STATE OF UTAH
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

General Statement: The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL)
desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure. To facilitate the
application process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting
documents and fees. Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary
information will delay processing and may result in denial of licensure. The fees are for
processing your application and will not be refunded. Please read all instructions carefully.

Address of Record: The address you provide on this application will be your address of record.
All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address. You are responsible to directly
notify DOPL of any change to your address of record. Do not rely on a forwarding order.

Social Security Number: Your social security number is classified as a private record under the
Utah Government Records Access and Management Act. It is used by DOPL as an individual
identifier. Itis also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and
is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C.
666(a)(13). If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES:

If you are applying for licensure as a CPA by education, examination, and experience,
complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application:

1. Submit official documentation of your passing score on the Uniform CPA Examination.
OR

Submit a complete “Request for Verification of Examination and License” form (attached
to this application) if you took the Uniform CPA Examination in another jurisdiction of the
United States.

2. Submit documentation of your passing the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs Exam.

3. Submit an original letter from DOPL’s approved examination provider verifying your
passing score on the Utah Law and Rules Examination.

4. Submit an official transcript(s) verifying completion of the educational requirements as
set forth in Section R156-26a-302a of the Utah CPA Licensing Act Rules.

5. Submit a complete “Certification of Accounting Experience for Licensure as a CPA” form
(attached to this application) documenting your completion of the experience requirements as
set forth in Section R156-26a-302b of the Utah CPA Licensing Act Rules.

6. Submit an $85.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.”
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If you are applying for licensure as a CPA by endorsement (current licensure in another state),
complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application.

1. Using the “Request for Verification of License” form (attached to this application), obtain
verification of licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a CPA.

Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to DOPL or
return it to you for submission with your application.

2. Submit documentation of your passing the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs Exam.

3. Submit documentation of professional experience showing that you have been actively
engaged in the lawful practice as a CPA in another state, for not less than 8,000 hours
during the 10 years immediately preceding your application for licensure in Utah.

4, Submit an original letter from DOPL’s approved examination provider verifying your
passing score on the Utah Law and Rules Examination.

5. Submit an $85.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.”

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:

1. Utah Law and Rules Exam: All applicants for licensure must pass the Utah Law and
Rules Examination. Applicants must apply directly to PSI Examination Services at
www.psiexams.com or 1-800-733-9267 to register for the law examination.

The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at
www.dopl.utah.gov:

0 Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act

0 General Rules of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
] Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act

0 Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rules

2. Current Documents: Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed.
Go to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these
documents.

3. Uniform CPA Examination: Applicants who have not passed the Uniform CPA
Examination must apply directly to CPA Examination Services (CPAES) to take the
examination. Effective May 14, 2013, to be eligible for the examination, you will be
required to complete 135 semester (200 quarter) hours of the education requirement. You
will be required to complete 150 semester (225 quarter) hours before you are eligible for
your license. The applicant must submit the CPAES application form, the applicable
fees, and official transcripts demonstrating the applicant has met the education
requirement to: CPA Examination Services, Utah Coordinator, PO Box 198469 or 150
4™ Avenue N., Ste. 700, Nashville, TN 37219-8469. Candidates can also email CPAES
at cpaes-ut@nashba.org or call 1-800-CPA-EXAM (8 a.m. — 6 p.m. CDT).

4. AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs Exam: Applicants for the AICPA Professional
Ethics for CPAs Exam can order this self-study course and examination directly from the
Utah Association of Certified Public Accountants (UACPA), 220 East Morris Avenue,
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Suite 320, Salt Lake City, Utah 84115, (801) 466-8022 or www.uacpa.org.

5. Examination Fees: There are separate fees for all examinations. It is the responsibility
of the applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency.

6. Accounting Experience: In accordance with Subsection 58-26a-102(1) of the Utah
Certified Public Accounting Licensing Act, “accounting experience” means applying
accounting and auditing skills and principles that are taught as a part of the professional
education qualifying a person for licensure under this chapter and generally accepted by
the profession, under the supervision of a licensed certified public accountant.

7. Professional Experience: In accordance with Subsection 58-26a-102(11) of the Utah
Certified Public Accounting Licensing Act, “professional experience” means experience
lawfully obtained while licensed as a certified public accountant in another jurisdiction,
recognized by rule, in the practice of public accountancy performed for a client, which
includes expression of assurance or opinion, for at least 300 hours collectively in the
following areas:

(a) applying Generally Accepted Auditing Standards (GAAS) to the usual and customary
financial transactions recorded in the accounting records

(b) preparing audit working papers in accordance with GAAS covering the examination
of the accounts usually found in accounting records

(c) planning the audit scope in accordance with GAAS, including the audit program to be
followed

(d) preparing written explanations and comments on the findings of the examination and
on the content of the accounting records

(e) preparing and analyzing financial statements in accordance with GAAS

8. Foreign Trained Applicants: Foreign trained applicants must have their education and
experience evaluated by a foreign evaluator service acceptable to DOPL. Upon
completion of the evaluation, the applicant shall submit the findings to DOPL to
determine if any additional requirements are needed to become licensed.

