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STATE OF UTAH 
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

REGISTERED NURSE or 
  LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE 

 
Please Note:  During the last Legislative session, the Nurse Practice Act, subsection 58-31b-601, Minimum standards 
for nursing programs, was amended.  This amendment became effective May 14, 2013.  Therefore, all applicants 
who graduate after May 14, 2013, must complete a nursing education program that meets the following 
standards:   

58-31b-601. Minimum standards for nursing programs 
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), to qualify as an approved education program for the purpose of qualifying 
graduates for licensure under this chapter, a nursing education program shall be accredited by the 
(a) Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education; 
(b) National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (now known as the Accreditation Commission for Education in 
Nursing, Inc); or 
(c) Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs. 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION: 
General Statement:  The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) desires to provide courteous and 
timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate the application process, submit a complete application form including 
all applicable supporting documents and fees.  Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary information 
will delay processing and may result in denial.  The fees are for processing your application and will not be refunded.  Please read 
all instructions carefully. 

Legal Name of Record:  You must apply under your legal name. Do not list nicknames on the application.  According to the Code 
of Federal Regulations, 6 CFR 37.3, Title 6; Chapter I, Part 37, Subpart A, Full legal name means “an individual's first name, 
middle name(s), and last name or surname, without the use of initials or nicknames.”     

Address of Record:   The address provided on this application WILL BE YOUR ADDRESS OF RECORD.  Your address of 
record is your fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes.  You may not list your place of employment as your 
address of record.  All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to the address of record.  You are responsible to directly notify 
DOPL of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a forwarding order as state mail is not forwarded.    

Social Security Number:  A social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah Government Records Access 
and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL as an individual identifier.  It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to 
Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 
666(a) (13).  If a Social Security Number is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS: 

Mandatory Attachment Checklist (Applications with incomplete attachments will not be considered and may be denied.) 

 
Submit a complete Division of Occupational Licensing (DOPL) application form to the DOPL address below.  If you are 
applying as a new graduate, do not submit the application any earlier than 6 weeks prior to graduation.   
 

 

Appropriate Application Fees 
Submit a $100.00 Non-Refundable Application Fee.  This fee includes a $60.00 application fee and a $20.00 surcharge 
for a BCI fingerprint file search, and a $20.00 surcharge for a FBI fingerprint file search.  
      

 

Submit two applicant fingerprint cards (Form FD-258: white with blue lines) to be used by DOPL for a search       
through the files of the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).   If you 
bring your completed application to DOPL’s office at 160 E 300 S, Main Lobby, Salt Lake City, your fingerprints can be 
electronically scanned using DOPL’s Identix equipment.   
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 

If you are a new graduate, submit an official transcript showing the 1) graduation date and 2) degree obtained and/or 
completion of your nursing program.  Official transcript must bear the school seal. If transcripts are not sent directly from 
the education program to DOPL, the transcripts must be in an envelope sealed by the school.  Failure to submit an official 
transcript will result in denial of your application as incomplete.   

 

 

If you are applying for licensure by endorsement, you must have a current, active in good standing license in another 
jurisdiction.  Complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application, fees and two fingerprint cards: 

1. Obtain verification of licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a nurse by completing the 
following steps:  

□ Go to www.nursys.com to determine if the state from which you are seeking verification of licensure is listed 
as a participant on the NURSYS verification system.  If so, follow the directions on the NURSYS website to 
obtain verification of your license through NURSYS.  

OR 

□ If the state from which you are seeking verification of licensure is not listed as a participant on the NURSYS 
verification system, use the “Request for Verification of Licensure” form attached to this application to obtain 
verification of licensure.  Fill out the first page of the verification form and send both pages of the form to your 
current state of licensure.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it directly to DOPL.   

 

 

If you are a graduate of a foreign nursing school and have never been licensed in another jurisdiction, submit a CGFNS 
(Certification Program) certificate from the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS), 3600 
Market Street, Suite 400, Philadelphia, PA  19104-2651, (215) 349-8767, www.cgfns.org.  The CGFNS Certificate 
consists of 1) a credentials review of secondary and nursing education, registration and licensure; 2) The CGFNS 
Qualifying Exam®, a test of nursing knowledge, and 3) a report on an English language proficiency exam.  Upon 
successful completion of all three parts, applicants receive the CGFNS (Certification Program) certificate.   
 

 
If you are a graduate from a program not accredited by ACEN, CCNE, or COA, and have passed the NCLEX® 
Examination and obtained licensure in another state, apply for licensure by endorsement.  Follow the endorsement 
instructions above.  
 

