State of Utah
Administrative Rule Analysis

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

* The agency identified below in box 1 provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-3-30)1.
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency.

* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints.

* The full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DAR file no: Date filed:
State Admin Rule Filing Id: Time filed:

Agency No. Rule No. Section No.
Utah Admin. Code Ref (R no.): R 156 - 60a -

Changed to Admin. Code Ref. (R no.): R - -

1. |Agency: Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Room no.:
Building: Heber M. Wells Building
Street address 1; 160 East 300 South
Street address 2:
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84111-2316
Mailing address 1: PO Box 146741
Mailing address 2:
City, state, zip: Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741
Contact person(s):
Name: Phone: Fax: E-mail:
Rich Oborn 801-530-6767 | 801-530-6511 roborn@utah.gov

(Interested persons may inspect this filing at the above address or at the Division of Administrative Rules dueisg) Hnis)

2. | Titleof ruleor section (catchline)

Social Worker Licensing Act Rule
3. |Typeof notice:

New _ ; Amendment XXX; Repeal _ ; Repeal and Reenact
4. Purpose of theruleor reason for the change:

The Division and the Soci&Vorker Licensing Board reviewed the rule atelermined it was necessary to modify the
social worker examination and licensed clinisatial worker (LCSWjraining requirements.

5. |Thischangeisaresponse to comments from the Administrative Rules Review Committee.
No XXX; Yes
6. Summary of theruleor change:



Section 302c: The current rule requires applicants for tH@\l.Gcense to hold a certified social worker (CSW) license
while they gather 4,000 hours of training. The prop@sedndment creates two exceptions to this requirement. The
first exception is for an individual who is not licensed &SaV in Utah because the indivial is under an exemption
established in Subsection 58-1-307(1)(a) for an individual who works at a federal agency amtlogheed in another
state. The second exception is for an individual who gathers training hours outside Utafsdiciipn where the
individual holds either a license equivalent to the CSW taised without a license under the laws of that jurisdiclion.
Section 302d: Paragraph (4) is removed because the Division is removing itself from the exam pre-appesgal pr
Under the new process, the Associatibisocial Work Boards (ASWB) detemes who takes the ASWB exam. The
new process will dramatically decrease the number of daya swtial worker license application is pending with the
Division.
Aggregate anticipated cost or savingsto:
A) State budget:

Affected: No __ ; Yes XXX

Administering the pre-approval process for the ASWB exastsadits Division staff from their primary responsibility

of processing social worker license applications. Aesalt, the Division will experience savings impact due to

removing itself from the exam pre-approval processes under amendments to Section 302c. The Divisilentds ur a
estimate the extent of savings impact cause by this amendment. The Division will incur minimal costs of approximately
$100.00 to print and distribute the rule once the proposeddments are made effective. Any costs incurred will be
absorbed in the Division's current budget. No other cost impact to the Division is anticipated.

B) Local gover nment:
Affected: No XXX; Yes

The proposed amendments apply only to social worker license applicants. As a result, the prapu®eérisido not
apply to local governments.

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business employing fewer than 50 persons)
Affected: No __ ; Yes XXX

The proposed amendments impact sosi@lker license applicants, who mawn a small business. Removing the

Division from the ASWB exarpre-approval process has cimspact on applicants in Utaeeking to register for the

ASWB exam. ASWB charges candidates a $60.00 fee torpesgervices related to the exam pre-approval process.

The Division is unable to determine aggregate cost to social worker applisasince the Division does not know hpow
many new applicants will be applying to take the ASWBm»and will thus be subject to the $60.00 fee Creation of

the two exceptions to the requirement for individuals to hold a CSW license while they fulfill the LCSW training
requirement will have savings impact on individuals who fall under the exceptions. The Division is unable to estimate
the extent of savings impact caused by this amendment.

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person” means any individual,
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entiglaic or private organization of any character other than
an agency)

Affected: No __ ; Yes XXX

The proposed amendments impact sowialker license applicants. Remogithe Division from the ASWB exam pre-
approval process has cost impact opligants in Utah seeking to regisfer the ASWB exam. ASWB charges
candidates a $60.00 fee to perform services relate@ &x#m pre-approval procesEhe Division is unable to

determine an aggregate cost to social worker applisarts the Division does not know how many new applicants will
be applying to take the ASWB exam and will thus be subject to the $60.00 fee Creation of the two exceptions to the
requirement for individuals to hold a CSW license whikytfulfill the LCSW training requirement will have savings
impact on individuals who fall under the exceptions. The i unable to estimate the extent of savings impact
caused by this amendment.

Compliance costsfor affected persons:

The proposed amendments impact sosialker license applicants. Remogithe Division from the ASWB exam pre-
approval process has cost impact opligants in Utah seeking to regisfer the ASWB exam. ASWB charges
candidates a $60.00 fee to perform services related to dne @ne-approval proces<Lreation of the two exceptions
to the requirement for individuals to hold a CSW licenbkde they fulfill the LCSW training requirement will have
savings impact on individuals who fall under the exceptidiee Division is unable to estimate the extent of savings
impact caused by this amendment.

