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STATE OF UTAH 
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

CONTRACTOR 
 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 
 

General Statement:  The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) 
desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate the 
application process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting 
documents and fees.  Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary 
information will delay processing and may result in denial of licensure.  The fees are for 
processing your application and will not be refunded.  Please read all instructions carefully. 
 
Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. 
All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address.  You are responsible to directly 
notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a forwarding order. 
 
Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the 
Utah Government Records Access and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL as an individual 
identifier.  It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and 
is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 
666(a)(13).  If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 
 
 
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES: 
 
Complete the following, in addition to submitting a completed application: 
 
1. Registration with the Utah Division of Corporations:  Before your license can be 

activated, your DBA, partnership, limited liability company, or corporation, must be 
registered and activated by the Utah Division of Corporations.  If this is not done, your 
application for licensure will be delayed. 

 
Sole Proprietorships:  The license will be issued to the individual in his/her own given 
name.  Business must be conducted in the name on the license.  However, business can 
be conducted under another name by means of a DBA.  The DBA must be submitted to 
DOPL as a part of the application or later by filling out a “Contractor Name Change or 
Add a DBA” form (available at www.dopl.utah.gov).  The DBA must be owned by the 
licensee (name on the contractor license) and be registered and in an active status with 
the Utah Division of Corporations. 
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2. General Liability Insurance:  Submit a “Certificate of Insurance,” containing an active 
policy number, issued by the applicant’s public liability insurance carrier.  This 
certificate is a separate document provided by your insurance agent.  Copies of a policy 
and statement of coverage are not acceptable, and we do not accept incomplete or 
inaccurate certificates.  The minimum required coverage is $100,000 for each occurrence 
and $300,000 in the aggregate.  The named insured, including the type of business entity 
(Inc., LLC, etc.) and address of insured listed on the certificate must be the name and 
address of the applicant.  The certificate holder must be named as DOPL at PO Box 
146741, Salt Lake City, UT  84114-6741. 
 
NOTE:  An active insurance policy must be maintained on all active contractor licenses, 
whether or not current construction activity is being performed. 
 

3. Hiring Employees:  If the applicant currently has employees, or intends to hire in the 
next 12 months, you must submit the information required in either section A or B below: 

 
A. Contractors that do not use a professional employer organization (PEO): 
 

1. Workers’ Compensation:  Submit a “Certificate of Insurance” issued by 
the applicant’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier.  The named 
insured listed on the certificate must be the same as the name on this 
application.  The certificate holder must be named as DOPL at PO Box 
146741, Salt Lake City, UT  84114-6741. 

 
 For an applicant whose office is located outside of Utah, the certificate 

must show that the insurance covers employees working in Utah.  
 
NOTE:  An active policy must be maintained on all active contractor 
licenses, whether or not current construction activity is being performed. 
 

 2.  Unemployment Insurance:  Submit a copy of the registration form or 
quarterly billing from the Utah Department of Workforce Services.  The 
document must show the applicant’s name and account number printed on 
it by the department.  The name on the account must be the same as the 
name on this application.   

 
3. Utah State Tax ID Number:  Submit a copy of a return or payment 

coupon. The document must show the applicant’s name and payroll 
withholding tax account number printed on it by the Utah State Tax 
Commission.  The name on the account must be the same as the name on 
this application.    

 
4. Federal Tax ID Number:  Submit a copy of a return or payment coupon.  

The document must show the applicant's name and federal ID number 
printed on it by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).  The name on the 
account must be the same as the name on this application.   
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B. Contractors that use a registered professional employer organization (PEO): 
 
 1. Agreement:  Submit an executed copy of the agreement between the 

applicant and the PEO. 
 
 2. Workers’ Compensation:  Submit a “Certificate of Insurance” issued by 

the applicant’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier.  The applicant 
must be listed as the insured or a co-insured on the certificate.  The name 
insured must be the same as the name on this application.    

 
  For an applicant whose office is located outside of Utah, the certificate 

must clearly show that the insurance covers employees working in Utah. 
 

4. Affidavit Claiming No Employees:  If the applicant does not currently have and does not 
plan to hire employees in the next 12 months, complete the “Affidavit Claiming No 
Employees,” found on page 14 of this application. 

 
 AND 
 
 A. If registered as a C-Corporation, you must also submit the following: 
 

1. Utah State Tax ID Number:  Submit a copy of a return or payment 
coupon. The document must show the applicant’s name and payroll 
withholding tax account number printed on it by the Utah State Tax 
Commission.  The name on the account must be the same as the name on 
this application.    

