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Administrative Rule Analysis 


'" The agency identified below in box I provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 630-3-30 I. 

'" Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency. 

'" The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints. 

'" The full text of all rule filings may also be at the Division Rules . 

1. 	 Agency: ....,...,.wmli\CoJ!l:lll~E~~lDivision ofg(;~l:':pational ..and Professiolll!I.~Icensing 
" "" "'"',,~,, .~, •• q. -", " ••" ,,,.. ' ,,-, - - - - -----,,--. - ----- """"""" " '" , , 

Room no.: 


Building: Het>~~~;.WellsBuilding 


.. Street address 1: 

Street address 2: 

City, s!~t~~~ip:. 
'~~~-"-""," . '~', "', _·k 

.MajJ!.n~':~~f:~:Tl: 
,~~i~W~:ad~!~.~~;,~::: . 

.Si~~s,!!I!~~' ~ip: 

160 East 300 South 

.	Contact person(~):. 

Name: 

Dane Ishihara 

Division of Administrative, Rules during business hO\Jr~) 

2. 	 Title of rule or secti0n.JcatEhline); 

Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act Rule 

3. 	 '.Type of notice: 

New _; Amendment XXX; Repeal . Repeal and Reenact 

4. 	 Purpose of the rule or r~ason for the change: 

. The Division and Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Board reviewed this rule and determined the following 
changes need to be made. The purpose of this filing is to: (I) allow licensees to roll over up to 10 hours of continuing 
education; and (2) remove the National Counseling Examination of the National Board for Certified Counselors as a 
requirement for licensure. The Board determined that the National Clinical Mental Counseling Examination of the 

Board for Certified Counselors adequately evaluates an applicant's knowledge and two examinations are not 

5.This(:~al1g~. is a resl!onse to. c0'!lment~Jr~rn~!h.~ Adm!lllst.~~.!.ive Rules Review Committ,ee. 



6. 

7. 

8. 

9. 

IINo XXX; Yes 

Sum~rn~~ry of t~e ..t:lIle,!lr ~~~nge: .. 
V?,~0:,;;;;<::;;;", ",~, "'~~' /;;:;:;::;:';;::':;;;;:::h;~~ Vv~''''<)Vh ~/PN'??,,,, 

:l)Section 302c: The National Counseling Examination of the National Board for Certified Counselors is removed as a 
1!lrequirement for licensure. Section 304: Amendments to this section allow a licensee to use up to ten hours of excess 

continuing education hours in the next two-year renewal cycle. Also, new language clarifies that education completed . 
prior to receivin~t~;g~r.}icense may .not be lI~~~,t() .~~tiscf?:'.tch~£ontinuinge~~~a,tion requirements. '.. 

Aggreg~l~;e,l1ticip~~~d cost or savings .to: 

A) State budget: 

The Division will incur minimal costs of approximately $75.00 to print and distribute the rule once the proposed 

amendments ,are .made effective. Any£osts incurred ';Viii be absorbed in the Qivision:.s£!lrrent budget. 


B)~oc~al government: 

AUected: 

The proposed amendments apply only to licensees in Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 4, the Clinical Mental Health Counselor 
Licensing Act, and applicants for licensure in those classifications. As a result, the proposed amendments do not apply 

. to local governments. 

C)Small businessesi~"small business" means a business empl~yin~few~r tha~ 5~persons): 

AUected: No XXX; Yes_ 
'" ,« 

The proposed amendments apply only to licensees in Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 4, the Clinical Mental Health Counselor 
Licensing Act, and applicants for licensure in those classifications. As a result, the proposed amendments do not apply 

. to small businesses. 

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character other than 

';llJ1 agency): 

AUected:No _; Yes XXX 

The proposed amendments should have no increased compliance cost or impact for clinical mental health counselors or 
associate clinical mental health counselors. Due to the addition of the ability of licensees to carry over up to 10 hours of 
excess continuing education hours, there may be a cost saving to a licensee because the licensee may save costs by not 
having to take additional continuing education courses in a particular two-year renewal period. Due to a wide range of 
circumstances with respect to obtaining continuing education hours, these savings cannot be estimated. It should also 
be noted that applicants for licensure as a clinical mental health counselor will also save an examination fee of $195.00 
by not b~i~~~~q~!i!~d to take a second natiopal examination. No fiscal impact to <lIlY other persons is anticipated. 

