State of Utah
Administrative Rule Analysis

* The agency identified below in box | provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-3-301.
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency.

* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints.

* 'I'he full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules

; - Agency No. . ' Sec‘:tvioo”No.
Utah Admm Code Ref(R no.): ’;R 156 . } -

Changed to Admm Code Ref (R no.) R B

i ’Agency: S o CommercefDivisioﬁ of Occupational ‘aﬁd' PyrofessionaiVLVio‘eosing
Reom no | i E :
Building: | ) o o ‘ HeberM Wells Buil dmg
Street addreos l . 160 East 300 South
'Stre‘ektk‘addl‘-ess 2 B

City, state, zip:  Salt Lake Clty uT 84111-2316

" j,;PO Box 146741

Mailing address 1:

Mailing address 2: o

City state,zip:  Salt Lake City UT 84114-674]

‘Con‘t“f.‘;ot‘pers‘on(s): o | S ” -

Name | Phone Fax | E mall i

Steve bﬁncombe k L - 801-530-62351 801-530—651) sduncombe@utah gov

(Interested petsons may lnspect thls f'!lmg at the ab0ve address or at the Dw:smn of Admmastratwe Rutes durmg busmess hours)

2. Title of rule or section (catchline):

’Ellectrickians Licensing Act Rule ‘
3. Type of notice: . |

New __ ; Amendment XXX; Repeal _, Repeal and Reenact
4. Purpose of the rule or reason for the ’cbhange: o

This filing is recommended by the Electricians Licensing Board and the Construction Services Commission to promote
the progression of licensure and protect public health, safety and welfare. This change will benefit the apprentice who
‘has completed the required education to sit for the respective journeyman exams while the course material is most
‘germane and they are actlvely completing the remaining hours needed to fulfill the experience requirement.

S. Thls change is a response to comments from the Admmlstratwe Rules Revnew Commnttee
‘ ‘No XXX Yes



6.

_ Affected: “No XXX; Yes

The proposed amendments do not apply to local govemments The proposed amendments only apply to applicants
’ seektng licensure asa Journeyman electncran or resrdenttal journeyman electrxcran

Summary of the rule or change'

) Section R156- 55b- 302¢: Language is added under Subsection (2) aIIowmg apprentlce electrlclans who have completed
-the apprentice education program set forth in Subsection R156-55b- 302a, and not less than 6,000 hours of the
wexperience required under Subsection R156-55b-302b, to sit for the journeyman examinations. Likewise, this change
‘will allow apprentice electricians who have completed the apprentice education program set forth in Subsection

R156-55b-302a, and not less than 3,000 hours of the experience required under Subsection R156-55b- 302b, to sit for
the residential Journeyman examinations.

Aggregate antlclpated eost or savmgs to:

-A) State budget
- Affected: 'No Yes XXXX

The Division will incur mtmmal costs of approxrmate y $75 to reprmt and dtsmbute the rule once the proposed

‘amendments are made effectwe Any costs mcurred will be absorbed in the Dmsron s current budget

B) Local government.

C) Small busmesses ("small busmess means a busmess employmg fewer than 50 persons)

Affected No Yes XXX

"The proposed amendments may apply to small busmess The apprentice e]ecmcran that prevrously had to wait until all

of the education and experience requirements were met in order to sit for the appropriate exams will now have the
ability to sit for the exams after completing the education requirement and a majority of the required experience hours.
It is anticipated that allowing applicants to sit for the examinations as proposed will improve the opportunity for
licensure progression, promote industry growth, and encourage corresponding wage increases as the licensee becomes
more serviceable to current and potential employers. The aggregate impact cannot be estimated as it will vary
depending on the experience and aptitude of the apprentice electrician.

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entltles( ‘person” means any individual,
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character other than
an agency);

Affected:  No___ 5 Yes XXX

, The proposed amendments wi l onl y affect apprentxce elecmcxans who have completed the apprentlce educatlon

program set forth in Subsection R156-55b- 302a. It is expected that allowing applicants to sit for the examinations

‘as proposed should have a similar impact for applicable large business. The aggregate impact cannot be estimated as it
will vary depending on the experience and apntude of the apprenttee electrtetan

: Com phance costs for affected persons:.

The Division antrcrpates the amendment wrll 1mpact appremtce electricians who have met the educatron and experience
requirements of this proposal and seek licensure as a journeyman electrician or residential journeyman electrician. In
addition to promoting the timely progression of licensure, it is expected that this amendment will assist adequately
prepared applicants with passing the required licensure examinations. Similarly, an applicant should experience a cost
savings, resulting from fewer failed attempts and the subsequent necessary retakes. However, the Division is not able to
estrmate the 1nd1v1dua lmpact as 1t will vary dependmg on the experlence and aptltude of the apprentrce electrician.

