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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

* The agency identified below in box 1 provides notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-3-301.
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency.

* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulletin unless excluded because of space constraints.

* The full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules.

DAR file no: 4“1\\9 Date filed: 2" 77 '2-0“.0

State Admin Rule Filing Id: Time filed:
Agency No, Rule No. Section No.
Utah Admin. Code Ref (R no.): iR 156 - ll37 -

Changed to Admin, Code Ref. (R no.):

Agency:

Room no.:
Building:

Street address 1:
Street address 2:
City, state, zip:
Mailing address 1:
Mailing address 2:
City, state, zip:
Contact person(s):
Name:

Dane Ishihara

R - =

Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Heber M. Wells Building
160 East 300 South

‘Salt Lake City UT 84111-2316

PO Box 146741

‘Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741

Phone: Fax: E-mail:
801-530-7632  801-530-6511 dishihara@utah.gov

(Interested persons may inspect this filing at the above address or at the Division of Administrative Rules during business hours)

‘2. Title of rule or section (catchline):

Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule
3. Type of notice:

New __ ; Amendment XXX; Repeal _ ; Repeal and Reenact
4. Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:

The Division and Utah State Board of Pharmacy reviewed this rule and determined the following changes need to be
made. The purpose of this filing is to: (1) establish a time frame within which an applicant for a controlled substance
license must obtain a Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration; (2) establish criteria that exclude particular
applicants from having to obtain a DEA registration; and (3) add failing to obtain a DEA registration in the specified
time period to unprofessional conduct.

5. This change is a response to comments from the Administrative Rules Review Committee.

No XXX; Yes



10

‘Summary of the rule or change:

Section 305, Paragraph (1): This new section is added to establish that an applicant for a controlled substance license
must obtain a DEA registration within 120 days of the date the controlled substance license is issued unless the
applicant is described in paragraph (2) of this section. Paragraph (2) is added to establish that an applicant who obtains
the prior written consent of their employer to use the employer's hospital or institution DEA registration to administer
and/or prescribe controlled substances, is not required to obtain an individual practitioner DEA registration. Section
306: This section is renumbered from R156-37-305 due to the addition of new section 305. Section 502: Paragraph (9)
is added to include failing to obtain a DEA registration within the time frame established in Section R156-37-305 to
unprofessional conduct.

Aggregate anticipated cost or savings to:
A) State budget:
Affected: ‘No __; Yes XXX

The Division will incur minimal costs of approximately $75.00 to print and distribute the rule once the proposed
amendments are made effective. Any costs incurred will be absorbed in the Division's current budget.

B) Local government:
Affected: No XXX; Yes

The proposed amendments apply only to licensees provided in Title 58, Chapter 37. As a result, the proposed
amendments do not apply to local governments.

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business employing fewer than 50 persons):
Affected: No XXX; Yes

The proposed amendments apply only to licensees provided in Title 58, Chapter 37. Licensees may work in a small
business; however, the proposed amendments would not directly affect the business.

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person” means any individual,
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character other than
an agency):

Affected: No XXX; Yes

The proposed amendments apply only to licensees provided in Title 58, Chapter 37. It is anticipated the proposed
amendments should have no increased compliance cost or impact for individuals that obtain a controlled substance
license and the corresponding DEA registration. No fiscal impact to other persons is anticipated.

Compliance costs for affected persons:

The proposed amendments apply only to licensees provided in Title 58, Chapter 37. It is anticipated the proposed
amendments should have no increased compliance cost or impact for individuals that obtain a controlled substance
license.

A) Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:

This rule change: establishes a time frame within which a controlled substance license applicant must obtain a DEA
registration, establishes criteria that exclude certain applicants from having to obtain a DEA registration, and adds
"failing to obtain a DEA registration within the specified time period" to the definition of unprofessional conduct. No
fiscal impact to businesses is anticipated.

B) Name and title of department head commenting on the fiscal impacts:
Francine A. Giani, Executive Director

This rule change is authorized or mandated by state law, and implements or interprets the following state and
federal laws.
State code or constitution citations (required) (e.g., Section 63G-3-402; Subsection 63G-3-601(3); Article IV) :

Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) Subsection 58-37-6(1)(a)

‘Subsection 58-37f-301(1)



11 This rule adds, updates, or removes the following title of materials incorporated by references (a copy of
materials incorporated by reference must be submitted to the Division of Administrative Rules;if none, leave blank):
First Incorporation Second Incorporation

Official Title of Materials
Incorporated (from title page)

Publisher

Date Issued

Issue, or version

ISBN Number (optional)

ISSN Number (optional)

Cost of Incorporated Reference

Action: Adds, updates, or removes
(If this rule incorporates more than two items by reference, please attach additional pages)

12 The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1. (The public may also request a
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. The agency is required to hold a hearing if it receives requests
from ten interested persons or from an association having not fewer than ten members. Additionally, the request must
be received by the agency not more than |5 days after the publication of this rule in the Utah State Bulletin. See
Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more information.)