Compliance c<:'~!~z!or aUect~d persons: • 

The proposed amendments should have no increased compliance cost or impact for clinical mental health counselors or 
associate clinical mental health counselors. Due to the addition of the ability of licensees to carry over up to 10 hours of 
excess continuing education hours, there may be a cost saving to a licensee because the licensee may save costs by not 
having to take additional continuing education courses in a particular two-year renewal period. Due to a wide range of 
circumstances with respect to obtaining continuing education hours, these savings cannot be estimated. It should also 
be noted that applicants for licensure as a clinical mental health counselor wiJJ also save an examination fee of $195.00 
by not being req~ired to take a sec~~~.~~tional examination. 

A) Comments by the dep.!lrtment head on the ~scal impact the rule may have on businesses: 

This filing modifies the clinical mental health counselor and associate clinical mental health counselor continuing 
education requirement so as to allow excess hours that are completed in one licensing period to count toward the 
subsequent licensing period. In addition, the filing eliminates a license examination that the Clinical Mental Health 
Counselors Licensing Board considers unnecessary. It is anticipated that individuals applying for licensure and license 
.~~!l~'Nal will e~p~ri€:ncesa,:Y!I1~gs fr<?!!!.!.~is.~~~lIce.qx~g':llatioll: ,N'.o .fls.ca\ impact to businessesis anticipated . 

• '7~iE;f!1.e,~~~~i!ti;';Lde;~~t~~ent:~~;d"~~~;;~ti~g"()~ ...!.~.e~!!s£;rI';'·eil~!~: . 
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Francine A. Giani,. E,~~~~utiveQi~~~~()r 

10 This rule change is authorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interprets the following state and 
'i;federallaws. 

;'~~~~:~<;~!m~Ic'C~?~~~t~ut~~~,~!!:~~(),n,~;~~~ui~~~);(~;~;!S7~~~,~n 63G-3-4?~i~~bsection ;c"~: :';:"~:': 
'S~~ti~~58~604oi ,-'" . ~~"" ,~. ".m, ., ,,,,,,, ""!Subsection 5~~I,~lo,~~})(a) 

Subsection 58-1-20tJI)(a) 

II 	. This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references (a copy of 

ma~e~i~I~••."3corpor~!~g,~ ,re~(lr.~?ge ml:l~~:~~~~~~i!t~d to. !~e.Ri~~j~~7¥k~gTinistrative.. lt:tlles;if}Jone, leave blank): 

First Incorporation Second Incorporation 

Official Title of Materials 
Incorporated (fro~ titJe~~J.~);: 

Publisher" 
Date I~~;;dl; 

Issue, or version. 


ISBN Number (optional) 

...~ •• ~,., m' :&".' """,;",0,,: \'" , 0 

Action: Adds, updates, or removes 

(Ift~is rule inc?Torates more than two item~.?y reference, please attach additional pages) 

12 The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1. (The public may also request a 
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. The agency is required to hold a hearing if it receives requests 
from ten interested persons or from an association having not fewer than ten members. Additionally, the request must 
be received by the agency not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in the Utah State Bulletin. See 
Section 63G-3-302 and ~.!:Il~,~15-1 for more infof!Tlati~n:) ...• ,,,.,. 

B) ,A 

:iQ~.;~~dd/~!: 
.. ;(09115/20 15 

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY become effective. It is NOT the effective date. After the 
date designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of 

. Administrative Rules to make this rule effective. Failure to submit a Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule 
"~~p~~~g~nd will reql!irethe a~~~cyto start the rulemaking p:~cess over. 

14 !(;Indexi~g informati~'n -- keywords (maximum offour, in 10~er case, except f~r acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper 
,nouns (e.g., "M~~~c.~i~:~); m~~"C~~t include the name ofth~~~ency: . 

'licensing counselors 
, . ;",- ,'W':'~'\:""':~ ~~_ :. 	 , _ ., n, .,""" ",." .. .., , .., 

mental health 	 clinical mental health counselor 

15' ·Attach an RTF document containing the text of this rule change RI56-60c.pro 
(filename): 



" 

To the agency: Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301. 302, 303, and 402. Incomplete 
forms will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in theUtah State Bulletin, and delaying 
the first possible effective date. 

