State of Utah
Administrative Rule Analysis

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

* The agency identified below in box 1 provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-3-30)1.
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency.

* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints.

* The full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DAR file no: Date filed:
State Admin Rule Filing Id: Time filed:

Agency No. Rule No. Section No.
Utah Admin. Code Ref (R no.): R 156 - 60b -

Changed to Admin. Code Ref. (R no.): R - -

1. |Agency: Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Room no.:
Building: Heber M. Wells Building
Street address 1; 160 East 300 South
Street address 2:
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84111-2316
Mailing address 1: PO Box 146741
Mailing address 2:
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741
Contact person(s):
Name: Phone: Fax: E-mail:
Rich Oborn 801-530-6767 | 801-530-6511 roborn@utah.gov

(Interested persons may inspect this filing at the above address or at the Division of Administrative Rules dueisg) Hnis)

2. | Titleof ruleor section (catchline)

Marriage and Family Therégt Licensing Act Rule
3. |Typeof notice:

New _ ; Amendment XXX; Repeal _ ; Repeal and Reenact
4. Purpose of theruleor reason for the change:

During the 2013 General Legislative Session, H.B. 56 was passed which amended provisions ofae &fatr

Family Therapist Licensing Act. As a result, the Dmsand the Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Board are
now proposing amendments to this rule to comply wighpttovisions of H.B. 56. Additional amendments are also
being proposed as requested by the MarraagkFamily Therapist Licensing Board.

5. |Thischangeisaresponseto comments from the Administrative Rules Review Committee.
No XXXX; Yes
6. Summary of theruleor change:



10.

Section 102: In Paragraph (2), the term "directly relatedaiage and family therapy" is defined. During the last
renewal cycle, the Division received several questions frenagists about what constituteatourse that was "directly
related to marriage and family therapy". As a result, the Board recommended that the Divisard&fihe the term.
Adding this paragraph required renumbering of the reimgiparagraphs. Section 302b: H.B. 56 removed the phrase
"face to face" from Subsection 58-60-30f%{}lwhere the license grirement to complete héess than 100 hours of
supervision is established. As a result, this filing removes the phrase "face to facéiefrote. Subparagraph (1)(€)
is amended to clarify the intent of the experience requént. Section 304: In Sulmagraph (5)(c), the maximum
number of contact hours of continuing education recognized for clinical readings, internet, or distaunug d®urses

is increased from ten to 15. The Board recommended this amendment upon review of requasenees [practicirng
in rural Utah. Section 502: In paragraph (16) incorporation of the July 1, 2@idhedithe Code of Ethics of the
American Association for Marriage andriisy Therapy (AAMFT) replaces incorpation of the July 2001 version.

The 2012 version adds two paragraphs: Subprinciple 1.Jdhwhdresses online therapy, and Subprinciple 2.7, which
addresses the protectionadéctronic information.

Aggregate anticipated cost or savingsto:
A) State budget:
Affected: No_  ; Yes XX
The Division will incur minimacosts of approximately $100 to reprinidadistribute the rule once the proposed
amendments are made effective. Any costs incuritéhe absorbed in the Division's current budget.
B) Local gover nment:
Affected: No XXX; Yes
The proposed amendments only appliidcensed marriage and family therapiatal applicants for licensure as a
marriage and family therapist. As a result, the proposed amendments do not apply to local gésvernme
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business employing fewer than 50 persons)
Affected: No XXXX Yes
The proposed amendments only appliidcensed marriage and family therapisisd applicants for licensure in that

classification. Licensees and applicafatslicensure may work in a small bosss; however, the proposed amendments
would not directly affect the business.

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person” means any individual,
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entiglaic or private organization of any character other than
an agency)

Affected: No Yes XXXXX

The proposed amendments only applliidcensed marriage and family therapistsd applicants for licensure in that
classification. Increasing the maximum number of contagtdiof continuing educatiorecognized for clinical
readings, internet, or distance learning courses from t&b i®likely to result in a cost savings to licensees that
complete continuing education via distance methods. Licensees practicing in rural Utah areBiegfitdhe most
from this amendment because they trdmefjer distances to attend live coursBale to a wide range of circumstances,
the Division cannot quantify anticipated savings to licensees.

Compliance costs for affected persons:

The proposed amendments only appllidensed marriage and family therapistsd applicants for licensure in that
classification. Increasing the maximum number of contaatiof continuing educatiorecognized for clinical
readings, internet, or distance learning courses from t&h imlikely to result in a cost savings to licensees that
complete continuing education via distance methods. Licensees practicing in rural Utah arebikedfitdhe most
from this amendment because they trdmefjer distances to attend live coursBale to a wide range of circumstances,
the Division cannot quantifyanticipated savings to licensees.

A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses.

This rule filing provides a definition regarding continuing education courses and clarifies and updates other existing
provisions. While licensees may experience savings from being allowed to complete mgrttudation courses

online, no fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated.