 
2. Federal Tax ID Number:  Submit a copy of a return or payment coupon.  

The document must show the applicant's name and federal ID number 
printed on it by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).  The name on the 
account must be the same as the name on this application.   

 
 B. If registered as an S-Corporation, you must also submit the following: 
 

1. IRS Form 2553:  Submit this form to document your S-Corp status. 
 
2. Federal Tax ID Number:  Submit a copy of a return or payment coupon.  

The document must show the applicant's name and federal ID number 
printed on it by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).  The name on the 
account must be the same as the name on this application.   

 
5. Original Test Score Letter(s):  Submit the original letters from Thomson Prometric 

with the applicant’s qualifying individual’s passing score(s) for the Utah Contractor 
Business - Law Examination and any required trade examination(s).  (Keep copies for 
your records.) 
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If the qualifier on this application already passed the required Utah Contractor Business - 
Law Examination and any trade examination (if applicable) for the classification(s) of 
licensure being requested, the qualifier does not have to retake the examinations. 
 
However, if the qualifier on this application has been out of the construction trade for 
more than ten (10) years and has not remained employed in the applicable license 
classification(s), the qualifier would have to re-qualify for the experience portion of the 
qualifier requirements, but would not have to retake the examinations.  (See the Affidavit 
of Qualifying Experience found in this application for guidelines on these requirements.) 

 
Waiver of Trade Examination:  A trade exam may be waived if the qualifier has passed 
certain specific trade exams for license classifications in the reciprocity states of Arizona, 
California, Louisiana, Nevada, or South Carolina.  A list of states and their license 
classifications that may be reciprocated can be viewed at www.dopl.utah.gov. 
 
In order to verify a trade exam from a reciprocal state, submit a completed, original 
“Request for Verification of License” (attached to this application). 
 

6. Qualifying Experience:  You must document qualifying experience according to the 
following for each classification for which you are applying.  Complete each option that 
is applicable to your circumstances.   

 
 Critical Note:  You must review #5, #6, and #7 of “Additional Important 

Information” below (pages 6-8) for an outline of the qualifying experience 
requirements. 
 
A. For Utah Qualifiers Only – Complete Page 19:  If you are or have been a qualifier 

in the state of Utah within the past 10 years, complete the “Utah Qualifier 
Verification” form (attached to this application). 

 
B. For Utah Employees Only – Employers Complete Page 21:  If you are or have 

been an owner or employee, but not the qualifier, of a licensed Utah contractor 
within the past 10 years, complete the “Affidavit of Qualifying Experience 
Working under a Licensed Utah Contractor” form (attached to this application). 

 
NOTE:  To support the experience claimed for all license classifications (except 
for trades requiring a master electrician license or a journeyman plumber license) 
each individual listed as a qualifier on the application must submit one of the 
following, in addition to the requirements listed above: 
 

• W-2’s  (If the W-2’s list the PEO as the employer, include a 
statement from the PEO, on their letterhead, stating the contractor(s) 
worked for and the year and number of hours worked per year.) 

• company tax returns including K-1’s 
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C. For Endorsement States Only – Complete Pages 23 and 24:  If you are or have 
been a qualifier, RME, or RMO of a licensed contractor in Arizona, California, 
Louisiana, Nevada, or South Carolina and have passed certain trade exams for the 
classifications reciprocated with, submit a completed “Request for Verification of 
License” form (attached to this application). 

 
NOTE: You cannot reciprocate a license from a state where you have not tested.  
Applicants from Louisiana or South Carolina must have held their license the 
number of years equivalent to the Utah experience requirement for the license 
classification(s) for which they are applying.  (A list of states and their license 
classifications that may be reciprocated can be viewed at www.dopl.utah.gov.) 

 
 D. If none of the options listed above (A, B, or C) apply to you, submit one of the 

following in addition to the requirements listed above: 
 

• W-2’s  (If the W-2’s list the PEO as the employer, include a 
statement from the PEO, on their letterhead, stating the contractor(s) 
worked for and the year and number of hours worked per year.) 

• personal tax returns including all schedules 
• company tax returns including K-1’s 

 
Additionally, you must also submit the following:   
 
1. For supervisory experience, provide at least two letters from building 

officials. 
 

2. For non-supervisory experience, provide at least two letters from building 
officials, building inspectors, and/or contractors with whom you have worked. 