AGENCY AUTHORIZATION 
~g:~~~h!f;;=rw/;?i~..iii,~~I~:te .. 

designee, a,nd title:·,MH 'YLJ'2 ;~~Cr~:"';rr:,m;/~~;::}S",.,... "',' ,," 


eRule,J, 2: ProposedRule,doc 09/03/2009 (http://www.rules.utah.gov/agencyresourceslfonnsfProposedRule.doc) 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/agencyresourceslfonnsfProposedRule.doc


R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-60c. Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-60c-302c. Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirem.ents . 

[(l) ]Under Subsection 58-60-405(1) (g) I an applicant for 
licensure as a clinical mental health counselor [mttSt]shall pass 
the [following exantination~. 

(a) the National Coun~eling Examination of the National 
Board for Certified CouIl~elor~, and 

(b) the ]National Clinical Mental Health Counseling 
Examination of the National Board for Certified Counselors. 

R156-60c-304. Continuing Education. 
(1) There is hereby established a continuing education 

requirement for all individuals licensed under Title 58, Chapter 
60, Part 4, as a clinical mental health counselor and [licen~ed 
]associate clinical mental health counselor. 

(2) During each two year period commencing October 1st of 
each even numbered year, a clinical mental health counselor or 
licensed associate clinical mental health counselor shall 
complete at least [be required to conlplete not fewel:: than ] 40 
hours of continuing education directly related to the licensee's 
professional practice of which at least [a minimum of] six hours 
shall[mttSt] be [completed ]in ethics/law. 

(3) The required number of hours of continuing education 
for an individual who first becomes licensed during the two year 
period shall be decreased [in a Pl::O rata amount equal to a:rry part 
of that two :tear pel::iod preceding the date on which that 
individttal fil::~t became licen~ed]proportionally! according to the 
date of licensure. 

(4) Continuing education under this section shall: 
(a) be relevant to the licensee's professional practice; 
(b) be prepared and presented by individuals who are 

qualified by education, training and experience to provide 
continuing education regarding clinical mental health counseling; 
and 

(c) [have a method of verification of] document and verify 
attendance and completion. 

(5) Credit for continuing education shall be recognized in 
accordance with the following: 

(a) unlimited hours shall be recognized for continuing 
education completed in blocks of time of [not le~~ than]at least 
one hour in formally established classroom courses, seminars, or 
conferences; 

(b) . a maximum of 10 hours per two year period may be 
recognized for teaching in a college or university, teaching 
qualified continuing education courses in the field of clinical 
mental health counseling, or [~upervi~ion]supervising of an 
individual completing [h±s]the experience requirement for 
licensure in a mental health therapist license classification; 

http:Requirem.en


and 
(c) a maximum of 10 hours per two year period may be 

recognized for distance learning, clinical readings, or internet­
based courses directly related to practice as a clinical mental 
health counselor [unless]or as otherwise approved by the 
Division. 

(6) A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining 
competent records of completed continuing education for [a pe~iod 
ef]at least four years after close of the two year period to 
which the records pertain. It is the responsibility of the 
licensee to maintain such information with respect to continuing 
education to demonstrate it meets the requirements under this 
section. 

(7) A licensee who documents [he is]having engaged in full­
time activities or is subjected to circumstances [which]that 
prevent [that]the licensee from meeting the continuing education 
requirements established under this Section may be excused from 
the requirement for a period of up to three years. However, it 
is the responsibility of the licensee to document the reasons and 
justify why the requirement could not be met. 

(S) If a licensee completes more than the regyired number 
of continuing education hours during a two-year renewal cycle 
specified in Subsection (2) ( up to ten hours of the excess may be 
carried over to the next two-year renewal cycle. 

(9) No education received prior to licensure in Utah may be 
used towards the continuing education regyirements of Subsection 
~ 

KEY: licensing, counselors, mental health, clinical mental 
health counselor 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [No~ember 13, 
2-&12-]2015 
Notice of Continuation: December 9, 2014 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-60-401; 58­
1-106 (1) (a); 58-1-202 (1) (a) 