To obtain information about foreign evaluation services, contact NASBA (National
Association of State Boards of Accountancy): www.nasba.org; 150 Fourth Ave. North,
Suite 700; Nashville, TN 37219; (615) 880-4200.

9. License Renewal: All CPA licenses expire September 30 of every even-numbered year.

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s
date of initial licensure. Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession
expire as a group on the same day every two years. Therefore, the length of a licensee’s
first renewal cycle depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was
obtained. Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a full two years.

Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing
fee only. It does not include a renewal fee. Each licensee is responsible to renew
licensure PRIOR to the expiration date shown on the current license. Approximately
two months prior to the expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is
disseminated to each licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL.

DOPL-AP-050 Rev 2013-05-14 3



10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.
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Continuing Professional Education: CPA’s are required to complete 80 hours of
approved CPE in each two-year period ending with an odd number year (i.e. January 1,
20012 - December 31, 2013). In approximately November of each odd-numbered year, CPE
reporting forms will be mailed to the licensee for the purpose of reporting completion of
qualified CPE courses as a condition of renewal of licensure. The licensee must
complete and return the CPE reporting form to DOPL no later than January 31 of each
even-numbered year. The licensee is responsible to obtain the form and to report their
CPE by the January 31 deadline. Failure to complete or report CPE will result in denial
of renewal of the CPA license or action by DOPL to revoke the CPA license. If the
initial license term is less than the full two-year CPE reporting period, the CPA is
required to complete 10 hours of CPE for each full quarter of licensure during the CPE
reporting period.

Registration as a Certified Public Accounting Firm: Anyone engaged in the practice
of public accountancy must be either registered as a firm or be employed with a properly
registered firm. If you are employed full time with a firm or other employer, but practice
accountancy for your own account (“moonlighting”), you must apply for licensure with
DOPL as a CPA firm. If needed, a “Certified Public Accountancy Firm” application can
be obtained from DOPL’s website: www.dopl.utah.gov

Peer Review: All firms, including sole proprietorships, engaged in the practice of public
accountancy are required to comply with peer review requirements as found in the Utah
CPA Licensing Act Rules.

Updating Address Information: It is your responsibility to maintain a current address
with DOPL. If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other
correspondence. Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov.

Name Change: If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please
submit documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree).

Submit Completed Application to:
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By U.S. Mail |P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By Express Mail | 1¥ Floor Lobby
or In Person 160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City UT 84111-2305

Telephone Numbers: (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 — Toll-free in Utah

Fax Number: (801) 530-6511



APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.***

Last Name: First Name: Middle Name:

Social Security Number: - - Maiden Name:

| certify under penalty of perjury that:

[ ] I'am a citizen of the United States and | have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.
License/State ID Number: State: __

[ ] 1 am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers
License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are
a legal citizen of the United States.

[ ] 1am anon-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and | have a valid US Drivers
License or US State ID.
License/State ID Number: State:

[] 1 am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and | do not have a valid US
Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document
showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States.

[ ] 1 am a foreign national not physically present in the United States.

Mailing Address:

City: State: ZIP:

[ ] Male

[ Female Date of Birth: Phone #: E-Mail:

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held
in any pI’OfESSiOI’]. (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

License/Certificate Number:

Date License/Certificate Approved: [/ /

Approved By:

Date License/Certificate Denied: [

Denied By:

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION
I certify that | am qualified in all respects for the license for which | am applying in this
application.
I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its
supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is
truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that | will
update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.
I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers,
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are
set forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type
reasonably required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly
evaluate my qualifications for licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah.
I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read,
understand, and apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the
occupation or profession for which I am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil,
administrative, or criminal sanctions.

Signature of Applicant: Date of Signature: I

EDUCATION REQUIREMENT (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Name: Dates Attended: / / To / /
Location:
Degree Received: Date of Graduation / /

Answer “yes” or “no.”

| have a baccalaureate degree, 150 semester (225 quarter) hours of professional
education, and have completed one year (2,000 hours) of accounting experience.

I am applying for licensure by endorsement, am currently licensed in another
state, and have completed 4 years (8,000 hours) of professional experience within
the immediately preceding 10 years.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT
AICPA Ethics Exam Scores: Date Taken:

Report your scores for the Uniform CPA Examination. (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Date of Exam | Section ID # Audit BEC’LPR FAR/FARE REG/ARE
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PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE - If Applying for Licensure by Endorsement

Please provide the following information beginning with the most recent experience. (Use
additional sheets if necessary.)

You must also attach a letter from each firm listed verifying the experience documented.