 
NOTE:  Letters must be on official letterhead, must be dated and signed, must 
state how long the building official, building inspector, or contractor has 
known the individual to be an employee of the licensed contractor, and what 
the individuals’ specific responsibilities were during that period of time.  If 
you were a contractor, the person writing your letter needs to state the kind 
and extent (size of projects) of construction work you did. 

 
7. Financial Responsibility:  Complete the Financial Responsibility Section of the 

“Contractor Qualifying Questionnaire.” 
 

OR 
 

Submit a DOPL “Aggregate Bonding Limit” form that has been filled out and signed by 
the applicant and the applicant’s bonding company, verifying the aggregate bonding 
limit. (These forms are available from DOPL upon request.) 
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8. Licensing Fees:  Submit the applicable non-refundable, application-processing fees, 
which can be submitted in one check made payable to “DOPL.” 

 
 $210.00 for an E100 General Engineering Contractor license 
 $210.00 for a B100 General Building Contractor license 
 $210.00 for an R100 Residential & Small Commercial Building Contractor license 
 $210.00 for a license in a specialty classification (first classification only) 
 $110.00 for each additional specialty classification after the first initial classification 

 
9. Residence Lien Recovery Fund:  Submit the $195.00 initial assessment. 
 

OR 
 
Complete the “RLRF Exemption Certificate” section of this application.  Only those that 
are applying for a contractor classification that is exempt from membership in the Fund 
may sign the exemption certificate.  (Exempt classifications are listed on the exemption 
certificate.)  Because all non-exempt license classifications allow the licensee to work in 
residential construction, applicants for licensure in these classifications are required to 
join whether or not they intend to work in residential construction.  The initial assessment 
fee for membership in the Residence Lien Recovery Fund will be refunded upon written 
request of the applicant if the application for licensure is denied.   
 
NOTE:  Although the application-processing fees (#8 above) are non-refundable, the 
$195.00 initial assessment fee may be refunded upon request if licensure is denied.  All 
fees required may be submitted in a single payment, made payable to “DOPL.” 

 
 
ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION: 
 
1. Specific Trade Examination(s):  Certain license classifications require passing a trade 

examination.  Applicants must apply directly to Thomson Prometric at 
www.experioronline.com or 1-800-882-3981 to register for the trade examinations.   

 
2. Business-Law Exam:  All qualifiers must pass the Utah Contractor Law Exam. Contact 

Thomson Prometric at www.experioronline.com or 1-800-882-3981 to register for the exam. 
 

The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at 
www.dopl.utah.gov: 
 

 Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act 
 General Rules of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing  
 Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act  
 Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rules  
 Utah Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act 
 Utah Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Rules 
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3. Examination Fees: There are separate fees for all examinations.  It is the responsibility 
of the applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency.   

 
4. Current Documents:  Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed. 

 Go to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these 
documents. 

 
5. Qualifying Experience:  You must document qualifying experience according to the 

following for each classification for which you are applying. 
 

General Requirements for All License Classifications: 
• All experience must be under the direct supervision of the applicant’s employer. 
• All experience must have been directly related to the scope of practice of the 

classification the applicant is applying for, as determined by DOPL. 
• One year of work experience is equivalent to 2,000 hours. 
• No more than 2,000 hours of experience may be claimed during any 12 months. 
• Experience obtained under the supervision of a construction trades instructor as a 

part of an educational program does not qualify. 
 
A. Additional Requirements for the Following License Classifications: 

 
E100 (General Engineering) 
B100 (General Building) 
R100 (Residential and Small Commercial) 

 
• A minimum of four years experience, within the past ten years, must have 

been obtained as an employee of a contractor licensed in the license 
classification applied for or the substantial equivalent of a contractor licensed 
in that license classification as determined by DOPL. 

• Two of the required four years of experience must have been obtained in a 
supervisory or managerial position. 

• A person holding a four-year bachelor’s degree or a two-year associate degree 
in Construction Management may have one year of experience credited 
towards the supervisory or managerial experience requirement. 

 
B. Additional Requirements for the Following License Classifications:  

 
S280 (General Roofing) S350 (Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning) 
S290 (General Masonry) S320 (Steel Erection) 
S360 (Refrigeration)  S370 (Fire Suppression Systems) 

 
• A minimum of four years experience, within the past ten years, must have 

been obtained as an employee of a contractor licensed in the license 
classification applied for or the substantial equivalent of a contractor licensed 
in that license classification as determined by DOPL. 
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C. Additional Requirements for All Classifications NOT listed in A or B above:  
 

• A minimum of two years experience, within the past ten years, must have 
been obtained as an employee of a contractor licensed in the license 
classification applied for or the substantial equivalent of a contractor licensed 
in that license classification as determined by DOPL, except for plumbing and 
electrical qualifiers.  (See #6 below.) 