 

If you are applying as an LPN by equivalency, you must be enrolled in an RN education program with full approval 
status, and have completed course work which is equivalent to the course work of an ACEN accredited practical nursing 
program.  The educational program must submit a letter of equivalency documenting the date you met the PN 
equivalency requirements.  
 

 

NCLEX® Examination Registration:   
New graduates:  You must register with Pearson Vue to take the examination prior to submitting the DOPL application.  
You may register online at www.pearsonvue.com/nclex or by phone at 1-866-496-2539, Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. 
to 7 p.m., U.S. Central Time.   You must register using your legal name as it appears on your picture ID.   The NCLEX® 
Examination Fee is currently $200.00.   

 

*Important Additional Important Information: 

1. Application Processing:  Processing time for an application, where the fingerprints have been electronically 
scanned by DOPL and there are no issues that need to be resolved, is approximately 7 to 21 business days if 
the application is complete.   If the application is incomplete, the processing time will increase.  

 
2. Laws and Rules: You are required to understand Utah laws and rules pertaining to your practice. The 

following laws and rules are available on the Internet at www.dopl.utah.gov. 
 Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act, 58-1 (May 14, 2013) 
 General Rules of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing, R156-1 (March 11, 2013) 
 Nurse Practice Act, 58-31b (May 14, 2013) 
 Nurse Practice Act Rules, R156-31b (July 8, 2010) 
 Nurse Licensure Compact, 58-31c (Jan 01 2000) 
 Nurse Licensure Compact Rule, R156-31c (Aug 16 2010) 

 
3. Education Requirement:  You must complete an approved nursing education program to qualify for 

licensure.  All applicants who graduated after May 14, 2013, must have graduated from a nursing education 
program accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE); Accreditation Commission 
for Education in Nursing, Inc (ACEN), formally the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission; or 
Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA).   
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PLEASE NOTE: If you graduated from a nursing education program after May 14, 2013, you must include 
documentation that your education program was ACEN or CCNE accredited.  Your school can provide 
this documentation to you for inclusion with your application; or you can print of the accreditation information 
from the ACEN or CCNE website.  To find the accreditation information, go to the accreditation body website, 
search for accredited programs, enter the name of your program or the state where the program is located, and 
print off the page that indicates the nursing program’s accreditation information.  Include this information with 
your application. The web site for the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) is 
www.acenursing.org.  The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) web site is 
www.aacn.nche.edu/ccne-accreditation.     

 
4. Nursing Licensure Interstate Compact: A nurse must legally reside in a compact state to be eligible for 

issuance of a compact (multistate) license.  In order to obtain a Utah compact (multistate) license, you must 
declare Utah as your primary state of residency and have a Utah address as your address of record.  If you are 
moving to Utah and declaring Utah as your primary state of residency, you must apply for licensure by 
endorsement. A nurse whose primary state of residence is a noncompact state is not eligible for a compact 
license and will be issued a “valid in Utah only” license. Upon issuance of a compact (multistate) license, any 
active compact state will be notified and that license will be inactivated.  A nurse can only hold one compact 
(multistate) license.   
 
Nurses are required to promptly declare a new state of residency when they obtain a new driver’s license, 
change where federal taxes are paid or register to vote.  More information regarding the Interstate Compact, 
including a current list of all Compact states , is available on the National Council of State Boards of Nursing 
web site at www.ncsbn.org.   

 
5. NCLEX® Examination Eligibility and Scheduling:  To sit for the examination, you must be made eligible 

by DOPL.  DOPL can not make you eligible to sit for the examination if you have not registered with 
PearsonVue and paid the $200.00 registration fee.  DOPL will determine candidate eligibility based on the 
information contained in the complete application and receipt of official transcripts with the date of 
completion and the degree earned.   

 
Once authorized to take the examination, the test company will send you an “Authorization to Test” (ATT) to 
your e-mail address along with information explaining how to schedule your examination.  Please read the 
information carefully.  Once you have received your “Authorization to Test,” call and schedule an 
appointment to take the examination.  You can not schedule an appointment unless you have received the 
ATT.    
 

6. Examination Addresses and Telephone Numbers: 
       Examination Registration, (866) 496-2539 (Monday through Friday), 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. (CST) or online           
       at www.pearsonvue.com/nclex  

 
7. NCLEX® Examination Results:  Within one - two weeks of taking the examination, DOPL will mail your 

license if you passed the examination; or if you did not pass the examination you will receive an examination 
summary.   Do not call DOPL to obtain your test results.  No results will be released over the phone. 