B) Name and title of department head commenting on the fiscal impacts:

Francine A. Giani, Executive Director

Thisrule changeisauthorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interpretsthefollowing state and

federal laws.
State code or constitution citations (required) (e.g., Section 63G-3-402; Subsection 63G-3-601(3); Article V)



Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)
Section 58-60-301

11. | Thisrule adds, updates, or removesthe following title of materialsincorporated by references (a copy of
materials incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Division of Administrativeifhdes; leave blank):

First Incor poration Second I ncorporation
Official Title of Materials Code of Ethics of the American

Incorporated (from title page) Association for Marriage and
Family Therapy

Publisher|/American Association for Marriagz2
and Family Therapy

Date I ssued
I'ssue, or version July 1, 2012
ISBN Number (optional)
I SSN Number (optional)
Cost of Incorporated Reference
Action: Adds, updates, or removes Updates
(If this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please attach additional pages)

12. |The public may submit written or oral commentsto the agency identified in box 1. (The public may also request a
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. Thepgdgenrequired to hold a heag if it receives requests
from ten interested persons or from an association haginfpwer than ten members. Additionally, the request must be
received by the agency not more than 15 days after thecatidti of this rule in the @h State Bulletin. See Section
63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.)

A) Comments will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on (mm/dd/yyyy) 12/16/2013

B) A public hearing (optional) will be held:

On (mm/dd/yyyy) At (hh:mm AM/PM) At (place)

12/13/2013 9:00 AM 160 East 300 South, Conference Room 474,

Salt Lake City, Utah

13.  Thisrule change may become effective on (mm/dd/yyyy) 12/23/2013

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule NM&¥ome effective/. It is NOthe effective date. After the
date designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of
Administrative Rules to make this rule effective. Failureubmit a Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule
lapsing and will require the agentrystart the rulemaking process over.

14. ' Indexing information -- keywor ds (maximum of four, in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper
nouns (e.g., "Medicaid"); may notclude the name of the agency

licensing therapists
marriage and family therapist

15. | Attach an RTF document containing the text of thisrule change R156-60b.pro
(filename)

Totheagency: Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301, 302, 303, and 402. Incomplgte forms
will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication WitéheState Bulletin, and delaying the firs:
possible effective date.

AGENCY AUTHORIZATION



Agency head or Mark B. Steinagel, Director Date 10/9/2013
designee, and title: (mm/dd/yyyy)
eRules v. 2: ProposedRule.doc 09/03/2009 (http://wmbes.utah.gov/agencyresaaes/forms/ProposedRule.doc)



R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-60b. Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act Rule.
R156-60b-102. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, as
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, or this rule:

(1) "AAMFT" means the American Association for Marriage and Family
Therapy.
(2) "Directly related to marriage and family therapy", as used in

R156-60b-304 (2) (a), means that the continuing education course meets at
least one of the following criteria:

(a) approved by an international, national, or state marriage and
family therapy association, national or state marriage and family therapy
regulatory board, or a COAMFTE accredited program; or

(b) title, objective, or official description of the course
indicates instruction on relationships, couples, or families.

([2]3) "Face to face supervision" as described in Subsection R156-
60b-302a (1) (b) (ii) (G) includes both individual and group supervision.

([3]4) "Group supervision" means supervision between the supervisor
and no more than three supervisees, unless preapproved by the Board.

([4]5) "Individual supervision" means supervision between the
supervisor and one or two supervisees.

([&]16) "Practicum", as used in R156-60b-302a (1) (b) (ii) (G) means a

clinical program of training at an accredited school under general
supervision in a setting other than a student's private practice.

([&]17) "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, Chapters 1
and 60, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1) (e),
in Section R156-60b-502.

R156-60b-302b. Qualifications for Licensure - Experience Requirements.

(1) Pursuant to Subsections 58-60-305(1) (e) and (f), an applicant
shall complete marriage and family therapy and mental health therapy
training consisting of a minimum of 4,000 hours of supervised training
which shall:

(a) Dbe completed in not less than two years;

(b) Dbe completed while the applicant is an employee of a public or
private agency engaged in mental health therapy;

(c) Dbe completed under the supervision of a marriage and family
therapist supervisor meeting the requirements under Section 58-60-307;

(d) include at least 100 hours of [elinteal faece+to Ffaece]ldirect
supervision spread uniformly throughout the training period;
(e) in accordance with Subsection 58-60-305(1) (f), include a minimum

of 1,000 hours of mental health therapy of which at least 500 hours are in
couple or family therapy with two or more clients participating and at
least one physically present; and

(f) hours completed in a group therapy session may count only if the
supervisee functions as the primary therapist.

(2) An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist,




who is not seeking licensure by endorsement based upon licensure in
another jurisdiction, who has completed all or part of the marriage and
family therapy training requirements outside the state, may receive credit
for that training completed outside of the state if it is demonstrated by
the applicant that the training completed outside the state is equivalent
to and in all respects meets the requirements for training under
Subsections 58-60-305(1) (e) and (f), and Subsection R156-60b-302b(1l). The
applicant shall have the burden of demonstrating by evidence satisfactory
to the Division and Board that the training completed outside the state is
equivalent to and in all respects meets the requirements under this
subsection.