 
6. Electrical and Plumbing Qualifiers:  For each of the following contractor license 

classifications, the qualifier must meet the requirements specified.  Additionally, an 
active electrician or plumber license must be held by the qualifier prior to the issuance of 
a contractor license and must remain active as long as the person is a qualifier. 

 
• S200 General Electrical Contractor qualifier must be a Utah licensed master electrician.  
 
• S201 Residential Electrical Contractor qualifier must be either a Utah licensed master 

electrician or a Utah licensed residential master electrician.   
 
• S210 General Plumbing Contractor qualifier must be a Utah licensed journeyman 

plumber.  
 

• S217 Residential Plumbing Contractor qualifier must be either a Utah licensed 
journeyman plumber or a Utah licensed residential journeyman plumber. 

 
7. Trades Instructors: For each of the following trades instructor license classifications, 

the qualifier must meet the requirements specified.   
 

I101 (General Engineering Trades Instructor) 
I102 (General Building Trades Instructor) 
I103 (Electrical Trades Instructor) 
I104 (Plumbing Trades Instructor) 
I105 (Mechanical Trades Instructor) 

 
• An applicant for construction trades instructor license shall have the same experience 

that is required for the license classifications for the construction trade they will 
instruct. 

• Each applicant for licensure as an I103 (Electrical Trades Instructor) must also be 
licensed as either a journeyman or master electrician or a residential journeyman or 
residential master electrician. 

• Each applicant for licensure as an I104 (Plumbing Trades Instructor) must also be 
licensed as a journeyman plumber or a residential journeyman plumber.  

 



DOPL-AP-041 REV 05/26/2006 9

8. License Renewal:  All contractor licenses expire Nov. 30 of every odd-numbered year. 
 

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s 
date of initial licensure.  Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession 
expire as a group on the same day every two years.  Therefore, the length of a licensee’s 
first renewal cycle depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was 
obtained.  Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a full two years.   
 
Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing 
fee only.  It does not include a renewal fee.  Each licensee is responsible to renew 
licensure PRIOR to the expiration date shown on the current license.  Approximately 
three months prior to the expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is 
disseminated to each licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL. 

 
9. Continuing Education:  In accordance with Subsection R156-55a-303(a) and (b), during 

each two-year renewal cycle, each licensee or the licensee’s qualifier, an officer, director, 
or supervising individual, as designated by the licensee, must complete 3 hours of core 
continuing education (construction codes, construction laws and rules, and construction 
practices) AND an additional 3 hours of professional continuing education directly 
related to the licensee’s professional practice.  The continuing education requirement for 
electrical contractors in Subsection R156-55b-304 satisfies the continuing education 
requirement for contractors.  However, courses in office and business skills, physical 
well-being and personal development, or meetings held in conjunction with the general 
business of the licensee do not meet this requirement. 

 
10. Important Addresses and Telephone Numbers: 
 

 Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code 
 160 East 300 South, 1st Floor, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6705 
 (801) 530-4849, (801) 530-6447, (877) 526-3994 (toll-free)  
 www.commerce.utah.gov   (Click on “Corporations.”) 
 

 One-Stop Online Business Registration System 
 www.commerce.utah.gov  (Click on the “One-Stop” link.) 
 

NOTE:  Applicants may register for the following three tax registrations through 
the One-Stop Online Business Registration System or by contacting each of the 
individual agencies listed below. 

 
 Utah Department of Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance 

 140 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 
 (801) 526-9235 
 

 Internal Revenue Service 
 50 South 200 East, Salt Lake City, Utah, 84111 
 (800) 829-3676 (toll-free) 
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 Utah State Tax Commission 
 210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 
 (801) 297-2200 or (800) 662-4335 (toll-free) 

 
11. Updating Address Information:  It is your responsibility to maintain a current address 

with DOPL.  If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other 
correspondence.  Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 
12. Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure:  After obtaining your license from DOPL, you can 

order a Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure, printed on parchment paper with original 
signatures and an embossed gold seal. Order forms can be obtained at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 
13. Mail Complete Application to: 
 

By U.S. Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

 
By Delivery or Express Mail 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, 1st floor 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 

 
14. Telephone Numbers:  (801) 530-6628 
     (866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 
 
15. Fax Number:   (801) 530-6511 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

DOPL OFFERS A FREE CLASS TO ASSIST YOU IN 
FILLING OUT THIS APPLICATION AND TO ANSWER 
YOUR QUESTIONS.  
 

