which the records pertain.  It is the 

responsibility of the licensee to maintain such information with respect 

to continuing education to demonstrate it meets the requirements under 

this section. 

 (7)  A licensee who documents he is engaged in full time activities 

or is subjected to circumstances which prevent that licensee from meeting 

the continuing education requirements established under this section may 

be excused from the requirement for a period of up to five years.  

However, it is the responsibility of the licensee to document the reasons 

and justify why the requirement could not be met. 

 

 

KEY:  licensing, substance use disorder counselors 

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [November 21, 2013]2015 

Notice of Continuation:  January 31, 2011 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-60-501; 58-1-

106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 