 
Passing the examination does not authorize you to practice as a nurse in the State of Utah.  You must be issued 
a Utah license prior to practicing. 

 
If you fail the examination, you must (1) re-registered with Pearson Vue, (2) submit another examination fee 
to the testing company, (3) submit an “Intent to Retake the Examination” form to DOPL (available at 
www.dopl.utah.gov), or call the Division and inform the Division that you have re-registered, and (4) 
reschedule an appointment to take the examination when you have received another “Authorization to Test.”  
The examination may only be taken once every 45 days. 

 
8. Reinstatement of Utah License:  If you are reinstating your Utah nursing license that has been expired more 

than two years, you must submit a complete application for licensure with all applicable fees and required 
documentation (verification of a current active license in another state; or documentation of meeting the Nurse 
Practice Act Rule, subsection R156-31b-306).  However, if you are reinstating your Utah license and are 
currently licensed in good standing with a Compact state license from a compact state, you will only need to 
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submit the renewal application, current renewal fee and verification of licensure.    The renewal application is 
found on the Division’s website at www.dopl.utah.gov.     
 
PLEASE NOTE:  If you are reinstating your Utah nursing license, you must meet all current requirements, 
which includes meeting the current educational requirement as listed in the Nurse Practice Act, section 
58-31b-601.   

 
9. License Renewal:  Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s 

date of initial licensure.  Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession expire as a group on the 
same day every two years.  All LPN licenses expire January 31 of every even-numbered year and all RN 
licenses expire January 31 of every odd-numbered year.  The length of a licensee’s first renewal cycle depends 
on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was obtained.  Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a 
full two years.  Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing fee 
only.  It does not include a renewal fee.  Each licensee is responsible to renew licensure PRIOR to the 
expiration date shown on the current license.  Approximately two months prior to the expiration date shown on 
the license, renewal information is disseminated to each licensee’s last address of record, as provided to 
DOPL.  It is your professional responsibility to maintain a current active license if you are practicing in Utah.  
If you do not receive a renewal notice, it is your responsibility to contact the Division and obtain the renewal 
information.   

 
10. Updating Address/email Information: It is your responsibility to maintain a current address with DOPL.  

The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act, section 58-1-301.7 requires that a licensee 
notify the Division within 10 business days of a change in mailing address.  An applicant, licensee, or 
certificate holder is considered to have received a notification that has been sent to the most recent 
mailing address provided to the Division.  Please also update your email address if it changes.    
Address/email changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov.    

 
11. Name Change:  If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit documentation of 

your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree). 
 

12. Fingerprint Information: All applicants are required to undergo a criminal background check and fingerprint 
search through the files of the bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI).  To expedite the licensure process, you can obtain electronic fingerprinting at DOPL’s office at 160 E. 
300 S., Salt Lake City, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays. The cost for having 
fingerprints electronically scanned by DOPL is covered in the $40 non-refundable surcharge fee.  Applicants 
that arrive late in the day without leaving sufficient time to be processed will be turned away. A current 
government issued picture ID is required and would include one of the following: a driver’s license issued by 
Washington D.C., a state of the United States of America or an identification card issued by the state of Utah.   

 
If you are unable to obtain electronic fingerprints at DOPL’s office, you must include two (2) fingerprint cards 
(Form FD-258) with your application for each individual associated with the application as defined above. To 
have your fingerprints rolled onto the fingerprint cards, you must go to BCI, a local police station or an 
agency authorized by the FBI to roll fingerprints.  If you downloaded the application from the Internet, you 
may obtain fingerprint cards the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI), your local police station or 
authorized agency. Fingerprint cards that are not complete and/or properly rolled will be rejected, delaying 
the licensure process.  Due to the high number of inked fingerprint cards that are rejected and the 
amount of time it takes state and federal government agencies to process these cards, applicants are 
encouraged at the time of application to have their fingerprints electronically scanned at DOPL or at the 
Bureau of Criminal Identification.   

Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) Information:   

 Check with BCI for pricing of their services 
 Walk-ins only; no appointments taken 
 Fingerprinting are available from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday except holidays 
 Government-issued picture ID required (driver’s license, state ID, passport, etc.) 
 Address:  3888 W. 5400 S., Taylorsville, UT  84118 (1/2 block west of Bangerter Highway, behind 

McDonalds) 
 Website: www.bci.utah.gov.  Telephone number:  (801) 965-4569 
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Review of your FBI Record:  If you wish to challenge the accuracy of the information in your FBI record, 
you should contact the agency that contributed the information in question. You may also direct the challenge 
to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn. SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow 
Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306. The FBI will forward the challenge to the respective agency. 