GO TO DOPL’S WEBSITE (www.dopl.utah.gov) FOR 
CLASS DATES, TIMES, AND LOCATIONS OR CALL 
THE PHONE NUMBERS LISTED ABOVE. 

REMEMBER TO KEEP COPIES OF EVERYTHING 
SUBMITTED TO DOPL FOR FUTURE REFERENCE 
OR RESUBMISSION, IF NECESSARY. 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

APPLICATION FOR:  (Check all that apply.) 
 
            Residence Lien Recovery Fund Registration 
 
            General Engineering Contractor (E-100)  
 
            General Building Contractor (B-100) 
 
            Residential and Small Commercial Contractor (R-100) 
 
            Specialty: Number:       Title:        
 
   Number:       Title:        
 
   Number:       Title:        
 
 
BUSINESS LEGAL NAME:           
 
Employer Identification Number (EIN):           
 
Utah Division of Corporations Registration Number:        
 
Business Mailing Address:            
 
City:          State:      Zip:     
 
Telephone(s):              
 
QUALIFIER’S NAME:  First     Middle     Last      
 
Qualifier’s Address:              
 
Qualifier’s Phone Number(s):            
 
Qualifier’s Social Security Number:        Date of Birth:    
 
Qualifier’s Position: (Check all that apply.)          owner        officer         manager 
 
DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 
 

License Number:         

Qualifier License Number:        

Corporation registration:       
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The business legal name is the name that will appear on the license and is the actual name under 
which the contracting business must be conducted.   If the applicant for licensure is a business 
entity, this is the name registered with the Utah Division of Corporations.  If you also want to 
use a DBA (doing business as name) with the license, also list that name on the application.  For 
a business entity other than a sole proprietorship or partnership, the DBA will not be printed on 
the license.    If you are going to operate under your own personal given name, it will also be 
your business name.  However, if you add a word after your given name such as “Construction” 
or “Builders,” etc., then that name must be registered as a DBA with the Utah Division of 
Corporations, and that DBA will be printed on the license.  * Any license issued under this 
application belongs to this entity.  Any entity change after a license is issued requires a new 
application and new fees in order to license the new entity. 
 

TYPE OF BUSINESS ENTITY* (Check one.) 

 
  _____ C Corporation    _____ S Corporation 

 
_____ General Partnership    _____ Limited Partnership 
 
_____ Sole Proprietorship   _____ Limited Liability Company 
 
_____ Other Type of Business:           
 
 
IDENTIFYING INFORMATION FOR BUSINESS ENTITY TYPE:  
 
(1) For corporations, complete the identifying information requested below for all stockholders, 
unless publicly traded, and for all elected officers and directors.  (2) For a partnership, provide 
information for all partners.  (3) For a sole proprietor, provide information for the owner. (4) For 
a limited liability company, or any entity type not mentioned, provide information for all 
members or management.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 
 
NOTE:  The percentages of ownership for all persons listed below must total 100%. 
 
Full Name:         Social Security Number:     
 
Position Title:      % of ownership      Date of Birth:  / /  
 
Mailing Address:        State:     Zip:      
                         
 
Full Name:         Social Security Number:     
 
Position Title:      % of ownership      Date of Birth:  / /  
 
Mailing Address:        State:     Zip:      
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Full Name:         Social Security Number:     
 
Position Title:      % of ownership      Date of Birth:  / /  
 
Mailing Address:        State:     Zip:      
 
 
Full Name:         Social Security Number:     
 
Position Title:      % of ownership      Date of Birth:  / /  
 
Mailing Address:        State:     Zip:      
 
 
LICENSES: 
 
List all licenses issued by any state, including Utah, which the applicant’s qualifying 
individual(s) and/or owner(s) now hold or have ever held in a construction related occupation or 
profession.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 
 
Issuing State:       Profession:       
 

Name on License:            
 

License Number:      Expiration Date:     
 
License Status:            
 

Issuing State:       Profession:       
 

Name on License:            
 

License Number:      Expiration Date:     
 
License Status:            
 

 
COMPLIANCE WITH UTAH LAWS AND RULES 
 
I understand it is my continuing responsibility to read, understand, and apply the requirements 
contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for which I am 
applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions. 
 