A) Comments will be accepted until 5:00 p.m. on (mm/dd/yyyy): 04/14/2016

B) A public hearing (optional) will be held:

On (mm/dd/yyyy} At (hh:mm AM/PM): At (place):

03/22/2016 8:30 AM 160 East 300 South, Conference Room

474, Salt Lake City, Utah

13 This rule change may become effective on (mm/dd/yyyy): 04/21/2016

NOTE: The date above is the date on which this rule MAY become effective. It is NOT the effective date. A fter the
date designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of
Administrative Rules to make this rule effective. Failure to submit a Notice of Effective Date will result in this rule
lapsing and will require the agency to start the rulemaking process over.

14 Indexing information -- keywords (maximum of four, in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., "GRAMA") or proper
nouns (e.g., "Medicaid"); may not include the name of the agency:

controlled substances licensing
15 Attach an RTF document comainiﬁg the text of this rule change R156-37.pro
(filename):

To the agency: Information requested on this form is required by Sections 63G-3-301, 302, 303, and 402. Incomplete
forms will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in theUtah State Bulletin, and delaying
the first possible effective date.

AGENCY AUTHORIZATION
g Date

(mnyddiyyyy)
EZ/}? 7ol

eRules v. 2: ProposedRule.doc 09/03/2009 (http://www.rules.utah_gov/agencyresources/forms/ProposedRule. doc)

Agency head or
designee, and title:



R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.

R156-37. Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule.

R156-37-305. OQualification for Licensure - Drug Enforcement Administration
(DEA) Registration.

(1) An individual who obtains a controlled substance license except
those individuals described in Subsection (2) below, shall obtain a DEA
registration within 120 days of the date the controlled substance license
is issued.

(2) Anvy controlled substance licensee who obtains prior written
consent of the licensee's employer to use the employer's hospital or
institution DEA registration to administer and/or prescribe controlled
substances, is not required to obtain an individual practitioner DEA
registration.

R156-37-[305]306. Exemption from Licensure - Law Enforcement Personnel,
University Research, Narcotic Detection Training of Animals, and Animal
Control.

In accordance with Subsection 58-37-6(2) (d), the following persons are
exempt from licensure under Title 58, Chapter 37:

(1) Law enforcement agencies and their sworn personnel are exempt
from the licensing requirements of the Controlled Substance Act to the
extent their official duties require them to possess controlled substances;
they act within the scope of their enforcement responsibilities; they
maintain accurate records of controlled substances that come into their
possession; and they maintain an effective audit trail. Nothing herein
shall authorize law enforcement personnel to purchase or possess controlled
substances for administration to animals unless the purchase or possession
is in accordance with a duly issued controlled substance license.

(2) Individuals and entities engaged in research using
pharmaceuticals as defined in Subsection 58-17b-102(65) within a research
facility as defined in Subsection R156-17b-102(49).

(3) Individuals employed by a facility engaged in the following
activities if the facility employing that individual has a controlled
substance license in Utah, a DEA registration number, and uses the
controlled substances according to a written protocol:

(a) narcotic detection training of animals for law enforcement use;
or

(b) animal control, including:

(i) animal euthanasia; or

(ii) animal immobilization.

R156-37-502. Unprofessional Conduct.

"Unprofessional conduct" includes:

(1) a licensee with authority to prescribe or administer controlled
substances:

(a) prescribing or administering to himself any Schedule II or III
controlled substance that is not lawfully prescribed by another licensed



practitioner having authority to prescribe the drug;

(b) prescribing or administering a controlled substance for a
condition he is not licensed or competent to treat;

(2) violating any federal or state law relating to controlled
substances;

(3) failing to deliver to the Division all controlled substance
license certificates issued by the Division to the Division upon an action
that revokes, suspends or limits the license;

(4) failing to maintain controls over controlled substances that
would be considered by a prudent practitioner to be effective against
diversion, theft, or shortage of controlled substances;

(5) being unable to account for shortages of any controlled substance
inventory for which the licensee has responsibility;

(6) knowingly prescribing, selling, giving away, or administering,
directly or indirectly, or offering to prescribe, sell, furnish, give away,
or administer any controlled substance to a drug dependent person, as
defined in Subsection 58-37-2(1) (s), except for legitimate medical purposes
as permitted by law;

(7) refusing to make available for inspection controlled substance
stock, inventory, and records as required under this rule or other law
regulating controlled substances and controlled substance records;

(8) failing to submit controlled substance prescription information
to the database manager after being notified in writing to do so;

(9) failing to obtain a DEA registration within the time frame
established in Section R156-37-305.

KEY: controlled substances, licensing

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [February 24,—2615]2016
Notice of Continuation: February 21, 2012

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-1-106(1) (a); 58-37-
6(1) (a); 58-37£-301(1)