A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:



10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

This filing eliminates existing examination requirements that the Division will no longer seek to enforce. In addlition, it
allows individuals who have not obtained a Utah certifiamadavorker license to submdin application for a clinical
social worker license if they have besgmproved by another state to work as &ifoedl social worker. It is anticipated
that these amendments will affect individuals segkitensure, with no fiscal impact to businesses.

B) Name and title of department head commenting on the fiscal impacts.
Francine A. Giani, Executive Director

Thisrule changeisauthorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interpretsthe following state and
federal laws.

State code or constitution citations (required) (e.g., Section 63G-3-402; Subsection 63G-3-601(3); Article V)
Section 58-60-201 Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a)
Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)

Thisrule adds, updates, or removesthe following title of materialsincorporated by references (a copy of
materials incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Division of Administrativeifhdes; leave blank):

First Incor poration Second I ncorporation

Official Titleof Materials
Incorporated (from title page)

Publisher

Date I ssued

I'ssue, or version

ISBN Number (optional)

I SSN Number (optional)

Cost of Incorporated Reference

Action: Adds, updates, or removes
(If this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please attach additional pages)

The public may submit written or oral commentsto the agency identified in box 1. (The public may also request a
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. Thewgdgenrequired to hold a heag if it receives requests

from ten interested persons or from an association hawginfpwer than ten members. Additionally, the request must be
received by the agency not more than 15 days after thecatidti of this rule in the @h State Bulletin. See Section
63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.)

A) Comments will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on (mm/dd/yyyy) 01/14/2015

B) A public hearing (optional) will be held:

On (mm/dd/yyyy) At (hh:mm AM/PM) At (place)

01/07/2015 8:30 AM 160 East 300 South, Hearing Room 403 (4th

floor), Salt Lake City, Utah

This rule change may become effective on (mm/dd/yyyy) 01/21/2015

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY imeceffective. It is NOT the effective date. After the (late
designated in Box 12(A) abovihie agency must submit a Notice of Effee Date to the Division of Administrative
Rules to make this rule effective. Failure to submit a MaticEffective Date will resuln this rule lapsing and will
require the agency to stdle rulemaking process over.

Indexing information -- keywor ds (maximum of four, in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper
nouns (e.g., "Medicaid"); may notclude the name of the agency

licensing socialorkers



15. | Attach an RTF document containing the text of thisrule change R156-60a.pro

(filename)
Totheagency: Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301, 302, 303, and 402. Incomplgte forms
will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication itdheState Bulletin, and delaying the firs:

possible effective date.
AGENCY AUTHORIZATION

Agency head or Mark B. Steinagel, Director Date 11/25/2014

designee, and title: (mm/dd/yyyy)
eRules v. 2: ProposedRule.doc 09/03/2009 (http://wmhes.utah.gov/agencyreseas/forms/ProposedRule.doc)



R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-60a. Social Worker Licensing Act Rule.
R156-60a-302c. Training Requirements for Licensure as an LCSW.

(1) In accordance with Subsections 58-60-205(1) (e), (f) and (g), and
58-60-202(4) (a), the 4,000 hours of clinical social work and mental health
therapy training qualifying an applicant for licensure as an LCSW shall:

([+]a) be obtained after completion of the education requirement set
forth in Subsections 58-60-205(1) (d) and (g) and shall not include any
clinical practicum hours obtained as part of the education program;

([2]b) be completed over a [ewratien]period of not less than two
years;

([3]c) wunless this Subsection (2) applies, be completed while the
applicant is licensed as a CSW;

([4]d) be completed while the [CSW—Ss—an—emptoyee—of]applicant is
employed by a public or private agency engaged in mental health therapy;

([5]le) Dbe completed under a program of general supervision by an
LCSW meeting the requirements of Sections R156-60a-302e and R156-60a-601;
and

([&]f) include the following training requirements:

([&]1) individual, family, and group therapy;

([B]ii) <crisis intervention;

([eliid) intermediate treatment; and

([¢]iv) long term treatment.

(2) An applicant may apply to the Division for an LCSW license
without complying with this Subsection (1) (c) if:

(a) the applicant qualifies for a license exemption under Subsection
58-1-307(1) (a),; or

(b) the applicant completed training in another jurisdiction, which
training is completed:

(i) while the applicant is licensed as the equivalent of a CSW; or

(ii) while the applicant is not required to be licensed while
engaged in the practice of certified social work.

R156-60a-302d. Examination Requirements.

(1) In accordance with Subsection 58-60-205(1) (h), the examination
requirements for licensure as an LCSW include passing the Clinical
Examination of the ASWB or the Clinical Social Workers Examination of the
State of California.

(2) In accordance with Subsection 58-60-205(2) (e), the examination
requirements for licensure as a CSW shall include passing the Masters,
Advanced Generalist, or Clinical Examination of the ASWB.

(3) In accordance with Subsection 58-60-205(4) (e), the examination
requirements for licensure as an SSW shall include passing the Bachelors
Examination of the ASWB.

(4)  |Apprieasts—fo
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&) ]Applicants requesting additional time to complete any ASWB exam
in accordance with Subsection 58-60-205(5) shall complete an ASWB

application for special arrangements approved by the Division.

KEY: licensing, social workers

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [Faly—9+—2012]2015
Notice of Continuation: August 4, 2014

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-60-201; 58-1-
106(1) (a); 58-1-202(1) (a)