 
Signature of Applicant:        Date:       
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AFFIDAVIT CLAIMING NO EMPLOYEES: 
                      
Applicant’s Business Legal Name:           
 
I being first duly sworn declare under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
I am authorized to sign this Affidavit on behalf of the above named applicant.  The applicant 
does not at the present time hire employees and does not intend to do so within the foreseeable 
future.  If the applicant later wishes to begin hiring employees, the applicant will first register 
with each of the payroll tax authorities and obtain workers’ compensation insurance and provide 
evidence of each registration and a certificate of workers’ compensation insurance to DOPL.  
The applicant is being granted an exemption to the requirements of Utah Code Ann. Sections 58-
55-302(2)(a) and (c) based upon this affidavit and agreement.   
 
The applicant's failure to fulfill the above requirements will be considered unprofessional 
conduct and may be the basis for disciplinary action which could include a warning, reprimand, 
probation, suspension, or revocation of the applicant’s contractor license.  This affidavit is 
considered a public document and may be released to any party including payroll tax authorities. 
 
 
Name of Applicant’s Representative (please print):          
 
Position/Title of Applicant’s Representative:          
 
Signature of Applicant’s Representative:          
 
Date of Signature:       
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RESIDENCE LIEN RECOVERY FUND EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE*:  
 
I being first duly sworn declare under penalty of perjury as follows:   
 
I am authorized to sign this Certificate of Exemption from Registration on behalf of the above 
named applicant.  I hereby certify that the above named applicant is applying for a contractor 
license in a classification that is not subject to automatic registration with the Residence Lien 
Recovery Fund under Title 31, Chapter 11, U.C.A.  I hereby certify that the above named 
applicant will NOT be providing qualified services for residential housing construction, as 
defined in Utah Code Ann. Section 38-11-2(15), and is not required to register with the 
Residence Lien Recovery Fund as set forth in the provisions of Title 31, Chapter 11, U.C.A.   
 
I acknowledge that false certification of exemption from registration with the Fund may result in 
the loss of the above named licensee's license and possible criminal prosecution.  I recognize that 
by certifying that the applicant is exempt from registration with the Residence Lien Recovery 
Fund, the applicant will not be entitled to make claims against or recover from the Fund.   
 
Exempt Classifications include: 
 
E100  General Engineering Contractor S440  Sign Installation Contractor 
S211  Boiler Installation Contractor  S441  Non Electrical Outdoor Ad Sign Contractor 
S213  Industrial Piping Contractor  S450  Mechanical Insulation Contractor 
S262  Gunnite and Pressure Grouting Ctr. S470  Petroleum System Contractor 
S320  Steel Erection Contractor  S480  Piers and Foundations Contractor 
S321  Steel Reinforcing Contractor  I101  General Engineering Trades Instructor 
S322  Metal Building Erection Contractor I102  General Building Trades Instructor 
S323  Structural Stud Erection Contractor I103  General Electrical Trades Instructor 
S340  Sheet Metal Contractor   I104  General Plumbing Trades Instructor 
S360  Refrigeration Contractor  I105  General Mechanical Trades Instructor 
 
* If the applicant is applying for any classification that is not listed above, the applicant is 
required to join the fund and pay the fee. 
 
 
Signature of Applicant’s Representative:          
 
Date of Signature:         
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CONTRACTOR QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
 
 
GENERAL QUESTIONS 
 
Answer “yes” or “no” to each question.  Do not leave any question blank. 
 
Answer each question on behalf of the applicant, any officer, director, partner, proprietor, 
shareholder (unless publicly traded), member, owner, qualifying managing employee, or manager 
associated with or employed by the applicant. 
 
1.             Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to 

practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this 
application? 

 
2.            Have you ever applied for or become registered with the Residence Lien Recovery Fund 

under any name other than the name listed on this application? 
            
3.            Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?  
  
4.            Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated 

profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, 
reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 
5.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or 

registration to practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while action 
was pending against you by any professional licensing agency or criminal or 
administrative jurisdiction? 

 
6.             Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you 

now by any licensing agency or government agency? 
 
7.             Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration or any state drug enforcement agency? 
 
8.             If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you 

pose a direct threat to yourself, to your clients, or to the public health, safety, or welfare 
because of any circumstance or condition? 

 
9.            Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by 

reason of mental defect or disease and not restored? 
 
10.            Have you ever been involved as the abuser in any incident of verbal, physical, mental, or 

sexual abuse?  
 