13. Acceptable Forms of Payment: Licensure fees can be paid by check or money order, made payable to 
“DOPL.” Cash and debit/credit cards (American Express, MasterCard, and Visa) are also accepted in person at 
DOPL’s main office.  Credit card information is not accepted over the telephone. 

 
 

 
14. Mail Complete Application to:                              By U.S. Mail 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 

By Delivery or Express Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, 1st Floor Lobby 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 

 
        Telephone Numbers:  
    (801) 530-6628 
    (866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 
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State of Utah 
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
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160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

Telephone (801) 530-6628 
www.dopl.utah.gov  

 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE: 
 

 LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE (LPN)  
 REGISTERED NURSE (RN)  

 
 

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 
 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        
I certify under penalty of perjury that: 

  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  
 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers 
License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a 
legal citizen of the United States.   

 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers 
License or US State ID. 
License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US 
Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document 
showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 

 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States.

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 
 Female 

Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in 
any profession.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION – FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:           

Date License/Certificate Approved: ___/___/____ 

Approved By:                

Date License/Certificate Denied: ___/___/____ 

Denied By:                

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:              
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DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE: 
Primary State of Residence is the state of your declared fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes; 
domicile. 

 
My primary state of residence will be:   ____________      
Note: You must provide DOPL with a Utah address within 30 days of from the date a new residence is established.  
 
 
PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT: 

 

Name of Nursing Educational Program:        

Address of Program:        Accredited  by:   □ ACEN      □ CCNE 

City:       State:       Zip:        

Dates Attended:  From:       To:       

Degree Received :       Date of Graduation:        

   
If you graduated from a nursing education program after May 14, 2013, you must include documentation that your 
education program was ACEN or CCNE accredited.   

□ I have included documentation that my nursing education program was ACEN or CCNE accredited. 

 
HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT: 
 Name of School:       
 City:       State:       Zip:        
 Date of Graduation:       
  
Or: Equivalent Education:       Date Earned:       
 
PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT:  

□ If licensed in another state date(s) examination taken:       

 

□ If applying for initial licensure as a new graduate, I have registered for the NCLEX® examination.  You must register 
with Pearson Vue before you can be made eligible to take the exam.  See the instructions for details. 

 
LICENSURE IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION: 
If you are licensed in another jurisdiction please check the box that applies to you:  

□ I have enclosed an official verification of licensure with this application 

□ I have requested official verification from NURSYS 

□ 
I have requested the following state to send a verification of licensure directly to Utah.  Name of 
State:_______________   

Or 

□ I do not hold registrations or certifications issued by any jurisdiction. 
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 
I am the applicant described and identified in this application for licensure, certification, or registration in the 
State of Utah. 
 
I am qualified in all respects for the license, certificate, or registration for which I am applying in this 
application. 
 
To the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting document(s) is 
free of fraud, misrepresentation, or omission of material fact. 
 
To the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting document(s) is 
truthful, correct, and complete; and, discloses all material facts regarding the applicant and associated 
individuals necessary to properly evaluate the applicant’s qualifications for licensure. 
 
I will ensure that any information subsequently submitted to the Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing in conjunction with this application or its supporting documents meet the same standard as set forth 
above. 
 
I understand that it is unlawful and punishable as a class A misdemeanor to apply for or obtain a license or to 
otherwise deal with the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing or a licensing board through the 
use of fraud, forgery, or intentional deception, misrepresentation, misstatement, or omission. 
 
I understand that this application will be classified as a public record and will be available for inspection by the 
public, except with regard to the release of information which is classified as controlled, private, or protected 
under the Government Records Access and Management Act or restricted by other law. 
 
I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers, references, or 
any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth directly or by 
reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, State of 
Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably required for the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for examination 
approval/licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 
 
Signature of Responsible Party:           
 
Date of Signature: ____/____/____  
 
Printed Name of Responsible Party:           
 

 
 

COMPLIANCE WITH UTAH LAWS AND RULES 
 
I understand that it my continuing responsibility to read, understand, and apply the requirements contained in 
all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for which I am applying, and that failure to do 
so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions. 
 
Name: ____________________________________ Signature:  ____________________________________   
Date: __________ 
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RN/LPN QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
Read thoroughly, and answer the questions. Do not leave any question blank.   

(Note:  If you have formally expunged a criminal record you do not need to disclose that criminal history.) 
 