Thrs amended rule permrts apprentlce elecmcrans to sit for the )oumeyman exarnmatlon and the remdentla journeyman
examination at an earlier date. The amended rule will likely result in a cost savings to apprentice electricians. An
indeterminate cost increase could be experienced by small business, if the earlier taking of the examinations results in
wage increases for apprentlces who demonstrate that they are more serviceable to current and potential employers.

B) Name and tltle of department head commenting on the ﬁscal lmpactS' |

Francme A. Glanl Executwe Director
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This rule change is authorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interprets the following state and
federal laws.
State code or constitution citations (required) (e.g., Section 63G-3-402; Subsection 63G-3-601(3); Article IV):

, Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) » ' Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a)

Subsection 58-55-308(1)

This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references (a copy of
materials incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Division of Administrative Rules; if none, leave blank):
First Incorporation Second Incorporation

Official Title of Materials
Incorporated (from title page)

Publisher

Date Issued

Issue, or version

ISBN Number (optional)

ISSN Number (optional)

Cost of Incorporated Reference

Actlon Adds, updates, or removes

(If this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please attach additional pages)

The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1. (The public may also request a
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. The agency is required to hold a hearing if it receives requests
from ten interested persons or from an association having not fewer than ten members. Additionally, the request must
be received by the agency not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in the Utah State Bulletin, See
Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.)

A) Comments will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on (mm/dd/yyyy} 10/31/2016
B) A public hearing (optional) will be held:
On (mm/ddlyyyy):  AtGhmmAMPMY: At (place):
10/20/12‘0116&\; - 9:00 AM o 160 East 300 South Conference Room

474, Salt Lake City, Utah

This rule change may become effective on (mm/dd/yyyy): 11/07/2016

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY become effective. It is NOT the effective date. After the
date designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of
Administrative Rules to make this rule effective. Failure to submit a Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule
lapsmg and will require the agency to start the rulemaking process over.

Indexmg information -- keywords (maximum of four, in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper
nouns (e.g., "Medlcald") may not lnclude the name of the agency:

occupanonal llcensmg 4 S ~.licensing
contractors ) a -electricians
‘Attach an RTF document containing the text of this rule change & R156-55b.pro

(filename):



To thé égénéy: Information requééféd on this form is required by Sections 63‘G-3-301, 302, 303; and 402. Incomplete'
forms will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in theUtah State Bulletin, and delaying
the first possible effective date.

- ~ AGENCY AUTHORIZATION
Agency heador - Date
designee, and title: (mm/dd/yyyy)
t ‘7/}3/9«, [7A

eRules v 2: ProfosedRule.doc 09/03/2009 (http://www rules.utah.gov/agencyresources/forms/ProposedRule.doc)



R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156-55b. Electricians Licensing Act Rule.
R156-55b-302c. Qualifications for Licensure - Examination Requirements.

(1) In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(1) (c) (i), an applicant
for licensure under this rule shall pass the appropriate examinations that
are approved by the Board, each of which shall consist of a theory part, a
code part and a practical part as follows:

(a) Utah Electrical Licensing Examination for Master Electricians;

(b) Utah Electrical Licensing Examination for Master Residential
Electricians;

(c) Utah Electrical Licensing Examination for Journeyman
Electricians; and

(d) Utah Electrical Licensing Examination for Residential Journeyman
Electricians.

(2) Admission to the examinations is permitted after:

(a) the applicant has completed all requirements for licensure set
forth in Sections R156-55b-302a and R156-55b-302b; or

(b) the journeyman applicant has completed:

(1) the apprentice education program set forth in Subsection R156-
55b-302a; and

(ii) not less than 6,000 hours of the experience required under
Subsection R156-55b-302b;

(c) the residential journeyman applicant has completed:

(i) the apprentice education program set forth in Subsection R156-
55b-302a; and

(ii) not less than 3,000 hours of the experience reguired under
Subsection R156-55b-302b.

(3) The applicant shall obtain a "pass" grade on the practical part
of the examination, a score of at least 75% on the theory part and a score
of at least 75% on the code part of the examination.

(4) (a) If an applicant fails one or more parts of the examination,
the applicant shall retake any part of the examination failed.

(b) An applicant shall wait at least 25 days between the first two
retakes and thereafter shall wait 120 days between retakes.

(5) If an applicant passes any part of the examination but does not
pass the entire examination, the passing score on any part of the
examination shall be valid for one year from the date the part of the
examination was passed. Thereafter, the applicant shall retake any
previously passed part of the examination.

KEY: occupational licensing, licensing, contractors, electricians

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [August—21,—2014]2016
Notice of Continuation: August 8, 2016

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-1-106(1) (a); 58-1-
202(1) (a) ; 58-55-308(1)