11.            Have you ever been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse? 

 
 

(Questions continue on following page.) 
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12.             Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including 
recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is 
unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or federal 
law? 

 
13.             Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution 

of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state 
or federal law, for which you have not successfully completed or are not now 
participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation program, or for which you have not 
otherwise been successfully rehabilitated? 

 
14.             Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 
 
15.            Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a misdemeanor in any 

jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  Motor vehicle offenses such as driving while 
impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking or 
speeding violations need not be listed. 

 
16.            Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any 

jurisdiction? 
 
17.            Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any 

criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)? 
 
18.             Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county 

correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on 
probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 

 
If you answered “yes” to questions 14, 15, 16, 17, or 18 above, you must submit a complete 
narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction, plea in 
abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable police 
report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 
 
If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit documentation 
on official letterhead from the police department and/or court indicating that the information 
is no longer available. 
 
If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a 
judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history.  Expungement orders must be sent to 
the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the expungement to be completed 
and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

              
 

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete 
information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached. 
 
A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL may 
request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
 

 
(Information and questions continue on following page.) 
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FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE APPLYING BUSINESS ENTITY 
 
Applicants (sole proprietor, partnership, limited liability company, or corporation) for licensure 
must demonstrate financial responsibility* before a license can be issued. Financial 
responsibility must be maintained as long as a license is active. 
 
Please answer “yes” or “no” to the following questions for the business entity applying for the 
license.  Do not leave any question blank. 
 
 
1.             Do total assets (what is owned by the business entity) exceed total liabilities 

(what is owed by the business entity)? 
 
2.            Have all state and federal income taxes, payroll withholding, unemployment, 

workers’ compensation, and liability insurance premiums been paid as required 
by law?  (Mark “yes” if not applicable.) 

 
3.            Have all judgments, liens, taxes, or child support payments been paid as required? 

(Mark “yes” if not applicable.) 
 
4.            Has any claim paid by the Residence Lien Recovery Fund where any owner, 

officer, director, or qualifier of the applicant been involved, been reimbursed, in 
full, as required?  (Mark “yes” if not applicable.) 

 
5.             Has the applicant ever filed for bankruptcy, been subjected to an involuntary 

petition for bankruptcy, been adjudged bankrupt, or sought protection under the 
bankruptcy laws during the last 10 years? 

 
 
If you answered “no” to question 1, 2, 3, or 4 above, please enclose with this application 
complete information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been 
reached.   If you answered “yes” to question 5, submit written explanation and all 
documents and schedules filed with the bankruptcy court.  A “no” answer does not 
necessarily mean the applicant will not be granted a license.  However, DOPL may request 
additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
 
* If a license is issued and later chosen for audit, the licensee will need to provide to DOPL 
copies of the financial information the above answers are based upon.  Keep a copy of your 
balance sheet, profit and loss statements, tax returns, etc. for at least two years. 
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Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing                                  
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 

 

UTAH QUALIFIER VERIFICATION FORM 
 

List all Utah current or prior contractor licenses for which the qualifier(s) listed on this 
application are currently qualifier(s) or have previously been qualifier(s).   
 
(Use additional sheets if necessary.) 
 
Name of Qualifier:              
 
Qualifier’s Current or Prior Utah Contractor License(s): 
 
 
1. Company Name:              
 

Classification:         License Number:     
 

 
2. Company Name:              
 

Classification:         License Number:     
 
 

3. Company Name:              
 

Classification:         License Number:     
 
 

4. Company Name:              
 

Classification:         License Number:     
 

 
5. Company Name:              
 

Classification:         License Number:     
 

 
6. Company Name:              
 

Classification:         License Number:     
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AFFIDAVIT AND RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 
I am authorized to sign this Affidavit and Release Authorization on behalf of the applicant 
described and identified in this application for licensure in the State of Utah.   
 
The applicant is qualified in all respects for the license, certificate, or registration for which it is 
applying in this application. 
 
To the best of applicant's knowledge, the information contained in the application and its 
supporting document(s) is free of fraud, misrepresentation, or omission of material fact.  To the 
best of applicant's knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting 
document(s) is truthful, correct, and complete; and, discloses all material facts regarding the 
applicant and associated individuals necessary to properly evaluate the applicant's qualifications 
for licensure. 
 
Applicant will ensure that any information subsequently submitted to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing in conjunction with this application or its supporting 
documents meet the same standard as set forth above.   
 
