
CONTRACTOR PRE-APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 
Complete/obtain the following BEFORE you submit your application.   
 
Further details may apply or be required.  Checklist is for your convenience.  Further details may 
apply or be required.  Incomplete applications will be denied. 
 
� Be your own qualifier or locate someone to be your qualifier. (The qualifier is the person 

who demonstrates the applicant has the knowledge and experience necessary for 
licensure). The qualifier must own at least a 20 percent of the company or be a W-2 
employee and be paid for working at least 10 hours per week. 

 � The qualifier must have two years (4,000 hours) of lawful experience in the 
construction trade completed within the last 10 years. (Lawful experience may be 
W-2 wages working as an employee for a licensed contractor or working as an 
owner of a licensed company which has lawfully employed a qualifier while the 
owner was obtaining their experience.  Form 1099 payments are not acceptable.). 

  � Obtain affidavits of experience from each employer, see page 6 of 
application forms.  Submit affidavits with application form. 

  � Obtain copies of W-2s or tax returns to verify the qualifying experience.  
Submit copies of W-2s or tax returns with application form. 

 � Qualifier must pass the trade examination required for the classification(s) you 
apply for.  Submit a copy of the test results with the application form. 

 � Qualifier must pass the Utah Laws and Rules examination - required for all 
classifications.  Submit a copy of the test results with the application form. 

 � Qualifier must complete the Utah 20 hour pre-license education course (or 
alternatively you may submit a transcript showing the qualifier has a Construction 
Management degree).  Submit a copy of the certificate of course completion with 
the application form. 

� If the applicant is an entity (corporation, LLC, LLP, partnership etc), register the entity 
with the Utah Division of Corporations.  

� If you use a DBA (“doing business as” - such as using a name for your business or adding 
a description of what you do to your name, example: John Doe Construction Services), 
register the DBA with the Utah Division of Corporations.  

� Obtain a certificate of general liability insurance from your insurance agent. The 
certificate must include the name and address of the insured (which must match the name 
and address on the application exactly), policy number, expiration date, the insurance 
company and contact information. 

 � The certificate must name The Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 as a certificate holder.  

 � The insurance coverage must be at least $100,000 per incident and $300,000 
aggregate. 

 � submit a copy of the liability insurance certificate with your application form. 
� If you will have employees:  
 � Obtain an Employer Identification Number from IRS. 
 � Obtain a certificate of workers compensation insurance from your worker 

compensation insurance agent:  



  � The certificate must name The Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 as a certificate 
holder.  

  � submit a copy of the worker compensation insurance certificate with your 
application form. 

 � Obtain a state withholding tax registration from the Utah State Tax Commission. 
You may submit a contract with a licensed PEO company to satisfy this 
requirement. 

 � Obtain a unemployment registration from the Utah Department of Workforce 
Services. You may submit a contract with a licensed PEO company to satisfy this 
requirement. 

� If you (any owner, qualifier or prior companies they have been involved in) have Yes 
answers to criminal history questions: Obtain copies of court documents, police reports, 
etc and write an explanation of your criminal history.  Provide copies with the application 
form. 

� If you (any owner, qualifier or prior companies they have been involved in) have Yes 
answers to financial responsibility history questions, such as judgments, tax liens, 
delinquent child support, bankruptcies etc: Obtain copies of court documents, satisfaction 
of delinquencies and an explanation of your financial history.  Provide copies with the 
application form.  

 � Submit credit report authorization on each owner and the company.   
 � Submit a copy of the last tax return for each owner and the company.   
 A license bond may be required if delinquencies have not been fully resolved. 
� Complete the entire application form.   
� Submit application fee with your registration form.  (for most applicants the fee is $405 

which is $210 for the first classification of licensure and $195 the initial assessment for 
the residence lien recovery fund).  Additional fees may apply.  If you have outstanding 
citations or residence lien recovery fund payouts, they must be paid before a license can 
be granted. 

 
Submit the above items with the completed application form to the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114: 
 