 Yes   No 
1. Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to 

practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this 
application? 

 Yes   No 2. Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination? 

 Yes   No 
3. Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated 

profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, 
reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 Yes   No 

4. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender a license, certificate, permit, or 
registration to practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while action 
was pending by any health care profession licensing agency, hospital or other health care 
facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
5. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you now 

by any licensing agency or governmental agency? 

 Yes   No 
6. Have you ever had hospital or other health care facility privileges denied, conditioned, 

curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
7. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender hospital or other health care facility 

privileges, while under investigation or while action was pending by any licensing agency, 
hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
8. Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending at any hospital or health care 

facility? 

 Yes   No 
9. Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal 

health care payment reimbursement program denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, 
restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 

10. Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or 
federal health care payment reimbursement program while under investigation or while 
action was pending by any licensing agency, hospital, or other health care facility, or 
criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
11. Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal 

health care payment reimbursement program? 

 Yes   No 

12. Have you ever had a federal or state registration to sell, possess, prescribe, dispense, or 
administer controlled substances denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, 
suspended or revoked in any way by either the federal Drug Enforcement Administration or 
any state drug enforcement agency? 

 Yes   No 

13. Have you ever been permitted to surrender a registration to sell, possess, prescribe, 
dispense, or administer controlled substances while under investigation or while action was 
pending by any health care profession licensing agency, hospital or other health care 
facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
14. Is any action now pending against you by either the Federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration or any state drug enforcement agency? 

 Yes   No 15. Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit? 

 Yes   No 
16. Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge 

assessments based upon specific claims history, or other limitations, restrictions, or 
conditions imposed by any malpractice carrier? 

 Yes   No 
17. Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, curtailed, 

limited, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
18. If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you pose 

a direct threat to yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the public health, safety, or 
welfare because of any circumstance or condition? 
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 Yes   No 
19. Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason 

of mental defect or disease and not restored? 

 Yes   No 20. Have you ever been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse? 

 Yes   No 
21. Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including 

recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is 
unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or federal law? 

 Yes   No 

22. Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of 
which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or 
federal law, for which he has not successfully completed or is not now participating in a 
supervised drug rehabilitation program, or for which he has not otherwise been successfully 
rehabilitated? 

 Yes   No 
23. Have you ever had a documented case in which he was involved as the abuser in any 

incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse? 
 Yes   No 24. Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 

 Yes   No 
25. Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any 

jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
26. Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county correctional 

facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on probation/parole in any 
jurisdiction?  

 Yes   No 

27. Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been 
convicted of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction?  Motor vehicle offenses such as driving 
while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking 
or speeding violations need not be listed.  

 Yes   No 
28. Have you been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any criminal charge that was later 

dismissed (i.e. plea-in-abeyance or deferred sentence)? 
 If you answered “yes” to questions 24, 25, 26, 27 or 28 above, you must submit a complete 

narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction, plea in 
abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable police 
report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 
 
If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit documentation on official letterhead 
from the police department and/or court indicating that the information is no longer available. 
 
If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a judge, you do not need 
to disclose that criminal history.  Expungement orders must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the 
FBI to enable the expungement to be completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 
 

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete 
information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached.
 

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, 
DOPL may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 
 
 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
 

(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 
 
 
PART 1 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT: 
 
Complete the first section of the form.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it directly to DOPL 
or return it to you for submission with your application. 
 
Applicant’s Name:             
 
Street Address:             
 
City:       State:      Zip:      
 
I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a:         
 
I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:         
 
My Social Security Number is:           
 
My Date of Birth is:             
 
My license number in your state is/was:          
 
I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of:      
 
Signature of Qualifier:            
 
Date of Signature:  ___/___/____ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Continued on the next page.) 
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PART 2 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 
 
Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and place the completed form in an envelope, seal the 
envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by mail.  The qualifier will include the verification of licensure with 
his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   
 
Name of Verifying State:            
 
Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):       
 
Classification of License Issued:           
 
License Number:         Current Status:     
 
Original Date of Licensure:        Expiration Date: ___/___/____ 
 
Continuously Licensed:   
 

 Yes   No, please explain:           
 
Licensed By: 
 

 Exam, Type:         Date: ___/___/____ 
 
 Endorsement, From What State          
 
Examination Scores:            
 
Education Required For Licensure:          

 
Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 
 

  No      Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 
 
Signature:         Title:        
 
Agency:              
 
Date of Signature:  ___/___/____ 
 
 
 

(SEAL) 
 

 

 