Firm Name: Telephone:

Address:

Dates of Employment: / / to / /
Verifying CPA(S):

Firm Name: Telephone:

Address:

Dates of Employment: / / to / /
Verifying CPA(S):
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CPA QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question. Do not leave any question blank.

1. Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration
to practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on
this application?

2. Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?

3. Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a
regulated profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended,
revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way?

4. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate,
permit, or registration to practice in a regulated profession while under
investigation or while action was pending against you by any professional
licensing agency or criminal or administrative jurisdiction?

5. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending
against you now by any licensing agency or governmental agency?

6. Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement
Administration or any state drug enforcement agency?

7. If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying,
would you pose a direct threat to yourself, to your clients, or to the public health,
safety, or welfare because of any circumstance or condition?

8. Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent
by reason of mental defect or disease and not restored?

9. Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser
in any incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?

10. Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the
past five (5) years?

11. Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs
(including recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or
distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or
other applicable state or federal law?

12, Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or
distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or
other applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully
completed or are not now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation
program, or for which you have not otherwise been successfully rehabilitated?

(Continued on the next page.)
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

Do you currently have any criminal action pending?

Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been
convicted of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?
Motor vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be
disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need
not be listed.

Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any
jurisdiction?

Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to
any criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred
sentence)?

Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county
correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on
probation/parole in any jurisdiction?

@ If you answered “yes” to questions 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 above, you must submit a
complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY

conviction, plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of
all applicable police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s).

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit
documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court
indicating that the information is no longer available.

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed
by a judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history. Expungement orders
must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the
expungement to be completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records.

@ If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application
complete information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been
reached.

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, the
Division may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient.
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Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

FAX: 801 530-6511

CERTIFICATION OF ACCOUNTING EXPERIENCE
FOR LICENSURE AS A CPA

(Applicants for licensure by endorsement — DO NOT complete this form.)

PART I: TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT:

Submit a separate form for each firm you have listed on the application. Request that the licensed
CPA supervisor complete the form and return it to you for submission with your application.

Applicant’s Name: Social Security Number:

Answer “yes” or “no.”
| understand that “Accounting Experience” means applying accounting and
auditing skills and principles that are taught as a part of the professional education
qualifying a person for licensure under this chapter and generally accepted by the
profession, under the supervision of a licensed certified public accountant.

PART Il: TO BE COMPLETED BY A LICENSED CPA SUPERVISOR:

Answer “yes” or “no.”
| hereby attest that the applicant named above was employed during the following
periods of time during which the applicant satisfactorily completed a program of

accounting experience.

Period of Employment:

Month _ Day Year _ to Month Day Year
Total Hours: Supervisor:

Month _ Day Year _ to Month Day Year
Total Hours: Supervisor:

(Continued on the next page.)
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TOTAL HOURS OF “ACCOUNTING” EXPERIENCE:

Comments: (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Name of Employer:

Telephone:

Complete Address:

Attesting Licensed CPA:

Position:

Signature of Attesting CPA:

License Number:

Subscribed and sworn to before me this

Signature of Notary Public:

day of

State:

, 20

Notary Public for the State of:

(SEAL)
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Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

FAX: 801 530-6511

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF EXAM and LICENSE

(Use this form to verify licensure and/or examination from another state, if applicable.)

PART 1-TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:

Complete the first section of the form and submit it to a state in which you are currently licensed as a
CPA. Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to DOPL or return it
to you for submission with your application.

Applicant Name:
Street:
City: State: Zip:

| am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a/an

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name

My social security number is
My date of birth is / /

My license number in your state is/was

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of $

Signature of Applicant:

Date of Signature: / /

PART 2 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY::

Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and mail or fax it directly to
DOPL or place the completed form in a sealed envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by
mail. The applicant will include the verification of licensure with his/her Utah application. Thank you.

Name of Verifying State:

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):

Classification of License Issued:

License Number: Current Status:

Original Date of Licensure: / / Expiration Date: / /

(Continued on the next page.)
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Continuously Licensed:

U Yes O No, please explain:
Licensed By:

Q Exam, Type: Date: / /

O Endorsement: from what state?

O Waiver:

Examination Scores:

Please indicate the date and score for each time the applicant has taken the examination. This is required
for the state of Utah to establish that the applicant has “conditioned” on the examination.

Date: / / AICPA# Location:
Audit LPR/BEC FARE ARE/REG Ethics
Date: / / AICPA# Location:
Audit LPR/BEC FARE ARE/REG Ethics
Date: / / AICPA# Location:
Audit LPR/BEC FARE ARE/REG Ethics
Date: / / AICPA# Location:
Audit LPR/BEC FARE ARE/REG Ethics

Education Required For Licensure:

Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action:

U No UYes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc.

Signature: Title:
Agency: Date: / /
(SEAL)
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