R156-60b-304. Continuing Education.

(1) In accordance with Section 58-60-105, there is hereby
established a continuing education requirement for all individuals
licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 3, as a marriage and family
therapist.

(2) During each two year period commencing October 1lst of each even
numbered year, a marriage and family therapist shall be required to
complete not fewer than 40 hours of continuing education directly related
to the licensee's professional practice of which:

(a) at least 15 hours must be directly related to marriage and
family therapy; and
(b) at least six hours must be in ethics/law, of which at least three
hours must be directly related to marriage and family therapy.

(3) The required number of hours of continuing education for an
individual who first becomes licensed during the two year period shall be
decreased in a pro-rata amount equal to any part of that two year period
preceding the date on which that individual first became licensed.

(4) Continuing education under this section shall:

(a) Dbe relevant to the licensee's professional practice;

(b) Dbe prepared and presented by individuals who are qualified by
education, training, and experience to provide continuing education
relevant to the practice of a mental health therapist; and

(c) have a method of verification of attendance and completion.

(5) Credit for continuing education shall be recognized in
accordance with the following:
(a) unlimited hours shall be recognized for continuing education

completed in blocks of time of not less than one hour in formally
established classroom courses, seminars, or conferences which meet the
criteria listed in Subsection (4) above, and which are approved by,
conducted by, or under the sponsorship of universities, colleges or
professional associations, societies and organizations representing a
licensed profession whose program objectives relate to the practice of
mental health therapy:;

(b) a maximum of 14 hours per two year period may be recognized for:

(1) teaching courses under Subsection (5) (a); or



(ii) supervision of an individual completing the experience
requirement for licensure as a mental health therapist;

(c) a maximum of [+er]1l5 hours per two year period may be recognized
for clinical readings, internet or distance learning courses directly
related to practice as a mental health therapist; and

(d) a maximum of two hours per two year period may be for continuing
education from the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.

(6) A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent
records of completed continuing education for a period of four years.

(7) A licensee requesting a waiver of the continuing education
requirement must comply with requirements as established by rule in R156-
1-308d.

(8) If a licensee completes more than the required number of hours
of continuing education during a two year renewal cycle specified in
Subsection (2), up to ten hours of the excess over the required number may
be carried over to the next two year renewal cycle. No education received
prior to a license being granted may be carried forward to apply towards
the continuing education required after the license is granted.

R156-60b-502. Unprofessional Conduct.

"Unprofessional conduct”" includes:

(1) acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision of a supervisor
without complying with or ensuring the compliance with the requirements of
Sections R156-60b-302d and R156-60b-302e;

(2) engaging in the supervised practice of mental health therapy
when not in compliance with Subsections R156-60b-302b;

(3) engaging in and aiding or abetting conduct or practices which
are dishonest, deceptive or fraudulent;

(4) engaging in or aiding or abetting deceptive or fraudulent

billing practices;

(5) failing to maintain professional boundaries with a client within
two years after the formal termination of therapy or last professional
contact, with or without client consent, including engaging in any of the
following:

(a) dual or multiple relationships; or

(b) romantic, intimate or sexual relationship;

(6) 1if engaging in any activity or relationship referenced in
Subsection (5) with a client after two years following the formal
termination of therapy or last professional contact, failing to
demonstrate that there has been no exploitation or injury to the client or
to the client's immediate family;

(7) engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with client's
relatives or other individuals with whom the client maintains a
relationship when that individual is especially vulnerable or susceptible
to being disadvantaged because of the personal history, current mental
status, or any condition which could reasonably be expected to place that
individual at a disadvantage recognizing the power imbalance which exists



or may exist between the marriage and family therapist and that
individual;

(8) physical contact with a client when there is a risk of
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact;
(9) engaging in or aiding or abetting sexual harassment or any

conduct which is exploitive or abusive with respect to a student, trainee,
employee, or colleague with whom the licensee has supervisory or
management responsibility;

(10) failing to render impartial, objective, and informed services,
recommendations or opinions with respect to custodial or parental rights,
divorce, domestic relationships, adoptions, sanity, competency, mental
health or any other determination concerning an individual's civil or
legal rights;

(11) exploiting a client for personal gain;

(12) wuse of a professional client relationship to exploit a person
that is known to have a personal relationship with a client for personal
gain;

(13) failing to maintain appropriate client records for a period of
not less than ten years from the documented termination of services to the
client;

(14) failing to obtain informed consent from the client or legal
guardian before taping, recording or permitting third party observations
of client care or records;

(15) failure to cooperate with the Division during an investigation;
and

(16) failure to abide by provisions 1 to 8.8 of the Code of Ethics
of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) as
adopted by the AAMFT effective July 1, [2864]2012, which is adopted and
incorporated by reference.

KEY: licensing, therapists, marriage and family therapist

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [Aagust—22—2011]2013
Notice of Continuation: August 31, 2009

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-1-106(1) (a); 58-1-
202 (1) (a) ; 58-60-301