Applicant understands that it is unlawful and punishable as a class A misdemeanor to apply for 
or obtain a license or to otherwise deal with the Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing or any licensing board or commission through the use of fraud, forgery, or intentional 
deception, misrepresentation, misstatement, or omission.     
 
Applicant understands that this application will be classified as a public record and will be 
available for inspection by the public, except with regard to the release of information which is 
classified as controlled, private, or protected under the Government Records Access and 
Management Act or restricted by other law.  
 
Applicant authorizes all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, 
employers, references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, 
which are set forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records or information of any 
type reasonably required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly 
evaluate the applicant’s qualifications for licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 
 
Printed Name of Authorized Signer:           
 
Position of Authorized Signer:            
 
Signature of Authorized Signer:            
 
Date of Signature:        
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Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 

AFFIDAVIT OF QUALIFYING EXPERIENCE 
WORKING UNDER A LICENSED UTAH CONTRACTOR 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE EMPLOYER VERIFYING THE EXPERIENCE WITHIN THE 
PAST 10 YEARS:  (Use a separate form for each employer.  Make copies of this form as necessary.) 
 
Name of Employee:             
 
Date Employment Began:     / /   Date Employment Ended:    / /  
 
Total Hours Worked:      Total Hours of Supervisory Experience*:   

(*if applying for an E100, B100, or R100) 
 
Position(s) Held:             
 
Description of Experience: (Use additional pages if necessary.)         
 
              
 
              
 
Name of Contractor/Employer:            
 
License Number:       Contractor’s Telephone Number:     
 
Address of Employer:              
 
I declare under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
I am the qualifier or authorized signer of a licensed contractor that is engaged in construction activities in 
the classification specified above, or I am lawfully exempted from licensure, or I am not required to be 
licensed in the state or jurisdiction in which I perform contracting activities but nevertheless certify that I 
am a qualified contractor in the classification specified above. 
 
I certify that the employee named herein has obtained qualifying experience as defined herein while 
employed during the periods of time specified below and the work was satisfactorily performed.  
(Additional explanation of the work performed may be submitted on separate pages.) 
 
I understand that “Qualifying Experience” means full-time related work performed in lawful employment as 
an employee of a contractor lawfully engaged in construction activities in the classification for which the 
applicant has applied and for which the applicant received W-2 wages.  I understand that the experience of 
persons working for a contractor as an independent contractor paid on a 1099 form is not acceptable.   
 
Printed Name of Employer’s Authorized Signer:       Position:    
 
Signature of Employer’s Authorized Signer:        Date:     
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Utah Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 
 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
 

(Use this form to verify licensure from Arizona, California,  
Louisiana, Nevada, or South Carolina ONLY.) 

 
 
TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT’S QUALIFYING INDIVIDUAL: 
 
If the qualifier has passed certain trade exams for license classifications that are specifically 
reciprocated with Arizona, California, Louisiana, Nevada, or South Carolina, complete the first 
section of this form, submit it to the applicable state, and request that the state include the 
examination information on this form and return it to you for submission with your application.   
 
NOTE:  Applicants from Louisiana or South Carolina must have held their license the number 
of years equivalent to the Utah experience requirement for the license classification(s) for which 
they are applying.  (A list of states and their license classifications that may be reciprocated can 
be viewed at www.dopl.utah.gov) 
 
Name of Applicant’s Qualifier:           
 
Street Address:             
 
City:       State:       Zip:     
 
Phone Number(s):              
 
I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a:         
 
I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:        
 
My social security number is:            
 
My date of birth is:             
 
My license number in your state is/was:          
 
Signature of Applicant’s Qualifier:           
 

(Continued on the reverse.) 
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TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 
 
Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, place the completed 
form in a sealed envelope, and provide it to the qualifier in person or by mail.  The qualifier will 
include the verification of licensure with his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   
 
Name of Verifying State:            
 
Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):       
 
Name of Qualifying Person:            
 
Classification of License Issued:           
 
License Number:         Current Status:     
 
Original Date of Licensure:        Expiration Date:     
                                                                                                                                                         
Continuously Licensed:   
 
_____ Yes  _____ No, please explain:           
                                                                                            
Licensed By: 
 
_____ Exam, Type:        Score:        Date:    
 
_____ Endorsement: from what state?           
 
Examination Scores:             
 
Education Required for Licensure:           
                                                                                                                                                
Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 
 
  No   Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 
 
Signature:           Date:      
 
Name and Title (please print):           
 
(SEAL)  Agency:           
 

Phone Number(s):           
 
 


